Oh Sew Pretty

Within minutes of finding this incredibly sweet image at Night Owl Vintage I discovered that this week’s theme at the Lots to Do challenge is “Stitches”.

Faux stitches were used to create a border onto the cardblank with Victorian Velvet ink, then real stitches on the pattern paper. The lace is a piece from Part II of my tutorial, added a vintage button, a tiny piece of lace with a dressmaker pin threaded through and that is how one relatively quick card was made for this challenge.

A little note – my previous post, Part II of the tutorial was my 100th post. I know it’s not my Blog’s birthday but I wanted to say a little “thank you” to everyone who visits. You have been a constant source of encouragement for me and there has been the odd chuckle here and there at the funny comments 🙂  Lynne x

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. craftytrog
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 13:40:44

    Such a pretty card Lynne! Congratulations on your 100th post too, it’s amazing how quickly they mount up! x

    Reply

  2. Terry
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 13:48:38

    Hard to believe that is faux stitching! What a gorgeous and vintage work of art. I love the sewing machine image! Congrats on your 100th post! I just started blogging and yes, it is nice to visit and be visited! Have a great day!

    Reply

  3. Lucy Edmondson
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 13:51:08

    This is gorgeous!

    Lucy x

    Reply

  4. Jingle
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 14:03:54

    This is absolutely gorgeous! Beautifully done!

    Reply

  5. Cath
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 14:20:16

    It may well be quick and easy but it’s really effective and I love how the lace looks. Lovely, Lynne 😉

    Reply

  6. Willow
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 14:57:05

    Another gorgeous piece!!! Congrats on your 100th post!! And, I am soooo grateful you share your creativity so willingly!!! Thanks Lynne!!!

    Reply

  7. Zoechaos
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 15:23:14

    Can easily see why you fell for this image its just so darn sweet. Love the mix of faux and real stitching making a really beautiful card. Thank you for joining us at LTD this week, Hilda will be popping round toward the end of the week to see what everyone has made.

    Congratulations on 100 posts well and truely established blogger now then LOL xx Zoe

    Reply

  8. Chris
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 15:48:24

    100 posts, eh? And to think you weren’t sure about starting a blog! I think it’s great that you share your gorgeous artwork otherwise I would think you were terribly selfish. lol

    Now this piece may have been quick but it is truly lovely. The image is gorgeous and of course all the little details that you add just finish it off to perfection.

    Reply

  9. Jacqueline
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 15:59:32

    Vintage to perfection!

    Reply

  10. Jack
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 16:04:03

    Did you stamp those faux stitches or draw them? They certainly had me fooled till I read your post. Yet another gorgeous card from Vintage Lynne, lol. xx

    Reply

  11. 2amscrapper
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 17:11:58

    what a beautiful combination of stitching and that adorable image–the pin on the corner is a nice extra touch!

    Reply

  12. Effie
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 17:23:05

    Lovely card… great image too.

    Reply

  13. Marie
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 17:57:22

    Hi Lynne,
    congratulations on your 100th post.That’s a big milestone.I adore your latest creation. Thanks for stopping by and all the wonderful comments you left me
    they sure made my day.Have a wonderful day, my friend.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  14. Crafty Dawn
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 18:15:40

    Hi ya hun loving this image may have to add this one lol and such a pretty card

    love Dawn xx

    Reply

  15. Kate
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 18:40:11

    I love how you use the stitching and lace. Off to check how many posts I’ve got up to – not 100 yet although my archive started the same time as yours.

    Reply

  16. Lynn Stevens
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 20:08:52

    Lynne, First off congrats on 100 posts. Time flys when your having fun!
    I haven’t even looked at mine, almost afraid to :0)
    Second your little vintage art is just precious and you’d never know it was a quick one! Darling!!!!

    Reply

  17. Penny
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 21:11:22

    Perfect image to use with the stitching! I thought both sets of stitching were real – very convincing stamping!

    Reply

  18. neet
    Jul 20, 2010 @ 13:59:53

    So pretty – I love the pastel look you have achieved.

    Reply

  19. Ursula
    Jul 20, 2010 @ 19:05:13

    Wundervoll.

    Liebe Grüsse Ursula

    Reply

  20. Marnie Blum
    Jul 21, 2010 @ 02:12:55

    I learned to sew on one of those and I am only 40. Great piece, love it.

    Reply

    • lynne
      Jul 21, 2010 @ 19:10:00

      We inherited such a sewing machine. I dearly wanted to keep it but due to space restrictions we decided to get rid of it. A real pity. Lynne

      Reply

  21. debbiek
    Jul 21, 2010 @ 03:24:19

    So adorable. Just love this piece, Lynne!
    – Debbiek x

    Reply

  22. hilda
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 19:31:42

    Stunning card very beautifully done

    Thanks for sharing with the Lotstodo Challenge – sorry I’m late in visiting – I’ve been away visiting with family xx Hilda

    Reply

  23. Sue Allan
    Jul 26, 2010 @ 21:30:39

    Stitching, my favourite thing at the moment. Doesn’t it give the piece a LIFT. I try to include when I can.. no, I do it every time. The pink pin is fab. I found some pewter-coloured ones in my local fabric shop.

    It is a beautiful piece.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

