Beauty In Her Eyes

A more apt title would be “Have I Seen You Somewhere Before?” as I have used this image quite a few times recently! Dawn and I set out on our first swap in June and we said  “anything goes” and as we worked on our separate artwork it was all “Top Secret”.  To make our swaps that bit special we also said we would include some items from our craft stash, in particular items that we really want to share, not merely having a bit of a clear out! As Dawn has now received the item I made for her it is safe for me to show it here. This is the hanging I made for Dawn.

Maybe someone could set me right on this. I bought this “clipboard” in Poundland last year and no longer have the packaging but I have a feeling it is used for Bingo cards, is that correct?

The board was painted with Pompadour blue and stamped before layering decorative net fabric (used for window dressing) with some LLB Retro Rose trim layered on top to disguise the folds then tucked under the clip. The image I printed onto some linen texture printer paper and layered some gorgeous Laura Ashley velvet texture paper underneath. The little touches are fabric blooms in various sizes, a mini postcard and stamped cancellation with a piece of mica to age.

At the bottom, I sponged Weathered Wood Distress Ink on some lace and stamped Femme, layered another piece of mica and tucked this behind a book plate which was sponged with paint.

Finally some pale yellow organza ribbon to hang the piece.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KK
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 11:48:31

    Gorgeous and what a great idea to alter a Bingo Clipboard (no, I can’t confirm that’s what it is cos Bingo is a mystery to me, lol). Love the aged postcard and the nameplate. Beautifully, subtle colours, as usual 😀

    Reply

  2. craftytrog
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 11:51:19

    As usual I love everything about this piece Lynne! It’s so pretty & feminine! Lucky Dawn! x

    Reply

  3. Nicks
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 12:14:37

    oh… I wish I was dawn LOL

    beautiful serene colours!

    Reply

  4. Lucy Edmondson
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 12:19:17

    Hi, this is beautiful. Yes, they are for Bingo as I have some from Poundland too – we shop in all the best places!

    L x

    Reply

  5. Terry
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 13:40:37

    Gorgeous! Love what you did with this and distressing the plate is perfect!!

    Reply

  6. Willow
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 14:13:19

    Beautiful piece of art!! You each are soooo lucky!!! I would love to have either swap piece (or both even!). Enjoy your gift as I know Dawn will enjoy this!!!

    Reply

  7. Lynn Stevens
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 15:02:42

    Lynne, No doubt Dawn is thrilled with your Gorgeous hanging! Its so rich with the lace, flowers and beautiful image.Lucky girl.

    Reply

  8. 2amscrapper
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 15:40:19

    amazing! beautiful! stunning!

    Reply

  9. joanne wardle
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 15:57:12

    oh yes I’ve had one of these clipboards before, they are for bingo.
    love how you altered it, very glamorous

    Reply

  10. alcoholinky
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 16:22:43

    how delicate and feminine Lynne. Gorgeous!

    Reply

  11. Christine
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 18:57:06

    Beautiful! xx

    Reply

  12. Chris
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 19:17:17

    Ooohh Lynne, this is so gorgeous. love the subtle tones, the image, the lace – well everything really. :o)

    Reply

  13. Crafty Dawn
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 19:24:27

    And I am lucky lucky Dawn! Yay and I can tell you I am more than thrilled with it. I love everything about it! and Lynne hasn’t shown you the beautiful fabrics she sent which were also just as delish Thank you Lynne my sweet friend

    Love Dawn xx

    Reply

  14. Nancy Maxwell James
    Jul 03, 2010 @ 12:24:15

    Lynne
    she is really a beautiful image and the composition is just lovely. I really like how you incorporated the soft vintage pastels with the work!
    As for Scotland being patriotic…I dunno…I think you are. I have a Rampant Lion flag at my house and a “Highland Coo” figurine to show my Scottish roots! ;)♥ Alba gu bràth ♥
    Hope you have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

    Reply

    • lynne
      Jul 03, 2010 @ 15:13:41

      Have you been watching “Braveheart” recently?!Yes I take your point, we can be fiercely patriotic, especially when supporting Andy Murray. What is it about Scots and Scotland that they never win at anything?!!! Answers on a postcard please LOL. Lynne x

      Reply

  15. Shar B
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 02:37:48

    Lovely piece! Great collage!

    Reply

  16. Penny
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 02:17:37

    Love all the fabric textures in this – and especially the mottled effect you achieved by inking the lace – beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

