Peter and Peppy Visit The Circus

Up-date:- I was thrilled to discover this Vintage Circus canvas was printed in the Spotlights section of The Stampers’ Sampler (Apr/May/June 2013)
Hello Everyone
The piece of artwork I have decided to share today was actually made as far back as December 2011, yes you read that correctly … 2011!  It has been something that I’ve always intended to blog but sometimes other projects have to take priority.  During some chatty e-mails with my lovely friend Alison (do you know she has a Giveaway at the moment?) I mentioned this canvas and so I point the finger of responsibility at Alison for the reason I am sharing it now!
When this stamp collection was released I was somehow drawn to it yet surprisingly enough the theme, which is circus, is not a favourite of mine. As a child I did not like the circus and thankfully I didn’t have to endure it more than once! Yet the images on Oxford Impressions’ Vintage Circus plate are so appealing, maybe it is the vintage style that makes them so and not too many scary clowns!
I will let you decide whether or not this looks like my style!
vintagecircuslynnemoncrieffWhen I received this set, which was a surprise in itself, I knew it would be a chance to have some fun with a chunky canvas.  At the time I made a decision to use colour but limit the palette and also to keep embellishments to a minimum.  The chipboard bunting was perfect to create the circus banner.
I wanted to create a scene where the boy and his dog are peeking out from the curtains taking in  the sights of the circus and stand in awe at the performance by the trapeze artist. detail1lynnemoncrieffThe ruffled seam binding not only softened the outline of the stamped curtains but also gives a better impression of the boy peeking from the parted curtains.DIGITAL CAMERAShe swings from the circus banner.detail4lynnemoncrieffA chunky canvas deserves to have the edges decorated so I stamped a bundle of tickets.  Yes, definitely a lot of cutting out for this canvas!canvassideThank You for visiting this scheduled post this evening. I plan to catch-up with your creations very soon and see what fun you have been having.
Wishes
Lynne

41 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MarieS.
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 22:25:06

    A Circus never appealed more to me than yours,dear Lynne:) Yes, it is your sryle.Love all the details.
    Have a wonderful weekend.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  2. Valerie-Jael
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 22:32:18

    Your circus is gorgeous! Valerie

    Reply

  3. butterfly
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 22:34:55

    I love the scene you created (way back when!) in this canvas – the little boy looking up at this extraordinary world of theatricality. The tinting in limited colours is wonderful – especially the rope artist – and are those dimensional pompoms on her outfit?! Fabulous… I’m so glad the other Alison nudged you into sharing it, it’s such fun!
    Alison x

    Reply

  4. Suzi B
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 22:35:29

    Wonderful circus…love the colours and tha cheeky little boy
    Suzi B :)

    Reply

  5. Paper Profusion
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 23:04:52

    First of all Lynne, your photo staging is excellent! I don’t know what you look like but I can see a woman smiling happily as she crafted this – just as I smiled very happily as I viewed your post – and I don’t like the circus any time! I love the banner. I love even more the trapeze artist’s matching leotard and boots! Most of all I love the little boy and dog peeking out from those frolicking curtains. Both brilliant and fun! Thanks so much for sharing, Nicola x

    Reply

  6. Yvonne G
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 01:35:51

    How odd! I created a card with this same set in late December 2011 as well! I, too, have never cared for the circus, but i was drawn to the vintage set somehow.. Your piece is just magical. My favorite part the seam binding peeking out of the curtains! Bravo! Hugs, Yvonne

    Reply

  7. The Scrap Yard
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 02:21:03

    Love this!! I really wanted to do a vintage circus theme for my boys room. What a lovely display! You have got my creative juices flowing.Beautiful!!
    Kate

    Reply

  8. CarolS
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 04:25:47

    Oh Lynne, this is gorgeous! I love the scene you created! The curtain/seam binding is perfect, love the colors and the tickets on the sides are great! Thanks for sharing now, I would have missed it way back when! :)
    Hugs!

    Reply

  9. Terry
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 04:26:20

    This may not be your usual style, but I would attend this circus! Love all the details and this is quite inviting! I actually enjoyed the circus! Have a great evening! Hugs!

    Reply

  10. craftytrog
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 05:11:22

    Well, I think the comments that go before mine have confirmed my opinion Lynne…this is an amazing creation! It’s definitely a slight variation on your usual style, where you put a charming story into your artwork. I love it!!!
    Alison xxx

    Reply

  11. stempelchaotin
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 06:14:45

    Oh wow what a wonderful circus piece.
    So many lovely little details.
    Fantastic.

    Have a lovely weekend my sweet Lynne.
    xoxo

    Reply

  12. bumblebutterfly
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 07:46:29

    Like you I am not interested in the circus but the images fascinate me. I love this canvas Lynne, the story you have portrayed so beautifully and a wonderful colour palette. So glad you shared it.
    Hugs Brenda xox

    Reply

  13. Sharon
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 09:02:07

    This is fabulous Lynne!!! Love the stamped images especially the little boy and his dog!!! Great colours too!! So glad you have shared it with us!!

    Reply

  14. Dot Arnott
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 09:20:21

    As I have said before Lynne, you have such a wonderful imagination. This is a brilliant piece of work.

    Dotxx

    Reply

  15. ptiteplume Valerie
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 10:58:43

    Stunning! Perhap’s the color isn’t your but the work is delicat and it’s your style. Love it!!!

