Walk Like An Egyptian

Remember that song? I’m sure anyone of a certain age (that includes me!) will remember this huge hit. What does that have to do with crafting? Well it relates to the card I made for my Dad for Father’s Day.

For his National Service my Dad spent his time in Egypt, the Suez Canal. He is the young man on the left in the first photo and the first on the camel. Little does he know that I pilfered the photos to show on my Blog! He loved his time in the Army, times he reflects on with many happy memories.

So I had the perfect stamp from Oxford Impressions, Travel Journal set.

It is a card that is loaded with bits and pieces so there are a couple of close-ups. Initially I distressed a page from an Atlas but it was still too garish for my liking and as luck had it, in my stash I had an Egyptian transparency and when placing this over the Atlas page, the word “Egypt” fitted perfectly.

The die cut buckle (kindly received from Alison) received the rusty treatment then dents created with the Tim Holtz Texture Hammer.  Thunder Metal Flakes and a scrap of fabric, which to my eyes echoed the pattern of the palm fronds were also added.

Crafty Notions Rusting Powder and a selection of Metal Flakes are available from The Altered Element.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thefrugalcrafter
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 11:48:06

    I remember that sone…does that mean I’m “of a certain age” LOL! Great FD card, so much yummy texture!

    Reply

  2. craftytrog
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 12:09:46

    What an amazing card Lynne! So much thought went into it! Great photos too, love the baggy trousers! And the song, I’ll be singing it all day & doing the ‘walk’!! xx

    Reply

  3. Shelley
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 13:04:42

    I don’t know how you produce such amazing artwork time after time, but you do. This is fantastic!

    Reply

  4. Crafty Dawn
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 13:34:04

    Ah ha I remember it too (are we of that age now then?)I love the card and yr day (so handsome)Mine was also a bit of a fox when he was young surpose our kids will be saying that about us soon (are we really that old?) ha ha great card

    Love Dawn xx

    Reply

  5. Willow
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 14:27:35

    Oh my that song!!! But, I would say you “got” the Egypt of your Dad’s time there perfectly! Very intriguing and I bet he loves it!!!

    Reply

  6. Lynn Stevens
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 16:13:12

    Wow Lynne, So much thought went into your card for your Dad, I’m sure it will bring back all his wonderful memories! A great collage! and oh yes I remember that song!

    Reply

  7. Christine
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 19:21:54

    Love it! So many wonderful details!

    Blessings,
    Christine

    Reply

  8. alcoholinky
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 19:34:24

    what a lovely thoughtful card Lynne. funnily enough my dad was in Suez towards the end of the IIWW. I think you’re having lots of fun with the Altered Element products!

    Reply

  9. Chris
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 20:57:08

    Fab card, Lynne. So much thought, detail and love have obviously gone into this. I bet your Dad loved it. Bet he won’t be too happy when he sees the photos though. lol

    Reply

  10. debbiek
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 00:23:57

    Wonderful card, Lynne! I’m sure your Dad will love it. Hope he had a grand day:)

    – DebbieK x

    Reply

  11. michele
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 06:07:06

    really lovely creations. & that was one of my favorite songs…

    Reply

  12. Penny
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 20:47:52

    Such great pictures! The card is a perfect fit for your theme. Oh, and do I admit that I saw the Bangles in concert???

    Reply

    • lynne
      Jun 23, 2010 @ 10:50:20

      Hmm should you really have admitted to that Penny?!! Now there is a question, which bands did we see in our “youth” that we are now slightly embarrassed about? Or should we ever be embarrassed, after all we were probably incredibly cool at the time LOL. Lynne

      Reply

Leave a Reply

