Loose Threads

At Katy’s Corner Yahoo Group it is normal for there to be an annual Deco Swap. As well as my own theme I also made pages to the themes set by the other women in the same group as myself. Their themes being:- World Traveller, I Cannot Resist Nature, Quotes & Words, Women and Birds. Quite a variety! At some later date I will show at least one of those sets of Deco pages.

My theme this year was The Dressmaker. This is the first page I made for my Deco

The layer underneath the stitched vintage dressmaking tissue  (which I also stamped onto) is watercolour paper which was aged with Distress Inks and randomly stamped with dressmaking images. Difficult to see on the photo but it actually creates a sense of depth to the layout.  The only colours I worked with were Tattered Rose, Tea Dye, Vintage Photo and a touch of Victorian Velvet.

Using stamps from Time To Stamp and Oxford Impressions I built up layers on the 4″x4″ layout.

As the pages are made into a book, I wanted plenty of layers and lots of interest but without creating anything with too much dimension to it.

Page 2 – This is slightly washed out looking in the photograph, it is actually the colour of Tattered Rose which I sponged onto an old piece of cotton, fraying the edges. On this page the majority of the stamping is onto cotton.

Some lace, decorative trim and a glass button were added.

A decorative pin holds a piece of dress net, Penny’s button card and a daisy from a piece of trim, in place.

For the book I used my BIA to punch the holes but for a softer effect I used ribbon and lace instead of the BIA wires. Adding a sewing machine charm, daisy button and a snap to add a little bit of dimension.

As the covers are made from sturdy cardboard which was covered in a canvas effect cardstock I was therefore able to do all the stamping onto cotton.

Not sure where my fascination for dressmaking/sewing etc comes from as myself and sewing machines don’t have a good relationship. It stems as far back as my Primary School days and then followed to Secondary School – it is absolutely no exaggeration to say that any time I had to use a sewing machine I broke it, either the needles were broken, fabric jammed into the machine, every single time something would happen. Of course this resulted in not only a bad relationship with sewing machines but also a bad relationship with the Home Economic teachers!

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lucy Edmondson
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 14:09:05

    Every page is stunning! My favourite theme,

    Lucy x

    Reply

  2. Jacqueline
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 14:12:21

    Beautiful work!

    Reply

  3. Willow
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 15:13:38

    Incredible book!! I so adore your art style!!

    Reply

  4. Marie
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 15:34:14

    just beautiful and my fav.theme. Love it.
    Have a wonderful day.
    hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  5. Lynn Stevens
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 16:37:42

    Oh Lynne,
    Your sewing book is incredible. A shabby chic work of art. I’d say you’ve gotten over your issues with the sewing machine and your home economic teacher would be very pleased indeed! A++++++ in my gradebook!
    hugs Lynn

    Reply

  6. 2amscrapper
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 16:39:22

    I love the fastener and snaps as an added touch. The materials and ink colors are magnificent. My grandmother was a seamstress so I too have a fascination for dressmaking even though I can’t sew a stitch! You work has inspired me to come up with something honoring my grandmother.

    Reply

  7. Martina
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 18:15:40

    Lynne, I think that you are a very talented artist and I love your style. Each of your unique works are clearly imbued with thought, effort and the passion for what you do. This is what makes your work inspirational for me.
    Cheers
    MARTINA xxx

    Reply

  8. Kate
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 19:15:15

    I love all the haberdashery you’ve included – and the dear little sewing machine charm. Exquisite work.

    Reply

  9. KK
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 19:37:14

    I already said it was gorgeous when you uploaded to KCUK but I’ll say it again. I just love all the little details and touches that make this so special, especially the press stud, lol!! Thanks for your comment, btw – I appreciate that.

    Reply

  10. Cockney Blonde
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 19:49:45

    Fabulous Lynne. I too like sewing/dressmaking themes but hate it IRL, x

    Reply

  11. craftytrog
    Jul 07, 2010 @ 09:58:10

    Stunning artwork Lynne! Love the sewing theme! x

    Reply

  12. Nancy Maxwell James
    Jul 07, 2010 @ 11:40:22

    Lynne
    I love how you incorporated the small snaps, lace, pins and bits of dress maker pattern with these gorgeous stamps! beautiful art! 🙂 Now for our Scottish sing-along…my Dad was a BIG “Kenneth McKeller” fan so I listened to a lot of his albums growing up…how about “all for Maire’s wedding”….:)

    Reply

  13. Crafty Dawn
    Jul 07, 2010 @ 15:15:31

    Oh very pretty, I love you stamping on cotton such lovely texture. I also love all sewing things and years ago I saw some one win a lot of a vintage sewing box with all original sewing bit’s & bobs in and I was just druling. And I have been looking for bit’s of vintage sewing things since (not found much) however I managed to buy a beautiful vintage sewing box yesterday for a fiver prob 70s maybe a lot earlier (solid wood) I love it and have already filled it with goodies, may photograph it and upload to my blog ha ha

    Love Dawn xx

    Reply

  14. Terry
    Jul 07, 2010 @ 20:25:55

    Wonderful sewing book! Love the details, pins, buttons, even a little sewing machine charm! Fantastic!

    Reply

  15. michele
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 05:46:00

    so incredibly lovely. i love to see your work.

    Reply

  16. Penny
    Jul 10, 2010 @ 14:23:01

    So gorgeous, Lynne! All the stamping on fabric combined with the lace and paper – it’s a project that looks like you! I like how you used ribbons in your BIA holes – nice touch 🙂

    Reply

  17. Shar B
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 01:21:42

    Both are very pretty! Love your composition!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

