Go West (Published The Stampers’ Sampler)

Hello Everyone
To start the week I am sharing cards which were published in the Jan/Feb/Mar issue of The Stampers’ Sampler.
It was the first time I had made cards with the Cowgirl Blues stamp set from Oxford Impressions. The cards were submitted to Take Ten so I was surprised they were published in The Stampers’ Sampler especially as they were quick makes. It goes without saying how delighted I was to see them in print. The extra icing on the cake or is that the cherry on the icing (!)  was, for me,  having my name on the cover of this issue.  It was surreal to see my name on the cover alongside Mr Holtz and his art.

For each card, there are five cards, I wanted one of the Cowgirl stamps to be the focal and then to incorporate other stamps from the set.  As much as I love mixing and matching my Oxford Impressions stamps, I also like the challenge to myself of picking a stamp set and only using stamps from that set.  You can imagine, I am lucky enough to have lots of Oxford Impressions sets to dip into (some would say I have too many but rest assured, only a non-stamper would declare that!)
This stamp is my favourite.  I have used it previously on a wall hanging and this image has special meaning because back in 2011 a wall hanging was published in Somerset Studio (HERE).  At that time I didn’t own this stamp set, it was a copyright free image sourced from the internet.DIGITAL CAMERAI like the fact that some of the cowgirls are photo real stamps whereas others, such as the stamp below, isn’t.DIGITAL CAMERAFragments of pretty floral fabric  bring a touch of softness to the cards visually and I like the mix of textures from the soft fabric to the Kraft style cardstock I stamped onto (my usual source, old boxes)
The Sweetest Little Cowgirl In The West! I think she is adorable with her grumpy little face.
DIGITAL CAMERAShe means business, doesn’t she?!
DIGITAL CAMERAI didn’t actually intend sharing all five – anyway, you will relieved to know, the fifth and final card.
I stitched the stamped buttons to make them look a bit more realistic. Tea stained lace trims the top edge.
DIGITAL CAMERASo there we have my first post for this week. I have some catching-up to do this week with both posting projects on my Blog and also visiting your own Blogs.
Later this week I will share Giveaway No. 2. Many thanks to those of you who commented on Giveaway No. 1 and to those of you who have your name in the hat. The Giveaways are a mixture of different items so if No. 1 wasn’t to your taste I hope that one of the other Giveaways will suit you better. Amongst them there will be one larger prize which I hope you will like.
Have a lovely week,
Wishes
Lynne

37 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. butterfly
    Mar 03, 2014 @ 22:03:28

    They really are delicious – letting those brilliant images really breathe – beautiful work, Lynne!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  2. Fliss
    Mar 03, 2014 @ 22:05:41

    These are all absolutely beautiful Lynne and the neutral colours look so lovely. I also love the amazing roses on your frame below which is stunning at TC.
    Hugs, Fliss xx

    Reply

  3. Julie Lavalette
    Mar 03, 2014 @ 22:12:26

    What an achievement Lynne and so well deserved with all the beautiful things you make. Congratulations, Julie xx

    Reply

  4. rachel fisher
    Mar 03, 2014 @ 22:14:07

    super pieces as always Lynne – great images – really evocative of the wild west xx

    Reply

  5. Rita
    Mar 03, 2014 @ 22:17:55

    Love these Lynne. You deserve all the accolades that come your way my friend. Beautiful work. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  6. Annie G
    Mar 03, 2014 @ 22:41:45

    Wowed!!! -amazing makes…..love the designs and huge congrats on being published.

    Hugs Annie x

    Reply

  7. hettiecraft
    Mar 03, 2014 @ 23:09:37

    Well done on being published Lynne. These are wonderful. Love the little grumpy one!1
    Hugs
    xx

    Reply

  8. Marilyn J. Rock
    Mar 03, 2014 @ 23:42:05

    These are fantastic! Congrats on them being published! xo

    Reply

  9. Brenda Brown
    Mar 03, 2014 @ 23:53:41

    Fabulous cards Lynne that so deserve to be published. I love the amount of space on each one and yet there is still so much detail to look at. Xx

    Reply

  10. tracy745
    Mar 03, 2014 @ 23:54:51

    Wow gorgeous selection. I love the designs and the images are gorgeous. Love the white space. Tracy x

    Reply

  11. paper profusion
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 00:07:21

    Now you need to be paid commission with all these publications! H”mmm sharing the cover with TH, that’s impressive for sure. They are wonderful cards Lynne, with fab vintage appeal. Adore the littlest missy! Nicola x

    Reply

  12. 2amscrapper2
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 00:55:00

    May I give you a title? — Stampington Sweetheart, a title you so richly deserve. I still am in awe that I actually am your blog friend. Of course, they would publish this set–another amazing make from you. And each time I see your art in those publications, I am thrilled for you and that I know you. Sharing the cover with Tim Holtz—why not? You have earned it with consistent, beautiful work. I bet Mr. Holtz is saying the same thing about having his name next to yours.

