Land Of Make Believe

A few years ago I bought beautiful editions of Alice In Wonderland  and Through The Looking Glass. I got far more out of the books as an adult as I ever did as a child. Alice In Wonderland was not one of my favourite childhood reads, my devotion was towards “Charlie And The Chocolate Factory”, “Little Women” also the Famous Five.  Every now and then I will read books that are traditionally for  children, I could possibly blame it on my star sign, as Gemini’s are apparently Peter Pan types (!) but I say, good reading is just that and can be enjoyed no matter what stage we are in our lives.

Although I wanted a sense of the strange and wacky, I did not want wacky colours so kept to muted shades of green, mauve, lilacs etc with the chipboard swirls painted in Lumiere Metallic Bronze.

The close-up photograph shows the stamping in better detail and the layers created from a piece of lace which I sprayed with homemade ink spray and layered some pattern paper and handmade paper. The only other additions are a velvet rub-on and the paper roses and leaves entwined around the swirls, oh and last but not least a little tea-pot charm which I sewed on with invisible thread. The use of silicone glue helped to create a sense of depth to this piece.

Stamp Credit – Oxford Impressions “Wonderland” plate

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cath
    May 21, 2010 @ 12:28:34

    So much detail and depth in this one, Lynne – it’s wonderful and I’m sure it’s much more wonderful in real life 🙂 Love the colours.

    Reply

  2. craftytrog
    May 21, 2010 @ 16:49:13

    I adore this Lynne! The colours are superb! Do I spot a couple of diecut swirls?! xx

    Reply

  3. Lynn Stevens
    May 21, 2010 @ 16:53:53

    awe yes, Were all mad here. Love it! I really need to use this set more!

    Reply

  4. Marie
    May 22, 2010 @ 00:29:03

    Hi Lynne,
    beautiful and I love the colors.Thanks for your visit and your nice comment.Have a wonderful weekend
    xoxo

    Reply

  5. thefrugalcrafter
    May 22, 2010 @ 14:04:33

    very nice Lynn! I love the muted colors and vintage look plus anything “Alice” is tops with me!

    Reply

  6. Nancy Maxwell James
    May 23, 2010 @ 12:20:32

    Lynne this is soooo beautiful! wonderful composition and darling stamps! 🙂 You know, when I was very little for a time I thought my middle name was “Aliceinwonderland”…because my middle name is “Alison”…I was such a dorky little kid (still am)! Have a wonderful Sunday and thanks for sharing your art!

    Reply

  7. debbiek
    May 23, 2010 @ 14:26:51

    Very cleverly done, Lynne. Just beautiful! Can’t wait to see more of your creations:)

    Reply

  8. Julia - Vintage with Laces
    May 24, 2010 @ 06:36:02

    Hi Lynne, I never really got into “Alice in Wonderland” but I enjoy your creation! The muted colors talk to me and I love the depth of this piece.

    I’d like to answer your question about the laces and fabrics I use. The laces are vintage with very few exceptions but I use a lot of new fabrics. To achieve the look I want, I soak them in coffee for a while or use ink pads or walnut ink to distress them. I rather tear the fabrics apart than cutting them to get a more worn look. Even the vintage fabrics and laces often don’t have the shade I like and so they get treated as well.

    Have a wonderful week!

    Hugs,
    Julia

    Reply

  9. Annie
    May 24, 2010 @ 08:58:51

    How beautiful! Those colours look so lovely together, and great against the lace.

    Reply

  10. Penny
    May 25, 2010 @ 19:42:37

    Wonderful piece! Love the depth you achieved, and I have to say I’m quite partial to your homemade ink spray – you get beautiful results with it 🙂

    Reply

  11. Susan Allan
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 16:24:07

    Lovely, very pretty colours…in fact it is beautiful.
    Sue xx

    Reply

  12. Lynne Phelps
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 19:00:41

    This is lovely! Thank you for submitting it to The Altered Alice! I have a lot of Halloween themed projects I need to use first, but I will definitly fit this little gem into the queue!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