    Reply

  16. Rita
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 11:26:56

    Oh Lynne, this is Fabulous. I have always loved the Circus and your take on it is absolutely wonderful. Thank-You so much for the lovely pennant ,I now have it hanging in the bedroom and I love it. so much. Now on my 2nd lot of antibiotics as my breathing is still bad. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  17. Avril
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 11:29:03

    Oh Lynne this is gorgeous, a stronger colour palette, but still your beautiful vintage style .I always think of circus, bright and loud, but I love how this still keeps its softness.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  18. Redanne
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 11:58:38

    Hi Lynne, I think your style does shine through on this wonderful piece. The way you have placed the little boy and the parted curtains is perfect and the colour palette, although strong, still has a very vintage feel to it. A wonderful creation, so glad you were nudged to show it. Hugs, Anne x

    Reply

  19. Sophie
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 13:11:21

    Wunderschön, Lynne.
    Ich liebe diese Zirkus-Stempel, sie können so wunderbar und fantasievoll eingesetzt werden.
    Du hast eine herrliche fröhliche Szene damit gestaltet.

    herzlichst Sophie xx

    Reply

  20. Meggymay
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 15:36:34

    Love your Circus project, brighter colours but it has your special touch.
    Yvonne x

    Reply

  21. Suze
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 15:51:29

    You’ve made it your style Lynne! Fabulous images and I just love the little boy ‘teeting’ through the curtains. love all the pearly embellishment too. Stunning! Xx

    Reply

  22. Paula
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 16:09:50

    Oh Lynne, shame on you for not blogging this sooner!! (waggs finger LOL!) it is fantastic and such an adorable creation. It reminds me of the some of the vintage toys on the Antiques Road Show. xx

    Reply

  23. Coconut
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 16:40:29

    I love it !!! It’s a delicate and wonderful small circus… a fabulous idea and project ! Hugs, coco xx

    Reply

  24. suesartofcraft
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 17:10:40

    A delightful and fun project Lynne. I love the very bold red you’ve used and it really suits the circus theme.

    Reply

  25. Bärbel
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 17:53:54

    Das ist wunderschön, Lynne, die vielen schönen Stempel und Ihre Farbwahl, ich bin ganz überwältigt von dieser zauberhaften Cirkus-Szene.
    Liebe Grüße und ein schönes Wochenende.

    Reply

  26. barnie
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 20:03:44

    That’s something different to your usual style, but it is really wonderful.

    Reply

  27. Alexa Noble
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 22:46:42

    I love this Lynne – the palette is definitely bolder than your usual style and the lace is missing but it’s just as precise and beautifully executed … And … Wait … I think it’s even better!! X

    Reply

  28. Marianne
    Jan 19, 2013 @ 01:49:23

    Absolutely delightful, Lynne! I so enjoy the striped ‘curtains’. And the colors and banner are wonderful.

    Blessings,
    Marianne xo

    Reply

  29. Annie
    Jan 19, 2013 @ 07:28:41

    Gorgeous make Lynne and I agree with my crafty friend Redanne that your style still shines through. Hugs

    Annie x

    Reply

  30. Ira
    Jan 19, 2013 @ 10:45:21

    What a fun creation Lynne! The powerful red so reminds me of the ‘old school’ circus. It still has your shabby chic vintage style we’re so familiar with and I think you’ve done an outstanding job with these fine stamps!

    Reply

  31. kathycnc
    Jan 19, 2013 @ 12:54:04

    So fun! I love how the boy is peeping out of the curtains.

    Reply

  32. Rosie
    Jan 19, 2013 @ 14:00:04

    This is a really wonderful creation, Lynne, I love every detail.

    Have a lovely wekkend

    Reply

  33. Diane
    Jan 19, 2013 @ 16:21:00

    Love it Lynne, they look fabulous!

    Reply

  34. nefertiti
    Jan 19, 2013 @ 20:39:34

    This canvas is just fabulous! It’s reminds me the old circus!!
    At the moment in Monaco begin the festival of the circus. I love acrobats, clowns etc..but I don’t like when animals are used.
    Bisous

    Reply

  35. Shelly Schmidt
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 02:18:56

    I love this circus display- love the ruffled seam binding at the door opening, and love the banner. So many amazing features in this amazing project and scene!

    Reply

  36. Lucy Edmondson
    Jan 20, 2013 @ 17:51:10

    I think it is wonderful, definitely your own subtle style put onto the circus theme, and Yes, I love it. Would love to see you make more things with this stamp plate as this is such fun,

    Lucy x

    Reply

  37. 2amscrapper
    Jan 21, 2013 @ 23:31:45

    I adore everything about this one!

    Reply

  38. michele s
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 04:12:44

    circusy perfection. vintage happy. xo

    Reply

  39. Dorthe
    Jan 23, 2013 @ 18:46:34

    Here I am back again, dear Lynne- and I adore this sweet circus tent with the beautiful artist swinging above the sweetest little boy and his dog. I think you choosing to make it all within a few colours gives this piece a beautiful look, and I love the tickets you used for the side. It is such a charming piece ,so playfull,and so lovely with the seambinding and the banner.
    Hugs,Dorthe

    Reply

  40. Marjie Kemper
    Jan 24, 2013 @ 03:29:53

    Such a fun piece! Love the curtains, and the trapeze artist with all her bling… so many fun and whimisical parts on this. I’m so glad you shared it.

    Reply

  41. Maria
    Jan 27, 2013 @ 01:59:49

    Hi Lynne, that’s a long time ago! Such a wonderful scene! I love the story you’ve put to it and it’s fabulous, and very eye-catching, with just those colours. The ruffled trim on the curtains really enhances the 3d effect, and I love the little touch of pearls you’ve added to the trapeze artist’s outfit and the curtains.

    Take care

    Maria xxxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 382 other followers

