She Will Bewitch You

It is interesting how Hallowe’en has changed dramatically, in Scotland, most definitely influenced by America. Let me take you on a trip down Memory Lane. When I was a child (no sniggering please!!) turnips were used to create lanterns, as you can imagine, much harder work than using a pumpkin!. At Primary School, on the day of Hallowe’en or the day nearest, teachers would organise some Hallowe’en fun. We would dress up in our finest Hallowe’en costumes and play games such as dooking for apples and there would be treats such as monkey nuts and toffee apples (a Dentist’s nightmare!).  Early evening in my home my Mum would organise more fun and then it would be time to go “guising”, which was our equivalent to Trick or Treating.  Whoever you visited would ask for a party piece, such as reciting a poem, joke or suchlike. I was an incredibly shy child so I was not keen on any of this lol, in fact my Dad would come with me.  Today Hallowe’en is much more of a marketing opportunity but I probably view Hallowe’en of my childhood days with a touch of nostalgia. I wonder if that is a sign of getting old LOL.


My second Hallowe’en posting this weekend is a card which uses a non-Hallowe’en image. She is from a set called “A Scandalous Beauty” but don’t you think she could pass as a Goth?The base is artist canvas sheet painted cream then I stamped a scroll design. The woman is layered onto torn scrim, a Laura Ashley rub-on above the image, black lace flower and some black gems.

Finally, at this time of the year I love to re-visit Rabbie Burns’ “Tam o’Shanter“. Many of you will be familiar with this poem but if not or if it has been a number of years since you last read it then the link above will take you to this poem. Happy Hallowe’en. Lynne x

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Crafty Dawn
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 12:14:46

    I really like the canvass card she looks very miserable, I don’t know about a beauty ;0)Bit am loving the canvass your using is it studio sticky canvass?

    Have a wonderful week end

    Love Dawn xx

    Reply

  2. craftytrog
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 12:20:25

    I’m not a celebrator of this day, but I do appreciate the beauty of your piece Lynne! She does look a bit goth-like! The lace flower is beautiful.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  3. Nancy Maxwell James
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 12:31:44

    A Scandalous Beauty indeed! I love your collage piece and reading about turnips (isn’t that what Oor Wullie used?) and of course Rabbie Burns. I have never read Tam O’Shanter (is that where long legged beasties comes from?) but must. I hope you have a spooktacular Halloween m’dear! xoxo

    Reply

  4. Cynnie
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 12:43:00

    wonderful creation as always…just beautiful!!

    Reply

  5. Chris
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 13:25:54

    She definitely looks like a goth :o) Love your background again, Lynne.

    Crikey, you made me feel old, bringing back my schoolday memories of apple bobbing and the like.

    Chris x

    Reply

  6. 2amscrapper
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 14:46:20

    Thoroughly enjoyed the poem and your childhood recollections. Yes, the eye makeup makes her look goth. Another lovely creation from you. You’ve actually inspired me to buy some cheesecloth in order to attempt this wispy vintage look. Helene aka 2amscrapper

    Reply

  7. Marie
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 14:52:01

    Absolutely beautiful! Have a great Halloween!
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  8. Martina
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 15:22:21

    Love your piece and that image is just adorable!
    Happy Halloween, dear Lynne!

    Reply

  9. Lynn Stevens
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 17:40:29

    Wow I can’t even imagine have to carve a turnip!!!
    I really enjoyed reading about your Halloween as a child, having to recite a poem or tell a joke? gosh we had it easy here! Trick or Treat was pretty easy to remember.
    A beautiful goth image on your canvas.
    Happy Halloween!

    Reply

  10. Hazel
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 17:52:37

    Another beautiful creation Lynne, great image.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  11. Ira
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 09:16:30

    Wonderful piece of art again Lynne!! Ira

    Reply

  12. Susan Allan
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 09:44:56

    I do think she could pass for a Goth, it is those eyes!
    Using canvas works really well, Lynne.
    Have a great week
    Sue xx

    Reply

  13. Lucy Edmondson
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 13:14:57

    This is a beautiful card and the image is perfect for the occasion! I enjoyed your nostalgic story. Just got home and was listening to the radio in the car and they were talking about the history and traditions. One thing though, when you were at school how did you fit the Turnips into the matchboxes you used for collecting things?!!

    Lucy x

    Reply

  14. Jack
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 17:24:50

    Brilliant Lynne – and yes, she definitely looks Goth to me. Thanks to the link to the poem too.
    BTW on Countryfile yesterday they said we always used turnips or swedes until it caught on in America and they sent pumpkins over here. xx

    Reply

  15. michele
    Nov 03, 2010 @ 04:47:48

    i love the card but i really love hearing your childhood story. thanks for sharing that. also, i love tam o’shanter! a great reminder of a wonderful poem. xo

    Reply

  16. Penny
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 18:03:56

    Loved your recollections, Lynne. Can’t quite envision carving a turnip – hope it was a big one… I’ve never eaten or used one. In Maine they are a part of a traditional Thanksgiving dinner, but I’ve yet to place one on my menu. I love the stamping on the fabric, and I agree that she would make a good Goth!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

