Note To Self

A sheet of Grungeboard was included in June’s DT package from The Altered Element. Grungeboard certainly is a product that appears to have a huge fan base, but for me, it is not a product I managed to get very excited about in the past!

Heading down a practical road I made a sticky note holder. The covers  and hinges are made from Grungeboard and the flowers and leaves from Grungepaper. As I don’t own a die cutting machine I used a flower (thanks Alison!) for a template and proceeded to hand-cut 7 flowers and also some leaves.

 

The little “notes” tag was made from translucent shrink plastic (also included in the package from The Altered Element) and alphabet stamps.

Grungeboard hinges makes the holder easy to open and close.

Am I correct in saying that the majority of stampers own more than one script stamp, possibly even more than two – come on, own up! For the cover I stamped a Prima script stamp and for the flowers I used French Script by Hero Arts, the first script stamp I ever purchased and one I always keep to hand. By using silicone glue it creates a lovely dimension to the flowers .

(If there is anyone who has never used Grungeboard then I would say prepare with Gesso. I painted 2 coats of Gesso and still required to sponge 2 coats of the lilac velvet texture emulsion paint to eliminate any of the base Grungeboard.)

These little holders could come in handy for stocking fillers as they are so useful. Once the sticky note pad is finished it is easy enough to insert a new one.

Reminder – A gentle reminder that on Wednesday there will be a 10% discount coupon available from The Altered Element. This discount is only valid for the duration of  England’s scheduled match at the World Cup.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Stevens
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 16:20:21

    Well Lynne, You sure put the grungeboard to good use! Its fantastic! I’m with you I really haven’t used it much but your an inspiration and I need to pull it out and use it more! Wonderful project!

    Reply

  2. craftytrog
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 16:22:12

    A lovely use of the grungeboard Lynne! I’m not sure how many script stamps I own, definitely more than one though! :o) xx

    Reply

  3. 2amscrapper
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 16:51:18

    what a clever idea–and such a beautiful note holder–and yes, I own more than one script stamp

    Reply

  4. Nicks
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 17:07:04

    I’m a grungeboard lover… well I love to smell it!
    Great project, ideal for end of term gives for teachers

    Reply

  5. Crafty Dawn
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 17:48:06

    Well I do like this lovely script stamps (love the flower script) and yummy colours (I can’t believe I missed that 10% discount on that all too large purchase)

    Love dawn xx

    Reply

  6. joanne wardle
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 18:26:06

    gorgeous project.
    I own at least 4 script stamps, possibly more if I really think about it!!
    actually I’ve just thought of two more…
    ….at least!!

    Reply

  7. alcoholinky
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 19:32:23

    that’s lovely Lynne. gorgeous flowers. you can never have enough script stamps!

    Reply

  8. Penny
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 20:55:00

    Really nicely done! I’ll have to try gesso on it before inking or painting – it does seem like you have to put on coat after coat after coat to get good colour coverage. I always think script stamps are a great addition in so many projects and I agree with Alcoholinky – you can never have enough of them 😉

    Reply

  9. Shelley
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 12:48:08

    Lynn I enjoyed this post so much. I have never tried working with grungeboard either, although I have examined it in the stores and in my wholesale catalog. I’ve decided, or at least I think, I can make something real similar for my personal use. Althoug I do have a die cutting machine, here I sit, a store owner, with NO dies! LOL. Anyway, I love your sticky note holder and yes I do have (ahem) a few script stamps.

    Reply

  10. thefrugalcrafter
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 12:56:17

    well honey, you don’t need a die cutter, those flowers are FAB! I would have sworn they were the new Tim Holtz die, way to go, I love practical stamping because you can use what you make, I end up tossing so many projects because they serve no pourpose other than they were fun to make then the collect dust, that post it holder will get used and refilled and used a gain! Do you put magnets on the back so it can go on the fridge? It looks great Lynne!

    Reply

  11. lynne
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 14:55:16

    Thanks for the comments for the holder 🙂 To answer the Frugal Crafter, there are no magnets on the back as this is intended for sitting on a desk or even in a handbag (I like large bags so it wouldn’t be a problem!). The easy part is that depending on the size of the sticky notes you can create any size of holder. Lynne x

    Reply

  12. Terry
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 15:02:42

    Love those flowers! Absolutely beautiful work with grunge!!!

    Reply

  13. Cath
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 18:18:24

    Beautiful, Lynne 😀 Like you, I’m not a big fan of Grungeboard (help, don’t shout anyone!) but you may be encouraging me to try again, lol 😉

    Reply

  14. elina
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 07:53:19

    this is absolutely gorgeous! fantastic work!

    Reply

  15. Shar B
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 13:26:46

    Very pretty! I love the layered flowers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

