Such A Perfect Day

Having a browse, I stumbled across a challenge over at Dezinaworld where the theme is “Lyrics”. In my teens and 20’s, music was really important to me, the anticipation of a release date for a single or album, the artwork on the sleeve (yes, I am talking vinyl here LOL), videos, gigs, loved it all.  To select a favourite lyric was difficult to say the least but as  I have a particular fondness for Ella Fitzgerald I picked “I Love Paris In The Springtime” and couldn’t resist adding another favourite, Lou Reed’s “Perfect Day” (a perfect day would be a trip to Paris in the Spring).
On completion of the card I realised that there were lots of layers so also entering this into Simon Says Stamp and Show “Layers”.

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lucy Edmondson
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 19:52:37

    That is amazing, they are my two favourite songs, and they have to be the Ella and the Lou Reed versions for me. Your card is beautiful,

    Lucy x

    Reply

  2. Crafty Dawn
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 19:54:57

    Spring time in Paris would indeed be a perfect day. I have to know where I can get these stamps QUICK! Is there a UK holder of these? let me know hun xx

    Reply

    • lynne
      Sep 06, 2010 @ 17:34:35

      All the images are Oxford Impressions except for “Paris In Spring” which is Elusive Images and “Perfect Day” is Studio G. You can get OI stamps from LB Crafts if you don’t want to purchase direct from Suzanne at O.I. Hope that helps 🙂 Lynne x

      Reply

  3. june
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 21:04:31

    Ohhh wow Lynne, this is fabulous and I so love the songs you chose too. I adore Paris itself and you really transported me there again with your gorgeous art and the song.Thanks for joining in the challenge and good luck
    hugs June xxxxx

    Reply

  4. june
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 21:05:21

    Just so you know … the last comment was by me but i have another account for my art as you can see lol xxxx

    Reply

  5. alcoholinky
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 08:12:32

    ah yes – I remember those days! your stamps look wonderful Lynne, lovley collage.

    Reply

  6. Nancy Wethington
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 10:27:24

    Lynn, this is beautiful! Thanks so much for playing along with the Simon Says Stamp & Show challenge blog.

    Reply

  7. Lynnef
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 11:30:21

    Oh Lynne….the AWESOMENESS!! I can send you my Addy so you can send this card to me….hehehehehe
    thanks bunches for playing along with the Design Teamies and Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge Blog!!!

    Reply

  8. Willow
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 14:35:45

    I love Mack the Knife too and once won a bet by memorizing all the lyrics and performing it for friends on a beach pavillion… ah youth!!! I love your piece!!!

    Reply

  9. debbiek
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 14:41:49

    Simply lovely, Lynne! Great composition and love all the layers. Have a great day!

    Reply

  10. Lynn Stevens
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 14:47:08

    oh Lynne, I’m from the vinyl days too and really miss those covers! Gorgeous layers and colors fit it so well! Wonderfully crafted!

    Reply

  11. Suzie Hayward
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 14:56:38

    Wonderful card, love the songs and lyrics that you selected. As always your cards are so creative and inspirational. Thanks for sharing your wonderful talents.

    Reply

  12. Jack
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 15:55:45

    While this is absolutely gorgeous Lynne I would have loved to see your take on Mack the Knife, lol. xx

    Reply

  13. Krisha
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 16:42:58

    I too, am from the vinyal days, still have a stack of them around here. This a really inspiring card, love the stamp images!!

    Reply

  14. JeanFB
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 18:50:12

    Love these luscious French layers, Lynne! Gorgeous piece!

    Reply

  15. Julie Forest
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 20:03:52

    Hi, Lynne! This is beautiful!!! 🙂

    Reply

  16. 2amscrapper
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 21:57:15

    what a wonderful thought and beautiful layering!

    Reply

  17. PetraB
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 17:00:25

    This is stunning, love the colours and all the different layers. Thank you for the information about Oxford Impressions stamps.

    Reply

  18. Penny
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 15:50:17

    A beautiful combination of all things Paris!

    Reply

  19. Sarah
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 17:47:25

    This is gorgeous! I love all of the images!!

    Thanks so much for entering the Simon Says Stamp & Show Challenge!!!

    -Sarah

    Reply

Leave a Reply

