New Chapter

Some days you want to craft but possibly don’t have a particular project in mind. I had one of those days and all I knew, I wanted to use a particular stamp, paints and to not make a card.
This is the result.
The butterfly stamp was a gift from my swap friend Audrey. It is such a beautiful stamp depicting three butterflies in various sizes. Another time I will post some artwork showing the full image. I painted a piece of sheet canvas with various paints in heritage colours, velvet texture and pearlescent, all from a favourite D.I.Y. shop. Gesso was applied to a letter stamp and stamped onto the canvas.  I like the not too perfect result. I wanted to diffuse the paint colours so I stitched a piece of fleece blanket to the canvas – the type used to cover plants/shrubs to protect from frost.  Between the canvas and fleece blanket, I sandwiched some pressed flowers and tore “Chapter One” from a novel.  Painted a chipboard circle with the same paints then carefully inked the stamp as I only wanted to stamp the smallest butterfly. Then just a matter of adding two pressed flowers and the hanger.
Here is a closer view.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel Emilie Jackson
    Jan 09, 2010 @ 17:09:13

    This is just lovely Lynne – wonderful tactile qualities.
    So many congratulations on your work being published in Somerset. I’ll look out for it when my copy (finally) arrives!

    Reply

  2. Cath
    Jan 10, 2010 @ 01:38:17

    Ooh, absolutely gorgeous, Lynne 🙂 Love those muted tones and all blends so well together.

    Reply

  3. alcoholinky
    Jan 10, 2010 @ 08:39:42

    gorgeous mixed media piece!

    Reply

  4. Chris
    Jan 10, 2010 @ 14:05:43

    This is so beautiful, Lynne. So feminine and ethereal.

    Reply

  5. Hazel
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 16:26:42

    Absolutely lovely Lynne. xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  6. Lucy Edmondson
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 18:47:01

    Gorgeous!

    Lucy x

    Reply

  7. craftytrog
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 18:50:31

    This is my favourite kind of crafting Lynne! Fabulous! x

    Reply

  8. Anne
    Jan 16, 2010 @ 13:12:57

    Your are so productive and all these positive comments! Need to get you to do my blog. 🙂 And you really must get on Twitter…tweeting about stuff like this you would have thousands of followers in no time. Give it a go you might be surprised how much you will enjoy it. x

    Reply

    • lynne
      Jan 16, 2010 @ 14:07:55

      How many times …. no Twitter for me!!! Sister, did not know you were prone to exaggerating – thousands of followers, I doubt that. Lynne

      Reply

  9. Jack Langthorne
    Jan 17, 2010 @ 14:46:16

    Oh I love this Lynne. I must go to B&Q and see what little pots of sample paints they have and then raid my MiL’s greenhouse/shed for some plant fleece!
    Jack xx

    Reply

  10. Lorraine
    Jan 20, 2010 @ 16:11:32

    Lovely stuff indeed Lynne! Total works of art!! xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

