Everything stops for tea (or chocolate)

For some time I have wanted to use this old spoon in a project so when I received the Paris plate from The Stampsmith, at last I was able to use the spoon.

The mini canvas was painted and then the same stamp repeatedly stamped onto tissue paper. Then the spoon and crochet added.  I purchased some circular crochet mats from Poundland – by cutting the cotton centre away, the crochet remained which I cut into half and layered the two pieces at the top of the mini canvas.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lucy Edmondson
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 18:01:36

    This is wonderful, pretty, original, and imaginative,

    Lucy x

    Reply

  2. Cath
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 21:36:15

    Who’s a clever girlie, then? Looks fabulous 🙂

    Reply

  3. cockney blonde
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 21:58:57

    How unusual but stunning as always Lynne, love your work, x

    Reply

  4. alcoholinky
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 22:09:44

    very original idea. lovely Lynne!

    Reply

  5. lorraine
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 02:29:05

    sweet little creation- i love vintage spoons.

    Reply

  6. Jules Eickmeier
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 14:06:47

    Beautiful piece…so clever with the spoon!

    Reply

  7. audrey h.
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 17:50:01

    Hello my friend 🙂 How are you? I hope you are doing well. I am trying to be a better blogger and am following your blog. Don’t want to miss any of your wonderful creations. This canvas is darling and I love the added touch of the crochet. Ttyl.

    Reply

  8. Claire Pryce
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 21:57:38

    What a lovely way to showcase a treasured item. Beautifully photographed too 🙂

    Reply

  9. debby
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 00:41:40

    This is wonderful! How did you apply the tissue paper? I have several mini canvases going and stamping on them is ridiculous and this is soooo gorgeous!

    Reply

    • Lynne Moncrieff
      Mar 06, 2010 @ 12:07:44

      Hi Debby.After stamping onto tissue paper sponge some Johnsons Klear Floor Polish onto the canvas. Gently lay the tissue paper on top and pat down with a foam brush. Now sponge more Klear onto the top of the tissue. If a distressed appearance is required, at this stage tear some little holes. Now leave to dry. Easy as that! Lynne x

      Reply

  10. Crafty Dawn
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 11:42:53

    Love the use of the pound land doilie and the spoon is just yum! It’s a shame you do not have a follow on this sigt or a feed I would hate to loose your blog now I have found it (just found it at the bottom look fwd to it) ;0)

    Love Dawn xx

    Reply

  11. Crafty Dawn
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 14:48:17

    Hi Hun I have found a link already on your blog when you make a comment you can chose to be notified of new posts so don’t worry i can follow you after all

    Love Dawn xx

    Reply

  12. Annie
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 15:36:03

    Gorgeous – I must get that stamp! And the spoon is a very original touch.
    I have loads of those doilies too, I throw a few in whenever I do a dye bath!

    Reply

  13. craftytrog
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 15:26:40

    Such a pretty mixed media piece Lynne! x

    Reply

  14. Jack Langthorne
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 16:35:56

    I love this, you’ve given me so many new ideas. And what a gorgeous little spoon. xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