    Reply

  13. Dianne
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 01:08:57

    Hello Miss Lynne well I’m glad you posted them all, thanks you for doing that, they are all breathtaking and I’m not even into the wild west, you have show cased the beautifully, they are plain but still elegant if cowgirls can be elegant :). That little cutie with the grumpy face looks exactly like my DS when she was little , too funny…Miss Lynne you belong alongside Mr Holtz, on the cover, you are the Designer Extraordinaire, I believe Miss Patty said you were the most published designer in the magazine. it’s always a delight to visit and see your creations, thanks again, hope you have a wonderful week, ((( BIG HUGS)))..

    Reply

  14. jo
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 02:17:50

    Congrats on these publications Lynne … and sharing the cover with th, how cool is that!!!

    Reply

  15. Shelly Schmidt
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 03:18:09

    I think Wild West images are so fun- love the Oxford Impression images alot. Congrats on being published again- how fun! Always enjoy stopping by : )

    Reply

  16. craftytrog
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 05:00:21

    Well-deserved recognition Lynne, these are lovely. Congratulations.
    Alison xxx

    Reply

  17. michele s
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 06:53:58

    the beauty and simplicity of these pieces is surely how they got noticed they are stunning and you well deserve to have your name alongside the lies of mr holtz! congrats! xo

    Reply

  18. Maggie
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 06:59:38

    Gorgeous cards gorgeous images and congratulations on being published well deserved Lynne

    Reply

  19. kateri cochran
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 08:10:05

    I have some stamps that are similar to what you have, but aren’t the same. Yours are more aged and I like that the set has a photo stamp. I like all your cards and it’s refreshing to see some western art, as I appreciate that style immensely. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  20. coco
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 08:40:07

    Gorgeous cards, this theme makes a change, and they are all very beautiful! Congrats for this new publication! :) Have a lovely week, Hugs from France, Coco x

    Reply

  21. Deborah (rustycage11)
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 10:04:58

    I’ve always loved that cowgirl blues stamp set and just love your amazing selection of cards. Yeehaw!

    Reply

  22. may
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 10:30:54

    Fabulous cards Lynne, Love the theme…the images are fantastic… Love all the design & perfect detail…WOW… you so deserve to have your name along sir Timmie Holtz….Hugs May x x x

    Reply

  23. Samantha Read
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 13:16:49

    They are great Lynne, I shall have to go and put my Garth Brooks CD’s on now and get my Country fix :)
    Wishing you a lovely day, big hugs, Sam and Poppy xxx

    Reply

  24. Anne R
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 17:21:08

    I think I was almost as thrilled as you to see you on the cover and I am coveting my copy, not just for Tim but for you too! Your cards are all absolutely delightful. Many congratulations again!! Anne xx

    Reply

  25. lottie
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 17:44:24

    Congratulations. Your work is absolutely awesome and so original and you have the most wonderful talent of creating authentic looking vintage works of art

    Reply

  26. 3renee
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 21:38:45

    I love these cards! The colors go perfect with the images.

    Reply

  27. Corrie Herriman
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 21:39:35

    Love these cowgirl cards, I did see them in the Stampers’ Sampler. Very nice !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  28. barnie
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 21:39:53

    Congratulations on being published again. These are wonderful pieces.

    Reply

  29. jellybeanerz
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 22:12:25

    CONGRATS on being published again! The cards are delightful!!! But, all of your creations are!! Thank you for sharing with us!

    Reply

  30. Meggymay
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 22:30:39

    Congratulations on being publishes, these are all fantastic pieces .
    Yvonne x

    Reply

  31. Marjie Kemper
    Mar 05, 2014 @ 15:59:41

    They’re wonderful, Lynne. I was so happy to see your name on the cover!

    Reply

  32. 1cardcreator
    Mar 05, 2014 @ 18:09:11

    Lovely pieces, all of them! I love the fabric scraps you added, they add such a sweet softness to the days of guns and dirt. Congratulations on the publications too, so well deserved! ~Diane

    Reply

  33. Ira
    Mar 05, 2014 @ 20:15:43

    Yee-Haw! These are all so cool dear Lynne! And wowzers, how awesome to see your name on the cover, well done you!! Ira x
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  34. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Mar 06, 2014 @ 18:38:18

    All SO very lovely and “in the mood” dear Lynne:)
    I really admire how you’ve left open space which is something I struggle with at times…

    Congratulations once again on being published…and so deservedly too you creative genius you ♥

    I have to confess here it is 6 days into March and I am feeling so far behind in catching up with everyone and doing what it milling about in my head…
    time certainly seems to be whizzing by me…

    oxo

    Reply

  35. Julie Lee
    Mar 06, 2014 @ 23:02:11

    Sorry, it’s taken me ages to get here and leave a message; I’m so behind at the moment! These are fabulous cards, so Wild West. I haven’t see anything like them since I was little and my mum took me to see the show ‘Annie get your Gun’. I wanted to have a beautiful white cowgirl outfit like Annie Oakley! I love how you present each of these images so differently, simply yet beautifully. Well done on being published again! Julie Ann xxx

    Reply

  36. CarolS
    Mar 07, 2014 @ 17:06:40

    These are all wonderful!

    Reply

  37. Sharon
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 03:48:34

    Great cards – the “white space” is very effective with the western style images.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers

