Worn By Time (A Tutorial – Ageing & Distressing Part II)

In Part I of my tutorial for The Altered Element I showed ways in which to use Distress Ink pads/re-inkers for creating an aged appearance.

In this part of the tutorial I will

  • dye gauze & lace
  • age pattern paper using Distress Inks and beeswax
  • tint a stamped image

Remember, if you don’t own any Distress re-inkers just pat some colour from an ink pad onto a craft sheet and spray with water.

some of the supplies used in this project

Dyeing  Gauze & Lace
Using a variety of ink pads, re-inkers and tea I dyed some gauze. This gauze is the type used in First Aid boxes or you will find a variety of suitable fabrics, such as cotton scrim at The Altered Element.

Tips
  • wet the lace or gauze thoroughly before applying the re-inker
  • add drops of re-inker or dab ink pad onto craft sheet, spray with water then scrunch the wet gauze into the colour. Squeeze the gauze then spread out flat to dry
  •  also use regular tea, coffee for walnut solutions alongside the Distress Inks
  • remember that the colours will lighten as they dry
  • as with the customised backgrounds, make batches of dyed lace and gauze so you have a supply to hand

The embellishments will be used in the finished project. I have to thank Chris (rubbaluvva). A wee while ago she sent me a beautiful card and the main embellishment was a handmade flower on which she used a large pearl bead for its centre.

 Photo shows a selection of dyed gauze & lace

 Using Customised Papers


As in Part I, here I also made use of the dyed paper by stamping on it to create a customised pattern paper. For this sheet I used a beautiful set by Anna Corba, French Vintage Labels. I stamped with Shabby Shutters, Tea Dye and Tattered Rose.

 Aging Pattern Paper

I also aged some pattern paper (this paper is actually drawer liner) using Distress Inks and crumpled. The torn pieces were layered onto the customised stamped paper. A colour duster is a lovely way to add diffused colour to paper.

Using Touches of Beeswax & Crackle Paint

Now I have to hold my hands up and say at times I can be a bit lazy in my use of my Melt Pot. As the area I craft in is so tiny it is impossible for me to have all my tools to hand so as you can imagine, it can at times become a bit of a chore to walk away from my craft area to fire up the Melt Pot but when I motivate myself (!) I realise it is worth the effort.

The use of beeswax can be subtle but it adds another texture to a project and can heighten the vintage feel.

Tinting A Stamped Image

I prefer not to tint all of the image, in this case, her dress, flowers, headscarf and of course, some blush! Sponge applicators help to add to the colour with more precision.

The photo is aged and distressed in the same way as the photo stamp in Part I .

Project – A Hanging Frame

  • Distress Crackle paints in Tattered Rose and Weathered Wood were applied to a simple wooden frame (no glass with this frame)
  • customised stamped paper and pattern paper were adhered to back board of frame

  • “faux” postcards were also dipped into beeswax and beeswax used as a glue to adhere to base
  • photo stamp tucked behind some of the dyed lace (Broken China and tea solution)
  • a bow was created from a piece of dyed gauze (Aged Mahogany) and anchored to the front of the frame with copper staples
  • using another piece of the dyed gauze I made a flower. Simply use a running stitch the full length of the gauze and gather together, stitching a large pearl bead into the centre. A touch of silicone glue adheres it to the frame

 I hope this project (and the card in Part I )shows that with those products you can create your own papers and dye lace, etc to co-ordinate with your project, whether aiming for a masculine vibe or something feminine, with an air of faded romance to it.

Note – Many of the items used in both parts of this tutorial can be sourced from The Altered Element – direct links will take you to the actual products at the on-line shop.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marie
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 11:45:11

    Hi Lynne,
    this is gorgeous and the image is one of my fav. –
    thanks for sharing and have a wonderful weekend.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  2. Jacqueline
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 12:47:10

    OH how beautiful – you’ve used all my favorite colors – such a gorgeous piece of art! Thanks for showing up how you use the distress inks!

    Reply

  3. Jacqueline
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 12:47:42

    OH how beautiful – you’ve used all my favorite colors – such a gorgeous piece of art! Thanks for showing us how you use the distress inks!

    Reply

  4. Cath
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 13:12:57

    LOTS of info there, Lynne – fabby dabby. Love the way the gauze turned out and I’m sure you put it to lots of good uses. The photo tinting looks good, too. Great article.

    Reply

  5. 2amscrapper
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 13:36:07

    Thanks for this detailed tutorial! I love the project and am inspired to create one of my own.

    Reply

  6. craftytrog
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 13:50:01

    Absolutely gorgeous Lynne! Brilliant tutorial! Must check out my medicine box for gauze! xx

    Reply

  7. Lynn Stevens
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 17:13:03

    Wow Lynne,
    I am impressed!!!! I have never thought to age my gauze with distress inks or to use bees wax and crackle paint together for such great results. You have inspired me! Wonderful tutorial and awesome project! clap-clap-clap!!!!

    Reply

  8. Terry
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 17:35:37

    What an informative tutorial. I have used Glimmer Mists to dye, but did not think about inks! Thank you much! Beautiful!!

    Reply

  9. Penny
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 17:50:28

    Such a wonderful tutorial, Lynne! The colours you choose in your distressed projects are perfect and I love the crackled paint on the frame. Excellent tips you’ve shared – thanks 🙂

    Reply

  10. Crafty Dawn
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 19:01:40

    Hi Lynne,

    Fabby Pt2 Love that gauze died up very cool! very informative and great piccies too no need to worry great TT hun

    Love Dawn xx

    Reply

  11. alcoholinky
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 19:52:58

    that’s a fab project Lynne and beautifully written up. particularly love the effect of the crackle, scrim flower,tinting of the picture and your creative hanger.gorgeous!

    Reply

  12. Chris
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 21:07:55

    What an absolutely wonderful project. I love how you’ve combined two colours of crackle paint on the frame and the dyed gauze is beautful. Just when I need some inspiration along you come with this.

    Reply

  13. debbiek
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 00:43:36

    No doubt about it Lynne, you SHOULD write a book! Great tutorial. I’ll have to try some of those techniques as your projects turned out gorgeous:)

    – DebbieK x

    Reply

  14. thefrugalcrafter
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 00:55:04

    wow! now I need to raid the medicine cabinet for some gauze, awesome look!

    Reply

  15. Nancy Maxwell James
    Jul 18, 2010 @ 10:47:46

    Adore this project and step by step! the colors are amazing and so is the texture! thank you for sharing this gorgeous piece with us – hope you have a wonderful Sunday! 🙂

    Reply

  16. Jack
    Jul 18, 2010 @ 16:16:54

    Fabulous second part Lynne. I know I shall be referring to these tutorials again and again.
    xx

    Reply

  17. Kathyk
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 09:07:44

    What a fabbylicious project – thanks for posting this tutorial

    Kathyk

    Reply

  18. Lucy Edmondson
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 13:54:09

    Beautiful project, and excellent tutorial,

    Lucy x

    Reply

  19. Sue Allan
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 21:31:25

    WoW!!!

    Reply

  20. Dalia Drulia
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 03:11:22

    love this , thanks for sharing

    Reply

Leave a Reply

