Mirror, Mirror

You might remember that I am a member of Katy’s Corner (Yahoo Group) and of the time I received a piece of lint as part of a Fun Swap (see Flutterby ). Call me a fool, but a few months ago I couldn’t resist signing up for another Fun Swap! So what did I receive …… a huge jigsaw puzzle piece (possibly a die cut), really should have measured it and a puzzle piece from a children’s jigsaw. Hmmmm what will I make with this?

I prepared both pieces with Gesso then Regency White emulsion paint. Prior to stamping, the main pattern was created using a mask and soft pink pigment ink for the largest piece and the same process but substituting soft green for the smaller piece. The backs also painted and the mask design sponged on.

After stamping onto the mirror I adhered it onto the main piece.

The cameo image was stamped onto glossy cardstock.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Stevens
    Aug 08, 2010 @ 16:05:05

    What a clever idea Lynne, I can’t image what I would have done with a giant puzzle piece. You rocked this one!

    Reply

  2. Deb Neerman
    Aug 08, 2010 @ 16:21:17

    This is gorgeous … what a fabulous idea … and so beautifully done!!

    Reply

  3. alcoholinky
    Aug 08, 2010 @ 17:23:19

    gorgeous Lynne. loved your idea of stamping on the mirror. I went through a stage of giant puzzle pieces. they’re great fun to alter.

    Reply

  4. Martina
    Aug 08, 2010 @ 17:33:30

    What a gorgeous idea, Lynne! And it looks so great!

    Reply

  5. Cynthia Schelzig..Cynnie
    Aug 08, 2010 @ 18:19:15

    I really like the idea of stamping on a mirror piece….this is interesting how you used the puzzle piece as a hanging ornament too.

    Reply

  6. Lucy Edmondson
    Aug 08, 2010 @ 18:32:24

    Love it!

    Lucy x

    Reply

  7. Cockney Blonde
    Aug 08, 2010 @ 20:11:45

    Really like this Lynne, x

    Reply

  8. Christine
    Aug 08, 2010 @ 20:14:48

    Love this!!! What a great use of the pieces you were given!!!

    xx

    Reply

  9. Cath
    Aug 08, 2010 @ 22:56:26

    Don’t think it was a die cut but I loved it then and I love it now. It’s saved to my desktop for homepage artwork, my love 😀

    Reply

  10. 2amscrapper
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 01:44:56

    you did quite well with these pieces–lovely creation!

    Reply

  11. craftytrog
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 04:03:11

    Puzzle pieces are such fun to alter, & you’ve decorated these beautifully Lynne! I have some small mirror tiles & never thought of stamping on them. Thanks for the inspiration!
    Alison x

    Reply

  12. Marie
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 10:58:12

    Hi Lynne,
    beautiful as always!
    Thanks for stopping by.
    Have a wonderful day.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  13. thefrugalcrafter
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 12:43:16

    the stamed mirror reminds me of the ones that you could win at the fair when I was a teenager, usually with rock group logos on them, this is way classier though;)

    Reply

  14. Jack
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 12:58:53

    This is so gorgeous. I’m sooooooo sorry I didn’t join in this swap. xx

    Reply

  15. Crafty Dawn
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 15:50:08

    Love the cameo on GCS very pretty and it just fits lovely

    Love Dawn xx

    Reply

  16. Terry
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 13:48:00

    Well that is quite a wall hanging! Totally brilliant and I just love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

