Flowers and Butterflies

When I first laid eyes on Sandra Everton’s dressform stamps I fell in love with them. I rarely purchase wood mounted stamps for various reasons:- they are far more expensive, storage and the style of stamps I prefer are purchased on unmounted plates but I knew with the Sandra Everton stamps I would never tire of them and their beauty. I am thrilled to pieces that the 3 cards submitted to Take Ten are published in the Spring issue. At the time of submitting I did not photograph the cards, only 3 poor quality scans so I made 2 cards in the style of those published, the same stamps and methods but with some variations.
They named the article ” Watercoloring with Ease” which is exactly what I was trying to convey with the submissions.On all cards I double stamped the image and layered to create dimension.I hold Stampington & co publications in such high regard which is why it is an honour to be published. In the early days of starting to stamp a friend showed me copies of The Stampers’ Sampler and Take Ten. I was amazed that there were such publications, more likened to art books than magazines.
A pressed flower was added to the bodice of the dressform.

32 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lucy Edmondson
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 14:43:17

    Absolutely glorious! And big congratulations! Alison brought Stampers Sampler to show me yesterday and I thought it was superb. I was thinking how nice some of the Sandra Everton designs in there were,

    L x

    Reply

  2. Karen McAlpine
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 14:51:42

    Hi Lynne, I saw your cards in Take Ten!! They are so beautiful!!! Congrats. I’m in that issue too. This collection of cards is even more spectacular!! Have a great day.

    Reply

  3. alma
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 15:14:18

    beautiful card I love how you have coloured them beautiful indeed

    Reply

  4. Ira
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 15:56:59

    Congrats on being published! Those stamps remain beautiful, love how you used them in your cards!

    Reply

  5. Sandi
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 16:42:36

    Congratulations Lynne! For creating such beauty and then being chosen to share in “Take Ten”! I consider the magazines art books also and pore through the ones I have often. I am also thrilled “to know” someone who has been published!

    Reply

  6. craftytrog
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 16:45:57

    I absolutely love these cards Lynne! They’re stunning! Must try & get a copy of the magazine, congratulations! xx

    Reply

  7. Jack
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 16:46:47

    You were so right to buy these stamps, they are just absolutely gorgeous. And as usual you have done a fantastic job with them. Congratulations on being published again. xx

    Reply

  8. Lynn Stevens
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 17:05:17

    Ohhhh Lynne your watercolor cards have such a soft delicate look and so perfect with those stamps, A BIG CONGRATS on having Three of your cards published!!!!
    Hugs Lynn

    Reply

  9. Shelly Schmidt
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 17:14:02

    Congrats! Gorgeous card- beautiful colors, I love the image and love all of the pretty butterflies!

    Reply

  10. Susan Allan
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 17:16:23

    Congratulations, Lynne. They are really beautiful!

    Sue xx

    Reply

  11. Annette G
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 18:05:10

    Congratulations Lynne, how brilliant for you. Loving your cards, can see why you had to have that stamp. Annette x

    Reply

  12. cgra
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 18:31:38

    Beautiful cards!! Congratulations on being published!

    Reply

  13. Julia - Vintage with Laces
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 18:46:45

    Congratulations on being published again, Lynne!!! That’s great! I love both of your gorgeous cards. They have such a wonderful spring feeling.
    Hugs to you,
    Julia

    Reply

  14. Beverly G
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 19:06:50

    You are so right on liking them to art books–great honor and big Congrats on getting published, these are beauties, love the tag at the waist of the first one.

    Reply

  15. crafty dawn
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 19:17:06

    I love these stamps and how you use them to. D x

    Reply

  16. Martina
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 20:22:39

    Congratulations, Lynne. They are really wonderful!

    Reply

  17. caz
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 21:17:51

    really beautiful i have two of these stamps i adore them you have done beautiful work with these two love the wateroolour finish and the layering.x

    Reply

  18. CarolQ
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 21:28:29

    just gorgeous Lynne. love the dimensional effect you’ve achieved and your delicate colouring.

    Reply

  19. Penny
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 22:01:49

    Simply elegant! Congratulations on your two pages in Take Ten! Your cards are wonderful, not just the softness of the watercolours on the dress forms, but you’ve achieved such beautiful effects with your background wash – love them all!!

    Reply

  20. Marie
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 06:12:25

    Hi Lynne,
    beautiful and elegant!! Congratulations on being published that is wonderful.
    Have a great day.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  21. michele
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 07:02:30

    gorgeous how the flowers and butterflies are integrated into the dress form!xo

    Reply

  22. Sharon
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 10:48:35

    Wow they look fantastic!! I just love what you have done!

    Reply

  23. thefrugalcrafter
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 13:29:30

    these are beautiful! Congrats! I can’t believe they took 10 minutes, WTG Lynne!

    Reply

  24. Hazel
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 16:14:12

    Gorgeous cards Lynne, I have one of these stamps – must make more use of it.
    Congratulations on being published again.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  25. ArtSnark
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 16:17:20

    Congratulations! Love what you have done with that gorgeous stamp

    Reply

  26. Cathy
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 16:47:46

    Congratulations on being published. That’s wonderful and the cards are beautiful.

    Reply

  27. Susan Reaney
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 03:20:01

    Those are beautiful, lynne. This is pretty funny because I was just looking at that article on Postscript and wondering what “Stamping with Ease” was about and wanting to do it! I also was just looking at the Sandra Evertson stamps and thinking how much I would love them but they are so darn expensive!!!
    I truly love what you did with them, especially the flow of colors in the last one. I can’t wait to see your article (and I think I need some SE stamps for myself!!!

    Fondly,
    Suz

    Reply

  28. Shar B
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 14:15:14

    Fabulous flights of fancy and fashion! Love them!

    Reply

  29. JeanFB
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 21:16:38

    These are positively gorgeous, Lynne, and congrats on the publication! I have been admiring these stamps for a long time, and like you, I pause at the cost and bulk of wood-mounted stamps. But after seeing your beautiful creations, I think I may have to treat myself. These are so stunning!

    Reply

  30. Julie Forest
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 06:53:59

    Oh, Lynne! These are gorgeous!! Congratulations on your publication!! I’m not at all surprised – you are so talented!! 🙂

    Reply

  31. Cynthia Schelzig
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 20:32:00

    Yes, I just saw the article today…as my DH just returned from the USA and he had ART MAGAZINES for me….I hit paydirt,,,yipeee but there I was paging through TAKE TEN and there you were. Excellent article and beautiful pieces too. Congrats!

    Reply

  32. Trishia Jacobs
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 03:16:48

    Belated congratulations! Gorgeous stamp and your treatment of it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

