Flora

Yesterday I spent a relaxing afternoon working on a lace fabric collage. This collage is one of the projects included in the on-line class, Smitten, run by Nancy Maxwell James. As mentioned in previous posts connected with Smitten, Nancy gives us the tutorials which we can follow to the letter or use as a source of inspiration, allowing us lots of freedom.
I always like selecting the image first and then make my choice of papers or in this instance, fabrics. The image I picked is one I have used many times before but never on fabric.
 This collage is a mix of machine and hand sewing. When I say machine, my trusty little handheld sewing machine gadget. I prefer to leave threads hanging loose, in fact I tend to give them a tug to emphasise them because it suits the shabby chic/vintage style. The image was transferred onto fabric (recycled curtain lining) and layered onto beautiful floral fabric. This fabric lace collage is a mix of the old and new. This trim has been in my stash for several months. As it is vintage I was waiting for a special project. I am becoming a bit of a hoarder, especially with anything old or what are in my eyes “precious” so I am now telling myself that I must use these items. Trying to convince myself that there will be more pleasure from seeing them incorporated into a piece of art. Then again, I like to keep bits ‘n’ bobs in jars and have them there merely to look at.  I have no doubt I am not alone in this, anyone like to confess?!The oval button was one discovered in the button box  which once belonged to my Great Aunt and the two smaller buttons were gifted from Marie.  Marie sent a delightful little bag crammed with buttons several months ago yet it is only now that I have actually willed myself into using them.
If you look at the main photograph you will see that I used a small piece of lace to decorate the bottom of the collage, gathering it ever so slightly and seam binding used to create the hanging.
Smitten class is officially finished but I still have one final project to complete. Nancy put so much work into this on-line class that she also included extra project tutorials which I plan to work on as well, so plenty of projects to occupy my time.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annette G
    Mar 05, 2011 @ 20:00:26

    Hi Lynne, I adore your chintzy hanging, the materials blend so beautifully and such a gorgeous image. Have a great weekend. Annette x

    Reply

  2. Robin
    Mar 05, 2011 @ 21:04:08

    Another stunning and beautiful piece Lynne! Fantastic image and colors, so very shabby chic!! I tend to have a hard time using those things that I love and hoard as well, at least I’m not alone 🙂

    Reply

  3. crafty dawn
    Mar 05, 2011 @ 21:05:20

    Bless, having jars of pretty things is a nice thing to have. But I do love to see them on your lovely projects like this one

    love Dawn xx

    Reply

  4. craftytrog
    Mar 05, 2011 @ 23:02:07

    Stunning piece Lynne, I adore those beautiful buttons! x

    Reply

  5. Katie
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 00:23:46

    It is lovely and yes! I do have pieces of lace and what nots around simply to adorn the jars and beautify my studio. I think you used yours well as this is gorgeous!

    Reply

  6. Marie
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 06:43:22

    Hi Lynne,
    love your fabric collage, so beautiful! Glad you you could use the buttons.
    Have a lovely Sunday.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  7. Lynn Stevens
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 06:54:48

    O.K. I must confess. I to am a vintage horder! LOL, while I do try and use my stash, sometimes I pick something up and think oh I can’t put this on a card! I’ll save it for something else. LOL, I think we need a club- The Vintage Horders! If I don’t stop my family may need to do an intervention!!! LOL
    Beautiful hanging Lynne, I’m sure your sorry Nancy’s classes are over, they look like they were great fun!
    Hugs Lynn

    Reply

  8. Hazel
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 10:32:24

    I think this is gorgeous Lynne. Green and pink is my favorite colour combination, love the lace, buttons, in fact I love everything.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  9. Julia - Vintage with Laces
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 11:52:58

    That’s a very pretty collage, Lynne! You’ve used such lovely fabrics, laces and buttons.
    Have a nice Sunday afternoon!
    Hugs,
    Julia

    Reply

  10. Nancy Maxwell James
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 12:09:36

    Lynne
    your lace fabric collage is breath taking! I adore the sweet delicate fabrics you selected for this piece. They were made for the gorgeous photo you used. beautiful embellishments and the lace is heavenly! this is one lovely piece from a lovely lady!

    Reply

  11. Patricia
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 13:22:01

    I love this piece. It is so feminine and pretty. And you have forced me to admit that I am totally a hoarder! My house is filling up with anything that might possibly be used in my art. I no longer have a craft room, I have a craft house!

    Reply

  12. Jack
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 13:47:41

    Just beautiful! And no, definitely not! I never, ever hoard anything – ha ha ha! xx

    Reply

  13. Karen
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 14:06:43

    Such a pretty wallhanging!

    Reply

  14. 2amscrapper
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 18:12:30

    Whenever I come to your blog, I just “sigh” as your latest project is revealed to me. You do amazing work. I totally understand your hoarding of precious laces and buttons. But any project you do is worthy of them. Helene

    Reply

  15. Susan Allan
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 21:31:55

    A gorgeous creation, Lynne and the print fabrics are beautiful together!
    Sue xx

    Reply

  16. Lucy Edmondson
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 21:40:58

    I love this! Love the contrast of the strong pink with the lace,

    Lucy x

    Reply

  17. Sandi M
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 00:16:18

    This is so lovely, it just takes looking at over and over again. Sometimes doesn’t lovely just bring tears to your eyes? This is one of those bits of sweetness. Hoard? Make all sorts of excuses not to use some precious bit? Not me but I do often find that the bits I have are just NOT the ones to use on a project LOL

    Reply

  18. Susan Reaney
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 10:52:19

    This is so pretty. I have done some things that were similar for a swap project and enjoyed them tremendously. You put things together so well and my eyes are drawn to many places. I love that you recycled the shower curtain! I do things like that, too. This must have been a wonderful class and you have quite a talent for this form of art. I am glad I put you on my Google Reader!

    Fondly,
    Suz

    Reply

  19. Martina
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 20:21:41

    An exceptionally beautiful and artistic wallhanging, dear Lynne! Really terrific!

    Reply

  20. Penny
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 21:59:55

    Such a beautiful collage and I love the vintage feel of all your fabrics.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

