From Russia With Love

Staying with a travel theme, this time, Russia. For this week’s DT artwork for The Stampsmith I used two stamps from the From Russia With Love um plate. The oval photo is Alexandra and Nicholas and the other stamped image is an invitation to a masquerade ball featuring a performance by Nicholas’ last lover before marrying Alexandra.

The base colour on the canvas  is Raisin Adirondack Colourwash applied with a baby wipe. Once dry I adhered an ornate patterned napkin/serviette.  The last time I used Golden Glass Bead Gel  (available from The Altered Element)  I applied colour using Alcohol Inks but this time I mixed Adirondack Raisin Colourwash into some of the  Glass Bead Gel then applied this to the edges of the canvas.  On drying I was amazed that it still retained such a depth of colour. I kept the embellishments on the actual canvas to a minimum using only a button, piece of sheet music and some trim.

(Gold velvet, used in the background, is available from The Altered Element )

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Crafty Dawn
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 11:37:32

    I like this I have been looking at the bead gel/paste stuff at the Altered Eliment (but I have only looked) you have used it and Love that you have added colour to it as well. Another lovely piece from you. Oh and the drop beads and scrummy too

    Love Dawn xx

    Reply

  2. craftytrog
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 12:19:55

    This is just perfect Lynne! I love the vintage look of your canvas & those beautiful embellishments!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  3. Cockney Blonde
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 15:26:07

    Lovely Lynne, as always, x

    Reply

  4. Lynn Stevens
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 15:51:14

    Hi Lynne,
    I had never heard of glass bead gel. I guess your never to old to learn. Your canvas is beautiful! I’m going to have to find this and do some playing!
    Thanks Lynn

    Reply

  5. alcoholinky
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 18:57:25

    great stuff that glass bead gel isn’t it Lynne? it’s certainly worked beautifully here. you’ve created a wonderful aged look here and I love those beads!

    Reply

  6. Kate
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 19:56:17

    Very sumptuous and regal. I love it

    Kate

    Reply

  7. Willow
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 20:07:35

    Another beautiful piece!! Thanks for the information on subscribing to your blog. I have checked that little box!!!

    Reply

  8. Cath
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 21:15:49

    Fancy you having a bit of music sheet on there, lol. Love this, Lynne – it’s so evocative and so pretty. The effect of that glass bead gel is stunning, too.

    Reply

  9. Lucy Edmondson
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 15:49:20

    I love this. I love the way you make photo stamps look like real vintage photos,

    Lucy x

    Reply

  10. debbiek
    May 01, 2010 @ 10:13:27

    Just beautiful, Lynne! An outstanding piece of art:)

    – DebbieK x

    Reply

  11. Gail
    May 02, 2010 @ 10:32:27

    That’s a fantastic look. Love the vintage art you create.

    Reply

  12. Penny
    May 03, 2010 @ 20:52:45

    Beautiful purple color, Lynne! I’ve never played with glass bead gel – you’ve achieved great results with it. I also love that stamp set from The Stampsmith – I think it was the first set I bought from her – such beautiful images on it!

    Reply

  13. 2amscrapper
    May 05, 2010 @ 01:23:10

    Wonderful piece–love the techniques.

    Reply

  14. Hazel
    May 06, 2010 @ 08:25:43

    A beautiful piece of work Lynne. I’ve never heard of glass bead gel, must try and find some. xxx Hazel.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

