May Dreams Come True

Hello Everyone
Welcome to this post which sees me sharing a sample for Darkroom Door, using the new Criss Cross Texture Stamp.
This sample was made along the same lines as a sample I shared recently HERE , where I laid down texture and paint before stamping one of the Texture Stamps to form a random pattern for a background. Alongside the Criss Cross Texture Stamp I also dipped into stamps from the following sets
Wildflowers Vol 1
Art de Fleur Vol 2
1As with the sample shown HERE, I once again stamped the wildflower stamp with paint instead of ink.
I wasn’t entirely happy with the stamped impression and laid it aside to place in the rubbish bin but for some reason, it caught my eye. Picking it up again I decided to go with it because the nature of the wildflower stamp almost lends itself to a slightly shabby/grungy appearance.  Now that I have the photograph in front of me I should have listened to my first instinct of wanting to bin it because maybe it isn’t so much shabby/grungy but truth be told, a messy result.2A sentiment is all I used to finish this card.3So no, story, no wonderful characters, only stamps, paint and some textures to form a card.
There are now several Texture Stamps available and all can be found at the Darkroom Door on-line store, link at top of post.
Many thanks for taking the time in visiting this post, it is always appreciated.
Wishes
Lynne

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. coco
    Aug 20, 2014 @ 22:11:16

    Am I the first for once?… :D
    That’s just absolutely superbe Lynne, I love this card maybe even more than the previous one in the same style; It is maybe just a matter of colours, I love yellow and olive even more than purple, and your card seems to be adorned with these colours.. Love its relative simplicity and beauty!!! Hugs, Coco xxx

    Reply

  2. coco
    Aug 20, 2014 @ 22:12:36

    I mean ‘superb’, not ‘superbe’ like in French sorry! :)

    Reply

  3. 3renee
    Aug 20, 2014 @ 22:49:05

    Great colors! Love those stamps.

    Reply

  4. Toni
    Aug 20, 2014 @ 23:04:08

    There may be no story Lynne but this card says it all, love the subtle texture in the background and your colours and stamp choices are just perfect !

    Reply

  5. Meggymay
    Aug 20, 2014 @ 23:08:43

    A stunning piece Lynne, beautiful textures and images.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  6. Valerie-Jael
    Aug 21, 2014 @ 06:35:30

    Beautiful car, which says it all- Valerie

    Reply

  7. may
    Aug 21, 2014 @ 07:03:31

    Gorgeous work Lynne, I adore that stamp & colours…Love the texture…Hugs May x x

    Reply

  8. Anne R
    Aug 21, 2014 @ 08:23:26

    I do think you are being hard on yourself Lynne, the background is gorgeous, that solitary wildflower looks striking and I love how you have done the wonderful sentiment. This is a beautiful card. Anne xx

    Reply

  9. Deborah (rustycage11)
    Aug 21, 2014 @ 08:29:09

    Deceptively simple, but the bacground has real depth. I like it!

    Reply

  10. astrid51
    Aug 21, 2014 @ 09:29:51

    Wonderful!! The texture in the background looks fantasstic and I love how you have finished it. Subtle and beautiful!

    Reply

  11. Corrie
    Aug 21, 2014 @ 15:13:11

    Love this deceptively simple card. Beautiful background and beautifully finished !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  12. Shari T.
    Aug 21, 2014 @ 15:55:22

    Lynne–I like your paint stamped flower! I’m glad that you did not trash it!! It lends a ‘severity’ to your pale color palette and really makes the image pop that much more! I Like It!! :) The DD Criss-Cross stamp–It reminds me of fishnet stockings and their Art De Fleur set–it’s lovely!! And you’ve used my fav color–Yellow :) This is a fabulous card, Lynne!! Good Show!! XOXO-Shari :)

    Reply

  13. craftytrog
    Aug 21, 2014 @ 17:58:46

    A fabulous background, great texture, & I love your stamped flower Lynne! xxx

    Reply

  14. Sue F
    Aug 21, 2014 @ 18:45:02

    I love this card. The background you’ve created looks like a large window with drapes, reminiscent of an old stately home. There is a faded charm about the image that really appeals to me.

    Reply

  15. Ira
    Aug 21, 2014 @ 20:04:06

    Beautifully painted background, perfect for the fine stamps! Exactly my thoughts, I had the feeling of looking through a window, too! And such refined colours.
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  16. 1cardcreator
    Aug 21, 2014 @ 21:12:16

    This is beautiful, the background is so delicate and the flower looks so beautiful in front of it. Love how you stacked the words too. ~Diane

    Reply

  17. Ruth
    Aug 21, 2014 @ 21:15:19

    Lovely Lynne , soft , muted backgrounds -which you always do so well!!
    XxxRuth

    Reply

  18. Pat
    Aug 22, 2014 @ 00:55:19

    I love that beautiful yellow Lynne and the criss cross background works beautifully. The paint stamped wild flower is nicely loose, and there is lots of lovely texture. x

    Reply

  19. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Aug 22, 2014 @ 05:52:31

    The criss cross peeks thru just perfectly…you always have such softness and depth to what you create.
    Really lovely uplifting card dear Lynne!
    oxo

    Reply

  20. Samantha Read
    Aug 22, 2014 @ 11:43:50

    Lovely colours Lynne, sometimes the things we throw away and then try again with are wonderful :)

    Reply

  21. Terry
    Aug 22, 2014 @ 17:14:52

    Such a lovely piece, Lynne! Love the soft colors and texture and the wildflower is stunning. Have a great weekend. Hugs!

    Reply

  22. Dorthe
    Aug 23, 2014 @ 12:38:49

    Dear Lynne, don`t be so hard on yourself….. I feel that the way the stamp fades out a bit, are exatly the right way to go with the distressed and soft background.,and the qoute which is also not anything firm to seize upon-
    As alwayes I love the bits of tulle/lace and the romantic feeling from your card.
    Hug and smiles, Dorthe

    Reply

  23. Gigi Harlan
    Aug 23, 2014 @ 18:51:14

    I love that you decided to pick this card up and work on it again because it is gorgeous! The shabby-grungy painting lends itself to a beauty and depth rarely seen in the work of others. Your style is uniquely you and so beautiful!

    Reply

  24. Jenny Marples (Buttons)
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 21:07:24

    Loving this style of pieces Lynne. The criss cross is most definitely an essential. Jenny x

    Reply

  25. michele s
    Aug 27, 2014 @ 04:17:06

    such gorgeous background design work! i love this. xo

    Reply

  26. Sharon
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:28:23

    Beautiful & very peaceful to look at !

    Reply

  27. Brenda Brown
    Sep 01, 2014 @ 14:42:12

    Gorgeous colours together and I love the painted lace to create texture. A beautiful piece Lynne.
    hugs Brenda xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 386 other followers

