Memories

Some years ago I started my first Memory Box , an idea given to me by my Mum. As I rooted around for an Upcycle project to make for The Altered Element, a wooden box was what I laid my hands on. This particular box contained a gift set of perfume, body lotion, etc, a perfect size for a Memory Box. What I really wanted to do with this project was to use Decoupaint Patina. Although I have used this several times before, I’d never tried it out on wood and I also wanted to use it in conjunction with a Tim Holtz mask.
Finished Box As I wanted an overall aged look I built up various layers of acrylic paint but first of all several layers of Gesso as this box was a deep blue which I obviously did not want, then antique brown, copper and cream paints. It’s really a personal choice but for me, I like to sponge on the paint and then rub away some colour with baby wipes.
This shows the lid with antique brown, copper and cream paint.
Now copper paint and some Old White Patina sponged on.
This photo shows the box lid with partial masking. Once dry I added Distress Crackle Paint in Tarnished Brass to edges of the box.
To embellish I printed out an image of the Eiffel Tower and used cold contact Image Transfer (my preference is for Golden Soft Gel Matt Medium ) and adhered image to French text (painted with copper acrylic). Laid a chipboard frame over the image and embellished with a Prima flower with a brown, fabric brad and cut a piece of stamped twill to add to the frame.

The Altered Element has a wide range of  acrylic paints available.

Thanks for visiting. Lynne x

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy Maxwell James
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 11:30:54

    Lynne
    this is gorgeous! I love the soft muted colors with the image (and how you matted it)! beautiful art as always! Thank you for your sweet comments about my Dad (did I share with you we tucked a thistle in his suit lapel and had them engraved on his headstone) miss him more each day and can’t believe it has been 4 years. Have a wonderful Sunday – it’s rainy and cool here this morning!

    Reply

  2. Tracy Evans
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 12:14:22

    Gorgeous, I love the subtle colours, it gives it a worn, vintage feel, I love it. The use of the mask works so well here and finishes your piece of beautifully. Have a good day, Tracy Evans x

    Reply

  3. Willy
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 13:26:57

    Your memory box looks great, Lynne.

    Reply

  4. craftytrog
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 13:33:00

    Absolutely love your background Lynne, thanks for sharing your techniques! A beautiful box! xx

    Reply

  5. Jack
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 13:41:57

    Gorgeous Lynne. I can see I’m going to have to book a holiday to Perth for some lessons from you. xx

    Reply

  6. 2amscrapper
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 14:43:24

    I love the finished effect–thanks for the details of how you achieve that–the memory box is a real treasure in itself.

    Reply

  7. thefrugalcrafter
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 15:40:36

    very pretty, great reuse of a purfume box! I can’t toss anything that can be reused-I have a lot of junk lying around-I never met a box I didn’t like either!

    Reply

  8. Cynthia Schelzig,,Cynnie
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 15:56:05

    Wonderful piece and thanks for showing how it all came together……

    Reply

  9. Marie
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 16:03:58

    Hi Lynne,
    love your Memory box – absolutely beautiful! Great soft colors and of course Paris; my fave.!
    Have a great Sunday.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  10. Ira
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 16:30:14

    looks like you had a great time working with all these paints and masks Lynne! Wonderful idea your mum had, I’m sure you’ll treasure it!

    Reply

  11. Lucy Edmondson
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 17:30:06

    Beautiful!

    Lucy x

    Reply

  12. Lynn Stevens
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 17:52:15

    Now that is some Gorgeous masking!!! fab memory box!

    Reply

  13. Chris
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 18:57:34

    Oh wow, Lynne, this is just too beautiful. I love how you created the vintage shabby chic background and thanks for the instructions.

    Chris x

    ps I’ll be on the same train as Jack! 🙂

    Reply

  14. Cockney Blonde
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 18:59:06

    Love how you’re doing this Lynne. What a brill idea too, x

    Reply

  15. steph
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 19:04:32

    so beautiful, lynne! i loooove the colors and all the techniques to you used to create this beauty! love the pattern, so elegant. awesome upcycling! thanks for sharing and have a great week! *hugs* steph 🙂

    Reply

  16. Hazel
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 19:33:32

    A beautiful box Lynne, I love it.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  17. debbiek
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 01:43:37

    Wow, Lynne! That box is gorgeous. It makes me want to drag all my paints out and try this technique….You continue to inspire me as always:)

    – DebbieK x

    Reply

  18. Martina
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 16:41:28

    Lynne, your memory box is fantastic! I love the whole design.

    Reply

  19. Sue Allan
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 00:48:55

    Golly, it’s gorgeous.
    The colours are so soft and fabulous. I love the subject and the techniques are inspiring. There are so many things I don’t know how to do properly, but I’m learning by watching you work!!
    Sue xxxxxxxxxxx

    Reply

  20. Penny
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 19:01:11

    Thanks for including the in process photos – they illustrate your whole process so well! And another transfer! I think we are on the same wavelength this week LOL! Yours turned out beautifully!!

    Reply

  21. Julie Forest
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 15:01:27

    OMGoodness, Lynne! This is absolutely GORGEOUS!! I love the soft, subtle colors and the masking is beautiful and perfectly done!!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

