Pearl Dances Amongst The Waves

Hello Everyone
Redlead Paperworks are known for their stamps and stencils but they also have a stunning collection of collage sheets whether for Halloween, Christmas, Nature or why not have a look at their Ancestor collage sheets.
When I laid eyes on Redlead Paperworks’ Ancestor Collage Sheet No. 8 I so wanted to work with one image in particular, a girl who I came to call Pearl.
If you are interested in the Redlead products used on this canvas then I will give you a link for the stamp used.  The sentiment I used comes from a stamp which has two other sentiments on it, great value and can be found HERE.
To see Pearl dance amongst the waves, it has been said there are those who whisper that she is a Mermaid Child and if you were to find yourself swimming alongside Pearl then she surely would turn her green eyes upon you and swear upon the sea that she is a Mermaid but if you were to take a moment to look a little deeper into her eyes, is that not a mischievous glint.
It is true that Pearl wishes with all her heart that she were a child of the sea because it is where she finds joy. Running down to the ocean she whiles away the summer days bobbing atop the waves, where the seaweed entangles itself amongst the tendrils of her hair so that you do not know where her hair ends and the sea begins.

Her happiness most certainly floated, like the waves of the ocean. 
pearldancesonthewavesThe end result is not what I had in my mind as I planned on working with colour. Let me show you a photograph of the initial texture I created and also the paints I laid down onto the deep edged canvas, colours which were eventually made to be more muted in tone. I also changed the orientation of the canvas.
canvasbaseA froth of gauze to mimic the froth atop the ocean’s waves and a flutter of mica flakes, the sunlight glinting on the water1and a scattering of pearls.2This sentiment was so perfect for this image of Pearl3I will leave Pearl to catch the final waves of the Summer.5Many Thanks for visiting my first post of this brand new week.
Maybe you are savouring the final days of Summer or maybe you have already waved goodbye to Summer, which appears to be the case in my little corner of the world.
Wishes
Lynne

34 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shari T.
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 04:16:50

    I do imagine Pearl as a sweet little Mermaid, Lynne :) –mischievously shedding her tale for a pair of human legs so that she could run on the beach and play above the waves! Such a lovely canvas–its a little beach treasure that Pearl left behind when she returned to the depths of the ocean :) XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  2. 3renee
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 04:47:09

    Love the muted colors and the beautiful fabrics, trims and pearls. Really lovely creation! Summer is barely hanging on here too, sadly.

    Reply

  3. Julie lavalette
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 07:40:53

    Lynne, I’m struggling what to say on this canvas as I’m gobsmacked at the beauty of this piece. It’s adorable.
    Julie x

    Reply

  4. Valerie-Jael
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 07:42:19

    Totally gorgeous, love it to bits! Valerie

    Reply

  5. Avril
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 07:53:29

    A beautiful canvas Lyme. Love the way you have framed her with the pearls and soft fabric and of course the perfect sentiment.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  6. Annie G
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 08:23:08

    Such a beautiful vintage and feminine make Lynne x love the textures on your background and the way you have applied the gauze around that gorgeous image is stunning. TFS and have a great week. I think Summer has gone as the temperatures have dropped quite dramatically

    Crafty hugs Annie x

    Reply

  7. Meggymay
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 10:45:36

    A stunning project, can seewhy you fell in love with this image.
    Yvonne x

    Reply

  8. thecobweboriumemporium
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 10:47:10

    Incredibly beautiful. It’s given me inspiration for some little canvases which I’ve taken down in my bedroom. I’m redecorating the room and giving it a ‘by the sea’ feeling. I looked at the canvases last night and knew I had to give some thought to how I could change them to go with my new room. You’ve inspired me!

    Reply

  9. Dianne
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 12:56:46

    Miss Lynne this is BREATH TAKING BEAUTIFUL, I just want to run my claws over it, all the texture is amazing, all those pearls and sparkle have my magpie eyes all googly, I LOVE it, I’ll have her dancing in my head while I’m swimming this morning, thanks for making my day with your creation, have a wonderful week, ((( HUGE HUGS )))

    Reply

  10. Hazel
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 13:36:33

    Stunning! I love how you’ve done the background and the beautiful colours and the image is so beautiful.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  11. maryanne gross
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 13:57:08

    This is such a beautiful piece! Everything about it is beautiful and I love the story of Pearl and the sea!

    Reply

  12. mlpendleton
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 15:28:53

    Gorgeous Lynne! That vintage image is beautiful as is all the lace trimmings!

