Gift Wrapped

The idea behind this pillow box came from old movies where the women always carry beautifully wrapped packages. In their world items were always gift wrapped in the store, either tucked inside beautiful boxes and extravagantly tied with yards of ribbon or packaged into gift bags with a froth of tissue paper.
 I can imagine this Flapper from The Stampsmith’s Flappers #1 strolling down 5th Avenue during a Christmas shopping outing to Saks and Macys, clutching a mass of bags and a pile of gift boxes in her arms. Actually, she probably has a suitor within reach to do all the carrying while she spends her time looking glamorous!
After making the pillow box from black cardstock I  added  gems. “Merry Christmas” I stamped onto translucent shrink plastic (available from The Altered Element). Added black glitter to the edges of the Flapper image, layered this onto silvery/white glitter cardstock and the final touch is an extravagant silvery/white organza bow which is attached to silver elastic (thanks Dot!).

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jo capper-sandon
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 16:55:39

    Oh I’d have loved to have lived during that era. A beautiful creation!

    Reply

  2. Lucy Edmondson
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 18:29:22

    Beautiful!

    Lucy x

    Reply

  3. JeanFB
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 18:37:25

    This is beautiful! And wouldn’t it be lovely to be able to shop like that in this era. I’ve got to say, I think it was also wonderful that everyone put such thought into gifts, so that one special gift, beautifully packaged, was enough make the recipient’s heart sing. Now all you see on TV are people rushing around trying to buy the largest number of items for the smallest price. *Sigh* I am an old-fashioned girl. Thanks for the dreamy post…. 🙂

    Reply

  4. craftytrog
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 18:42:22

    What a stunning gift pouch! The pink & black are a lovely combination Lynne! xx

    Reply

  5. michele
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 19:50:54

    ooh, gorgeous Lynne! the bow is splendid. xo

    Reply

  6. Gayle Page-Robak
    Nov 27, 2010 @ 20:21:16

    Very beautiful, Lynne. Love the elegance of your art piece. I love Stampsmith stamps and have a number of them. Have had their challenge icon on my blog for awhile and never have enough time to submit, but will surely do that soon. Be well, kind regards.
    Hugs, Gayle

    Reply

  7. Shar B
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 00:04:34

    Wonderful box! Love the flapper. You are right – I could totally see her on 5th Avenue!

    Reply

  8. Ira
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 00:21:18

    What a stunning gift wrap Lynne!! Love everything about it!! Ira x

    Reply

  9. Julie Forest
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 01:10:59

    Wow, Lynne! Absolutely gorgeous! What a fabulous idea for giving a gift card!! I think I’ll need to make a few of these for Christmas! Thanks for the fantastic gift wrap idea! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Shelly Schmidt
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 04:52:59

    It would be so delightful to have all of my purchased wrapped up so nicely like this- love that pretty bow! TFS

    Reply

  11. Marie
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 07:39:46

    Hi Lynn,
    yes, I can picture her too – walking down 5th Ave. doing some shopping.
    Beautiful!
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  12. Jack
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 14:44:30

    You just know there’s a little something from Dior in that box, lol. Gorgeous. xx

    Reply

  13. Debbie Kaste
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 15:40:22

    Love the box, Lynne! You used some of my favorite color combinations too. Just Beautiful!!!! This is right up my alley….. (It’s kind of a joke in our family that I love decorated boxes even more than the gift inside. One Christmas my brother gave me a stack of decorated interlocking boxes as a present and all I did was ohhh and ahhh over it. There were plenty of belly laughs over that one. Doesn’t take much to make this ol’ girl happy…lol!

    Reply

  14. Lynn Stevens
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 16:24:32

    Love your little story about shopping, And oh my she looks so pretty stamped in red, such a beautiful rich combination!

    Reply

  15. Crafty Dawn
    Nov 28, 2010 @ 17:56:35

    I totally agree! and such a lovely box. I am always afraid of black for some reason I really should give it a go. You always make things look so easy

    Love DAwn xx

    Reply

  16. Nancy Maxwell James
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 13:08:13

    this is stunning Lynne! I love the pink and black together and of course the gorgeous bling! I “wee” package will be going out today in the mail…a journey to Scotland…keep your eyes peeled m’dear! Hope you have a wonderful week!

    Reply

  17. trisha too
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 17:41:49

    She’s gorgeous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

