The Elopers

It is such an honour to be invited to be the February Artist In Residence for French Kissed Postcards, following on the heels of the immensely talented Penny Bennington. Many of you will be aware of French Kissed Postcards (FKP)but if this name is new to any of you let me tell you a little bit about FKP. Trishia’s passion is vintage postcards which she restores and sells digitally at her Zibbet store (badge on my sidebar will take you directly to her store). She gives detail such as the origin of the postcard and also any information such as what may have been written on the rear of the postcards. All of which creates a sense of history when you purchase the image.
Each Friday, for the month of February, this spot will be for projects created for FKP which Trishia will also show on her Blog.
As love is in the air I have decided to kick my AIR spot off with a whimsical Valentine’s Day project, a 7″x5″ altered canvas.  This image is called Couple in fake hot air balloon. What appeals to me is the expression on their faces! If you take the time to click the link it will take you directly to the image at Trishia’s Zibbet store where you will be able to read some information on this postcard. I introduce you to Henri and Gertrude, The Elopers. Here they are drifting above the sights of Paris as they start their new life together. Gertrude clutching balloons in celebration, although you would never guess it from the look on her face!

I particularly like to flip a canvas over and work with the recess, creating an inexpensive shadowbox. The image was re-sized and printed onto glossy photo paper.  If you compare to the actual postcard you can see that I have cut around the balloon and couple. It is time consuming but if you plan to do so it is worth taking the time and not rushing the job. Once cut out I edged with Distress Ink in Vintage Photo and a touch of charcoal, this rids the unsightly white edges.  I wanted a sense that they were suspended and by cutting around the image I was able to tuck the uppermost part of the balloon under the flap of the canvas, creating a lovely sense of movement in the image.

Inside the recess is a vintage Paris postcard which I scanned and printed onto white cardstock to which I added Distress Inks.
Each Monday Trishia has a free image up for grabs on her Blog, I used one such image (Eiffel Tower with text) around the edges of the canvas. This I re-sized to A4, printed onto copier paper and after distressing added to the edges of the canvas to which I layered sheer fabric. This was to tie in with a sense of fluidity, the sheer fabric creating a softness to the canvas but doesn’t obscure the text.Their worldly possessions are packed within two suitcases and as you can see, they have written letters explaining their actions to the families they have left behind.
This image was pure fun to work with. Although I have used it for a Valentine project there is lots of scope for its use:- an anniversary card or a Bon Voyage card and imagine the fun adding funny quotes. I know you will have lots of fun with this image. Lynne x

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. craftytrog
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 12:12:07

    Brilliant artwork Lynne! Looks to me as though she’s a bit worried about hitting the top of the Eifel Tower! xx

    Reply

  2. Jan Hennings
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 12:16:33

    LOVE this! So unique 🙂

    Reply

  3. Junie
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 12:51:41

    OH WOW WOW WOW WOW this is just amazing !!! I love your work !!!

    Reply

  4. Lucy Edmondson
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 13:03:25

    This is absolutely superb, Lynne,

    Lucy x

    Reply

  5. Ira
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 13:26:19

    You turned this postcard into a real French adventure Lynne! Just look at their little suitcases, this is going to be one romantic elopement, that’s for sure! TFS, have a great weekend, Ira x

    Reply

  6. Jingle
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 13:29:46

    This is so pretty! I love the feeling of adventure it has! Love it!

    Reply

  7. crafty dawn
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 14:00:05

    Lots of work and I love Paris, say no more

    Love Dawn xx

    Reply

  8. Debbie Kaste
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 14:10:53

    Oh my gosh Lynne! This is soooooooooo dang cute! I just love, love, love it. I think this is your BEST piece yet. It makes me chuckle to see Gertrude’s expression. What a masterpiece…..FKP has some awesome images and an extremely talented artist-in-resident to boot!!!

    Reply

  9. Lili Sulastri Zainal Abidin
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 14:24:46

    Lovely design.

