The Love She Left Behind

Starting on the 8th of each month, for one week, Cindy Adkins hosts the Creative Spirit Challenge. This is quite unlike any other challenge site as Cindy welcomes any art, she doesn’t set a theme and it can even be art you created some time ago. It also means you can prepare your piece of art in advance, which is what I did with my altered canvas.


Altered Canvas

Flipping over the 7″x5″ canvas I adhered cream tissue paper which I had stamped with French writing. Into  the cavity I adhered a vintage Parisian postcard. The stamped images overhang the edges, added various pieces of lace and embellishments.

As I made this canvas I decided he was an English (note he is English and not Scottish!) gentleman, she a Parisian.  He wants her to leave her first love, Paris, to return to England with him. So does she accept his offer and leave behind Paris, knowing she can always return or is her love for the city so  strong that without a life in Paris she would never be the same woman. 

32 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Crafty Dawn
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 11:59:26

    Loving the little story I would go any where for my Husband to be with him is to make my life complete. If she loves him as I love my hubby there is no question. I love this canvass I have just made a canvas my self (great minds lol)

    Love Dawn xx

    Reply

  2. Lucy Edmondson
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 12:05:13

    I love this canvas, and Dawn has given me an excuse to be equally romantic, as this is what this has evoked in me – as you know, I go to France to see my love, and not to be in that beautiful country, so I would say, be anywhere, but be with the one you love,

    Lucy x

    Reply

    • lynne
      Oct 09, 2010 @ 15:29:17

      Really love how this canvas has sparked your imagination and others. I had the same thought as Jean, you can imagine that she is not truely in love with this beau, that she has her sights set on someone else (naughty her LOL) Lynne x

      Reply

  3. Penny
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 12:08:37

    This is so beautiful, Lynne – another piece that seems so “you”. She sure does seem very deep in thought over her choice.

    Reply

  4. JeanFB
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 13:31:28

    This is so beautiful and romantic! Love your story…. but whom is she looking at that is just out of our vision? She has a secret. Hmmm… 😉

    Reply

  5. Terry
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 14:22:28

    Always amazing to come here for a visit! Beautiful canvas!!

    Reply

  6. Hazel
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 14:24:47

    A beautiful canvas Lynne. The images are lovely and I love the romantic story. I wonder what her answer will be.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  7. Marie
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 16:03:16

    Beautiful and sooo romantic canvas. Hope she can do without Paris! Lynne, the envy is on the way to you.
    Have a wonderful weekend.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  8. 2amscrapper
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 16:08:35

    great art and great story!

    Reply

  9. Susan Allan
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 16:09:45

    It is lovely, Lynne and thanks for the link and info about this challenge site.
    I bought all kinds of stuff from a charity shop yesterday and I am ready for some heavy duty glueing.
    Hope you are OK
    Sue xx

    Reply

  10. Cindy Adkins
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 16:25:17

    Hi Lynne,
    Completely sublime–I LOVE it!!! What a beautiful theme–and I love how delicate it is…and I’m so glad you linked it up to the CS Challenge!!!!
    XO
    Cindy

    Reply

  11. MD
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 16:39:58

    splendide
    bravo md

    Reply

  12. Karen McAlpine
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 18:06:14

    HI Lynne, I just love this altered canvas. And turning it over to work on!!! What a great idea. So clever. Love the postcard. Love it all.

    Reply

  13. steph
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 18:45:30

    beautiful lynne!! i love how you flipped the canvas around :)! so creative and i love how it turned out! beautiful stamping, trims, and flowers. love the images of the couple. thanks for sharing and have a great weekend! *hugs* steph 🙂

    Reply

  14. Diane
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 19:15:46

    Beautifully done! I love the photos on the outside. ~Diane

    Reply

  15. Annette
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 20:34:25

    So gorgeous this canvas and such a lovely story to go with it. Annette x

    Reply

  16. PetraB
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 22:17:27

    An adorable canvas and a truly great story.

    Reply

  17. Linda
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 02:22:38

    This is so lovely and I love how you flipped the canvas… I’m inspired! Hopped over from Creative Spirit Challenge!

    Reply

  18. Lynn Stevens
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 03:03:18

    O.K. Lynne you can’t leave us hanging like that! You really need to do a follow up piece with her decision! LOL I’ll be waiting! LOL

    Reply

  19. Jack
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 12:11:14

    Fancy you choosing Paris and vintage images, lol. A stunning canvas. xx

    Reply

  20. Nancy Maxwell James
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 12:20:57

    what a beautiful story and gorgeous piece! I love how you added the text paper – romantic! Hope you have a wonderful Sunday – yard work today so no creating! It is suppose to hit 80 degrees! 😀

    Reply

  21. Nancy
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 12:48:22

    This is so Gorgeous! I LOVE this piece of art, and the story!

    Reply

  22. Julie Mutch
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 13:45:54

    Hi Lynne,

    Your canvas is simply stunning! I love the story behind why you chose each image – it’s great that you’ve got right into your art! So romantic! Thanks for sharing with us! 🙂

    Hugs,
    Julie

    Reply

  23. Julie Mutch
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 13:47:46

    P.S. I agree with Lynn Stevens, we need a followup to this piece! Hey, it’s like a soap opera through stamps! lol 🙂

    Hugs,
    Julie Mutch

    Reply

  24. Chris
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 14:38:55

    How romantic, Lynne. I know I’d follow my hubby anywhere. Love the stamped tissue and lace. I also love how you’ve added the images to the frame so that they overhang.

    Looking forward to the next instalment

    Reply

  25. debbiek
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 14:43:36

    Love the story and this piece, Lynne! Have a wonderful evening….

    – DebbieK x

    Reply

  26. Justine
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 17:59:50

    Beautiful artwork, love your shabby chic style

    Reply

  27. Tracy Evans
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 19:31:24

    Very romantic, love the canvas, the stamped tissue works so well and I love the addition of the lace. Have a good evening, Tracy Evans x

    Reply

  28. Jolanda
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 20:04:48

    Thanks for your nice comments about my tag and the hand carved stamps. I’m always on the lookout for large erasers (my latest ones came from poundland) carving is quite easy and very satisfying when you have the end product. Your canvas is stunning and romantic – I will definitely by visiting your blog again! 🙂

    Reply

  29. Jacqueline
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 10:45:49

    Thank you Lynne for the lovely card and ribbon! I like how you used the stamp and the pretty papers. Very thoughtful of you.
    Jacqueline

    Reply

  30. Charlotte
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 09:28:34

    Lynne, this is gorgeous!!! I’m all ready for a romantic getaway – love your little story, very evocative:-) What a lovely give-away, though I don’t know how you can bear to part with it??!! But please put my name in the hat, this is one give away I’d love!

    Charlotte x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