    Reply

  13. Anne R
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 17:25:05

    I think you have created that frothy feel brilliantly and I love the image of the girl, she is so beautiful. The story you tell is wonderful too! Anne xx

    Reply

  14. CarolS
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 18:01:06

    This is beautiful! I love how it evolved…I never have a plan!
    Great image, sentiment & texture…..and your story makes it even more delightful!
    Hugs!

    Reply

  15. Ira
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 18:03:52

    Oh my word Lynne! You just never cease to amaze me, for this is superb! Not only your creation, but your accompanying story as well. Always loved a good story ;-) The way Pearl is surrounded by such fine laces, fabrics and other embellishments is amazing. Sheer eye candy!
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  16. Corrie
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 18:47:59

    Beautiful little canvas, Lynne; even though it is not what you planned. Great story too !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  17. Suze
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 20:29:43

    Wow Lynne, this one’s an absolute stunner. A truly gorgeous little canvas. Xx

    Reply

  18. 1cardcreator
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 21:36:53

    O wow Lynne, this is breathtakingly beautiful, I love all the layering and texture and the pearls are perfect! ~Diane

    Reply

  19. Julie Lee
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 22:46:59

    What a beautiful marine creation! I love how you used the pearls and this image is so lovely. She is mischievous but mysterious too. There is a beautiful song by Emily Portman on her album ‘The Glamory’ about a mermaid and the notes at the end sound just like drops of water. Your beautiful art work reminded me of this song so much. Your work is so imaginative, Lynne. It always evokes songs or poems to me. Reading and looking at your blog is such a joy! xx

    Reply

  20. Sandy Dehon
    Aug 19, 2014 @ 03:00:10

    So gorgeous – Pearl is indeed the princess of the ocean! Your creation is like a dream – a wonderful dream!
    Sandy xx

    Reply

  21. Gerrie Johnnic
    Aug 19, 2014 @ 13:29:14

    Ohhhhhhh, your story put me in another place, a place of beauty and my love of the water and all it holds. I’m Pearl….in my happy place! So Lovely Lynne, another place, another time. xx

    Reply

  22. gio
    Aug 19, 2014 @ 21:47:02

    Ohmy! The photo is so beautiful, and you created a marvellous frame around it, so precious and dreamy!

    Reply

  23. Dorthe
    Aug 20, 2014 @ 12:39:20

    Oh, dearest Lynne, this is so adorable, so beautiful. What a lovely image from Redlead Paperworks, she is so sweet, and you made a perfect home for her on the gorgeous gauze waves, Love the “hidden” flowers under little gauze and glitter,pearls and mica. So very lovely, dear.
    I wish you a beautiful wednesday ,I am thinking of you, and sending hug.
    Dorthe xx

    Reply

  24. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Aug 20, 2014 @ 15:47:23

    Well it may not be what you had in mind but letting your Muse take you here/there turned out just brilliantly dear Lynne ~♥~ your precious Pearl and her shimmering glimmering story are totally enchanting/ed….another splendid creation!
    Happy August dear one
    oxo

    Reply

  25. coco
    Aug 20, 2014 @ 22:16:11

    Wow, you have created a true treasure, your canvas with this lovely image at the center is fabulous!!!!! Bises, Coco xxx

    Reply

  26. craftytrog
    Aug 21, 2014 @ 17:00:12

    A wonderful mixed media piece Lynne! xxx

    Reply

  27. michele s
    Aug 22, 2014 @ 03:42:23

    oh YES! the combination of laces, pearls, and other textural elements create a sense so like sea foam and such a sense of watery wonderfulness for your little mer’maid. love this. xo

    Reply

  28. Shelly Schmidt
    Aug 22, 2014 @ 04:25:52

    You have transformed me into a place where there us a beach and a magical place where there are mermaids! Love your canvas- the mica and cheesecloth , pearls and lace are gorgeous textural accents!

    Reply

  29. Samantha Read
    Aug 22, 2014 @ 11:40:39

    Oh wow! This is stunning :)

    Reply

  30. marjiekemper
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 16:26:05

    Positively stunning, Lynne. Love it!

    Reply

  31. Sharon
    Aug 31, 2014 @ 01:58:14

    OMG this is stunning!!!! All that lace and pearl embellishment – beautiful!

    Reply

  32. Brenda Brown
    Sep 01, 2014 @ 14:44:25

    What a fabulous post to read and such a wonderful project to look at, you have really matched your story and art work so well, I love it.
    hugs Brenda xxx

    Reply

  33. Janna
    Sep 23, 2014 @ 12:58:10

    Hiya, just found you on Marjie’s texture blog. Love your work. Stunning x

    Reply

  34. Anita Houston
    Sep 23, 2014 @ 22:53:19

    So so so beautiful!!! Love all that lace, just elegant!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 383 other followers

