Love Is In The Air

For this month’s Product Challenge from The Altered Element I received the following to play with:

Character Construction Queen of Tarts stamp set, Twiddlybitz Funky Attic House, Rusting Powder, Deko Ice in Crystal, Amber and Green

I was delighted to see a Character Construction stamp set in the parcel as I am beginning to develop a bit of a fondness for them. For the first of the Product Challenges I am using the main image in this set, the stunning Balloon Dress.

 

As you can see on the close-up of the stamped panel (photograph below) the image stamps crisply onto the fabric. I intentionally kept the colours muted for a faded appearance.

 

Supplies

Distress Inks:- Tea Dye, Crushed Olive, Tattered Rose, Victorian Velvet, Rusty Hinge and Fired Brick

Cotton (I used old curtain lining), white tissue paper, Distress Re-inker Mahogany, Adirondack Raisin Colourwash, Versafine Sepia ink pad, green handmade paper, organza, remnant of net curtain, flat back pearls, heart shaped gems, decorative pin, tiny scrap of crushed velvet, green homemade spray ink, cork key.

Instructions

1. Sponge cotton with Distress Inks (Tattered Rose and Tea Dye). Stamp Balloon Dress with Versafine. Add colour to dress with Distress Inks.  Add a sweep of colour to represent the movement of the letters with Fired Brick.

2.Spray homemade ink onto tissue paper. When dry stamp Hero Arts French Script with Rusty Hinge ink.

3. Spray Raisin Colourwash onto tissue paper. Add some Mahogany re-inker.

4.Spray homemade ink onto lace panel.

5. Layer onto panel:- green tissue paper, green handmade paper, Raisin tissue paper and organza and stamped panel. Attach velvet scrap to panel with green decorative pin.

6. Embellish dress with heart gem and gold flat back pearls. Add more heart gems to panel and add the key. Hang from decorative hanger.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. craftytrog
    May 24, 2010 @ 11:07:00

    Absolutely beautiful! What a fabulous stamp! xx

    Reply

  2. Claire C
    May 24, 2010 @ 11:13:20

    Love it, gorgeous wall hanging. I’ve never tried stamping on fabric but I may be brave enough to have a try now
    Claire xx

    Reply

  3. Crafty Dawn
    May 24, 2010 @ 11:58:55

    Oh very delish. I am back thanx for the e-mail I will be posting soon about the fun I had. Looks like you have been quite busy too so I have some catching up to do

    Love Dawn xx

    Reply

  4. Willow
    May 24, 2010 @ 14:35:09

    Beautiful!!! I love your use of the lace behind the piece…

    Reply

  5. Lynn Stevens
    May 24, 2010 @ 15:04:25

    What a fun lott of goodies to play with. I Love the dress stamped on fabric ,your hanging came out Beautifully!
    I hope your keeping cool. Its better than what weve had here, we had SNOW Saturday. Broke all kind of records. You can send some of that sunshine this way. LOL

    Reply

    • lynne
      May 24, 2010 @ 15:07:14

      Yes, I am very lucky to receive such goodies to play with.
      How about I send you my share of the sunshine! Not that I wish for snow – would not go that far LOL. Lynne x

      Reply

  6. debbiek
    May 24, 2010 @ 15:26:51

    What a totally delightful piece, Lynne. Just beautiful! Have a great day:)

    Reply

  7. thefrugalcrafter
    May 24, 2010 @ 17:24:00

    I love seeing the hot air balloon images everywhere, well done on the wall hanging!

    Reply

  8. Cath
    May 24, 2010 @ 18:22:12

    Can’t wait to see what you create with the other bits and bobs, lol. This really is lovely. Not my type of stamp at all, but you’ve made it look interesting!

    Reply

  9. Nicks
    May 24, 2010 @ 18:42:25

    what a fabulous pack you received and fabulous art you have made with it

    Reply

  10. alcoholinky
    May 24, 2010 @ 19:21:22

    gorgeous Lynne. what a beautiful stamp. can’t wait to see what happens to the town house!

    Reply

  11. Adrienne
    May 24, 2010 @ 21:04:37

    I have never seen the character construction stamps, what an interesting and unusual idea.

    I love the muted colours of the hanging, and the way you’ve put it all together.

    Reply

  12. Christine N
    May 24, 2010 @ 23:18:19

    This is beautiful! I love it!!!

    Blessings,
    Christine

    Reply

  13. Chris
    May 25, 2010 @ 20:28:01

    Lynne, I totally adore this! The colours are fabulous and I love that background. Looking forward to seeing what you do with the house.

    Reply

  14. Penny
    May 25, 2010 @ 21:09:43

    Wonderful piece! I also loved seeing all the fun things you were sent – I’m sure all the wheels in your brain are turning and coming up with more wonderful creative pieces to share!! I’m unfamiliar with rusting powder so I’ll be interested to see how that’s used.

    Reply

  15. lynne
    May 26, 2010 @ 10:17:39

    Thank you everyone once again for amazing feedback. It motivates me so much. Lynne x

    Reply

  16. JeanFB
    May 26, 2010 @ 20:01:56

    This is so very beautiful, and I really love the muted coloring on the fabric panel!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

