A Time Of Great Invention

Over at blog.oxfordimpressions.com, Suzanne made a call for Steampunk cards. Although I don’t own the Steampunk Elements Collection this was not going to deter me and this is where the fun started as any of the Oxford Impressions plates could be used.

This card uses stamps from April In Paris, Wonderland and Paris Poste. I sprayed thin white card with my homemade spray inks and then settled down with a bundle of stamps (approx 10 or so stamps used) and created the background.

Now regulars visitors to my Blog will know that I always lean towards the pretty and feminine so I had to create a partner for my inventor friend. Introducing his lovely assistant

Again using stamps from April In Paris, Wonderland and also stamps from The Art of  Being Beautiful. The background was created in the same fashion as the masculine card.

Making both cards was such fun as it made me study the stamps I own. Steampunk is huge at the moment but is it a passing phase or one such as Alice In Wonderland which lingers on and never appears to go out of fashion? Who knows the answer to that one but in the meantime when I want to make something with a Steampunk slant to it, I will certainly look twice at the stamps I own and see if it is possible to give them a little Steampunk twist.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. craftytrog
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 15:05:55

    Both fabulous cards with wonderful backgrounds! It’s such fun making your own isn’t it?! x

    Reply

  2. joanne wardle
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 15:47:58

    fantastic way to look at your stamps in a new way! cool cards

    Reply

  3. JeanFB
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 16:10:55

    I absolutely love these cards, Lynne, and yes I saw them yesterday on Suzanne’s blog. That feminine steampunk is so inspirational…. after all, girls can be inventors, too, LOL!! Love the intricacy of your backgrounds!

    Reply

  4. Lynn Stevens
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 17:18:53

    Lynne,
    Wow. you rocked the challenge and using non Steampunk stamps too! I think Steampunk is here to stay after all its been around since the Victorian days! LOL Wait till you see the new things I’ve been working on, you’ll be hooked for sure. LOL
    I’m off to see your cards at Oxford
    hugs Lynn

    Reply

  5. Kate
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 17:56:47

    Love the lady especially but they are both superb.

    Reply

  6. thefrugalcrafter
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 19:04:12

    I love the steampunk style, great cards!

    Reply

  7. alcoholinky
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 20:51:00

    LOL – lovely innovative cards Lynne. Those eyes are FAB!

    Reply

  8. Terry
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 23:54:43

    Great Steampunk! Love the backgrounds and images!

    Reply

  9. ScrappySuzanne
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 06:17:08

    Great cards and you have certainly done the theme proud seen as you dont have any “dedicated” steampunk stash. We are a very adaptable lot us crafters.

    Reply

  10. Crafty Dawn
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 11:09:18

    Oh these are lovely I like the sewing stamps of hook & eye and the advert corset is really yummy too!

    Love Dawn xx

    Reply

  11. Martina
    Jun 09, 2010 @ 19:08:53

    Lynne, your art blows me away. These are a beautiful pieces…every detail is perfect. Standing O from me!

    Reply

  12. Lucy Edmondson
    Jun 11, 2010 @ 13:13:17

    This is great. It is so imaginative to use your own stamps in this way,

    Lucy x

    Reply

  13. Shar B
    Jun 12, 2010 @ 02:39:21

    Super steampunking!

    Reply

  14. Penny
    Jun 13, 2010 @ 00:31:36

    Fantastic use of non-steampunk stamps to create a thoroughly steampunk piece!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

