Dripping With Jewels

Well a girl can dream LOL.
September’s DT package was my final package for my term with The Altered Element although I am delighted to be staying on in a different capacity as an Honorary DT member.
When I received a papier-mache torso in my September DT package I knew that I would make a jewellery stand. Although I have made a practical item the torso lends itself to any type of art, you could have a dressmaker theme, fashion, futuristic, Steampunk, the ideas are endless.
Materials
Torso
Black organza ribbon
Mod Podge
Staz-on Timber Brown
Scroll stamp
Beaded fringe
recycled items – children’s building block, piece of wooden rod, gold tissue paper, top from a perfume bottle.


Instructions I started by drilling a hole into the building block and inserting a piece of wooden rod. Under the base of the torso I created a “shoulder” from a piece of wood, drilling a hole into the middle and then inserting the other end of the rod. I used Hard As Nails glue on both ends. After preparing the torso with Gesso I stamped gold tissue with a scroll stamp and Staz-on in Timber Brown.
Using Mod Podge I adhered the tissue paper. Alternatives to gold tissue would be serviettes (napkins), white tissue stamped, newspaper or simply painting. For the rod and block I applied Gesso then mixed Old Gold and Copper acrylics. To add texture I used a heat gun to create “bubbles”  then stamped the same scroll design.

To the top of the torso I added the top from my Lulu Guinness perfume bottle!! Silicone glue is strong enough to adhere this. Once everything was dry I glued a length of beaded fringe to the torso and the final touch, black organza ribbon tied at the waist.

A little note about the beautiful cream pearl bead and organza ribbon necklace. My friend Jack made that with her own fair hands and it was a birthday present. Recognise the name? This is the same Jack who made the ever so naughty and equally funny book about me, entitled “The Secret Life of LM”.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jingle
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 16:13:26

    This is seriously gorgeous!

    Reply

  2. Kim Dellow
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 16:25:58

    Oh my goodness! I love it! Kim

    Reply

  3. craftytrog
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 16:32:12

    Fabulous! Great tutorial too Lynne! x

    Reply

  4. Annette
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 16:41:52

    Its totally beautiful. Annette x

    Reply

  5. PetraB
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 20:25:23

    Seriously gorgeous, the ribbons from Jack are stunning. They work so perfectly well with the torso.

    Reply

  6. Cynthia Schelzig
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 20:38:30

    Gorgeous!! Amazing what you create!!!

    Reply

  7. Penny
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 00:39:06

    Wonderful, Lynne! I’m so partial to flourish and scroll stamps – they always add that extra something to a piece. Is this the one from Crafty Individuals? I love that one. Glad we’ll still be seeing altered projects by you – you create fantastic ones!!

    Reply

  8. 2amscrapper
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 03:43:41

    wow–she’s really dressed in style!

    Reply

  9. Hazel
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 08:57:18

    Gorgeous!! I love it.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  10. Jack
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 10:08:36

    Wow Lynne, this is a beautiful jewellery stand and my old necklace looks really classy on it.
    xx

    Reply

  11. Nancy Maxwell James
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 10:17:57

    this is gorgeous! I love the swirled/flourish background you used for the bodice! lovely and elegant!

    Reply

  12. Karen McAlpine
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 11:28:32

    Hi Lynne, this project is so very cool. Love how you layered on the tissue paper…what a great effect. Beautiful necklace too.

    Reply

  13. Crafty Dawn
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 12:13:04

    Luuuuvelly lol

    Love Dawn xx

    Reply

  14. thefrugalcrafter
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 14:50:19

    wow, stunning, the white pearl ribbon necklase is so pretty!

    Reply

  15. Ira
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 15:35:49

    Oh I just love dressforms Lynne! Yours is very pretty, great colours!

    Reply

  16. Marie
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 18:53:56

    Hi Lynne,
    your dressform is absolutely beautiful!!Love it.
    Have a great day.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

