Royal Stamp of Approval

One of the many things I love about Divas D’Este is their wide range of subject matter for their collage sheets (CS). Looking at their themes I am sure they have every subject covered.
When Divas D’Este’s sent me Women In Art CS I remembered I had a long  canvas (size approx 12″ x 4″) and that three of the images from the CS would work well on this shape. I enlarged the CS prior to printing onto regular glossy photo paper.
All of the images were edged with gold acrylic paint. Various colours and types of paints were applied to the canvas. I didn’t want a single dense colour so it was a matter of applying colour, removing some with baby wipes and gradually applying other colours. Some of the paints/stains  used were pure gold acrylic, Plum Walnut Tintz, copper acrylic, pink acrylic, Lumiere metallic bronze, then more gold acrylic. I didn’t wait for the individual paints to dry, merely applied, removed some of the paint and applied more!
Once satisfied with the colour I stamped directly onto the canvas and added metal flakes (“Sunshine”) randomly to the canvas.
With such images you could have an absolute ball embellishing them, acrylic gems, flat back pearls, German Scrap, etc could be applied over the jewels in the images but I wanted to leave them unadorned and merely added lace to the middle image.

On receiving Women In Art CS I knew it would be a challenge as the images are not my normal style but I had so much fun making this altered canvas.

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marie
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 14:35:23

    Hi Lynn,
    what a gorgeous start to the New Year! Love it. The background is just perfect. Stunning work!!
    Have a lovely day.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  2. Crafty Dawn
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 14:40:58

    Hi Hun,
    Happy new year my friend. I haven;t been around much have I? well now Christmas is over I will be around much more

    I think you have done a fabulous job on the canvass loving all the paints you have used they really do make it look rich which is so apt for the mages as they look like princesss or queens another wonderful job hun

    Love Dawn xx

    Reply

  3. Lucy Edmondson
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 14:50:23

    I love this, yes it is different to your normal style but you have achieved a beautiful result. I am very impressed with these images and will have to see more!

    Lucy x

    Reply

  4. Karen McAlpine
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 14:52:02

    Hi Lynne,
    Love what you did with the canvas background. gorgeous!! Hope your Holidays were great. I have not been by lately to say hello. I cut done a bit on commenting when my husband was diagnosed with cancer in November. He has two weeks left of treatments and feels rotten. Have been spending more time with him.

    Reply

  5. Kim B
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 14:55:00

    Those look great! Happy 2011.

    Reply

  6. Diane
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 15:00:57

    Very beautiful!

    Reply

  7. Jingle
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 15:14:56

    This is so gorgeous! I really love the gold around the edges! Beautiful work!

    Reply

  8. Annette G
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 15:16:36

    Hi Lynne
    I love it, so gorgeous.
    Annette x

    Reply

  9. craftytrog
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 15:27:11

    Fabulous! Your background looks so rich & beautiful Lynne!
    Hope you had a good Christmas, Happy New Year!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  10. Ira
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 16:09:30

    What a totally regal creation Lynne!! Love it!! Ira x

    Reply

  11. Lynn Stevens
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 16:47:55

    Lynne its so rich and regal. Love all the gold and I bet its even more gorgeous in person!

    Reply

  12. Terry
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 16:51:16

    Lynne, beautiful way to start the New Year! I am always amazed by your gorgeous art! Love the gold touches!

    Reply

  13. Chris
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 18:47:34

    Oh Lynne, what a beautiful background you created. Just right for these regal looking ladies. Beautiful piece of artwork.

    Chris x

    Reply

  14. Debbie Kaste
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 22:16:54

    Just stunning, Lynne. You did a wonderful job with this piece!
    – DebbieK x

    Reply

  15. michele
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 03:31:16

    this is stunning Lynn and i’m so glad you described your process yet again. i feel i could maybe do such a thing myself! the colors are so rich and beautiful. love this! xo

    Reply

  16. Dot Arnott
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 11:35:04

    Amazing as usual Lynne.

    Dotxx

    Reply

  17. Jack
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 15:24:35

    Stunning, elegant, beautiful. xx

    Reply

  18. PetraB
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 20:03:50

    A stunning canvas, love the painting and golden flakes.

    Reply

  19. june
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 22:00:05

    Absolutely Gorgeous art work Lynne
    I just came to say Happy New Year and I have added your beautiful work to the Dezinaworld website gallery here http://dezinaworld.weebly.com/gallery.html
    hugs June x

    Reply

  20. JeanFB
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 01:49:40

    Wow, Lynne, this is gorgeous! I love how your background turned out, so much depth and richness, and the images are gorgeous! I’m off to check out their site…. 🙂

    Reply

  21. Penny
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 03:03:17

    Wonderful job with these images, Lynne! You created a perfect background canvas for them; I love the worn parts. Even though you’re out of your comfort zone, you still create fantastic pieces!

    Reply

  22. Shelley
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 19:30:18

    Beautiful. It’s an amazing piece of artwork!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