    Reply

  10. Robin
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 15:04:49

    Awesome piece Lynne!

    Hugs,
    Robin

    Reply

  11. Jack
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 16:20:19

    Stunning canvas, you always put such details into your work. Unlike you I can’t turn a canvas over, I find it hard not to use the ‘proper’ side, lol. xx

    Reply

  12. Marie
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 17:45:16

    Hi Lynne,
    this is totally awesome!! Love it.What a masterpiece.
    Have a wonderful weekend.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  13. Susan Allan
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 18:41:34

    http://awhimsicalbohemian.typepad.com/a_whimsical_bohemian/one-world-one-heart-1.html

    Hi Lynne
    It is not to late. The link is here but easier to go to my post and click on the highlighted words within the text.

    I love this piece you have done, they look so real; let’s hope they don’t have too may guilty feelings about their elopement.

    Flying is so romantic at least it was when aviation began and to fly a balloon with the air rushing around must be exhilarating.

    Sue xx

    Reply

  14. Susan Allan
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 18:43:04

    Now that I have posted the comment, the link works…takes you straight to Lisa’s blog where are the directions are.

    Have fun
    Sue xx

    Reply

  15. Lynn Stevens
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 19:14:26

    Love it Lynne, So creative and yes she dosent look to happy, maybe it was an arranged marriage , LOL
    hugs Lynn

    Reply

  16. herminesplace
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 20:59:48

    Totally Awesome

    Reply

  17. cockney blonde
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 22:06:48

    Fab artwork Lynne. Love how you’ve created the feeling of depth.
    Thanks for your lovely comments on my Prince Charming, lol. They only came through the once, x

    Reply

  18. michele
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 22:12:19

    this is truly wonderful. i do so love the balloons that she is holding! such a sweet and amusing piece!

    Reply

  19. PetraB
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 23:08:28

    This is terrific, absolutely stunning. It also made me smile because the couple doesn’t seem to be quite sure what to make of their adventure (lol).

    Reply

  20. Julie Forest
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 04:51:20

    Oh, Lynne, this is fabulous!!! I love their expressions (or lack thereof) – hahaha! I love the effect you’ve gotten from cutting them out and suspending them over the city – wow – very cool! Fabulous art, as always! 🙂

    Reply

  21. Martina
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 13:18:28

    Marvelous Lynne, oh my gosh what can I say !!!
    What an gorgeous art. I just love everything about it. Beautifully created. How clever you are my friend.

    Have a nice weekend.
    Hugs
    MARTINA xxx

    Reply

  22. Julia - Vintage with Laces
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 16:49:40

    This is so cool, Lynne! I love it!
    Have a wonderful weekend!
    Hugs,
    Julia

    Reply

  23. Penny
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 04:24:00

    FANTASTIC Lynne!!!! I absolutely love what you’ve done with Henri and Gertrude from all your attention to details and your imaginative story. Well done my friend 🙂

    Reply

  24. Dot Arnott
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 15:06:45

    Just visited Trishia Zibbet’s Store. Amazing what you can do with old postcards, so clever.
    The outfits that Henri and Gertrude are wearing remind me of old photographs of my Granny and Granddad.

    Dotxx

    Reply

  25. Jann
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 17:46:22

    this is just wonderful! I love all of your art–I’ve been enjoying reading your posts!

    Reply

  26. A Rose Without A Thorn
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 23:36:28

    I just wanted to say how much I enjoyed the image of the elopers. I hope that they are not beginning to doubt their love and their impulsiveness. You are upto a great start in the world of Altered Art, one of life’s great joys!

    Also a happy helllo to you in Scotland, I am an Anglophile currently living in sunny Florida. I hope you do not have too much snow and that spring will soon be around the corner.

    Happy creating, Maureen……

    Reply

  27. Hazel
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 14:46:58

    This is fantastic Lynne. I hope Henri and Gertrude are happy together.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

