A Souvenir From Paris

The altered box I am sharing brings together two favourite topics of mine …… pink and Paris! I never need an excuse to use pink or to add a touch of Paris to my artwork but this was made with two link parties in mind, Pink Saturday and a new link party on the block, Link Party Paris Simply Irresistible. If these names are new to you let me tell you that today is a special day for both. Over at Pink Saturday, Beverley is celebrating 3 years! I wish I could say I’ve been part of this since day one but I am very, very new to this link party and the person I have to thank is Cindy Adkins. Simply Irresistible is celebrating the City of Lights.  This is Anita’s baby. She wants us to celebrate every aspect of Paris whether it be food, poetry, photography, special memories and of course artwork. Click the above links to take you to each link party.
Onto the altered box. This was a brightly patterned box where I stored my Caran D’ache watersoluble crayons (H 2.5″ x L 6″ x W 3.5″), a box I had intended on altering for sometime so this was the perfect opportunity. Immediately I knew I would be using one of the most adorable images I’ve come across which is available from Trishia at French Kissed Postcards called Paris Souvenir Victorian Child.
A postcard was another addition I wanted on this box so by printing Paris Souvenir Victorian Child   onto a transparency I was able to layer it onto a vintage postcard.No, don’t worry I didn’t use the original postcard, I scanned and re-sized the vintage postcard (also from Trishia) using only the postcard back. Normally at this stage I would reach for my Vintage Photo ink pad but to keep with the pink theme I used Victorian Velvet to ink the edges of the postcard.
The photograph below is a detail of the edge of the box. Lots of tearing, inking and gluing required for this project but that is my idea of relaxation.Text from a French book and piece of text from Divas D’Este’s French Receipts and Script. Once dry I randomly sponged Victorian Velvet onto the text then added two types of lace to the sides of the box. The broad lace was adhered to the rim of the lid. By slightly overhanging  the lace it creates the pretty border around the image on the lid .Beautiful alphabet stickers spell out “Paris”, using silicone glue to give them dimension.
For a friend’s birthday, back in March, I used this same image for a birthday card.This time it was printed onto regular photo paper and teamed up with K&co papers. To tie in with the Parisian theme I stamped images directly onto the paper (from various Oxford Impressions plates). A favourite “Paris” stamp was used to stamp onto the ribbon prior to scrunching.
When you visit Trishia’s Zibbet store and also her Blog her passion for postcards shines through. Every Monday she is generous enough to provide a free image for use in your artwork. Lynne x

85 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. valerie.Jael
    May 27, 2011 @ 17:56:07

    Beautiful work Lynne, very Paris, romantice, tres chic! Happy Pink Saturday! Valerie

    Reply

  2. Shelly Schmidt
    May 27, 2011 @ 18:23:50

    Beautiful!

    Reply

  3. JeanFB
    May 27, 2011 @ 18:59:48

    These are just darling!!! I love that image, and the way you’ve layered her as a transparency, with the adorable letter stickers for “Paris”, is just exquisite. I love the paper print card as well. Gorgeous!

    Reply

  4. Charlotte
    May 27, 2011 @ 19:29:42

    Love the Paris inspired objects. Just beautiful.
    Happy Pink Saturday.
    Charlotte

    Reply

  5. dorthe
    May 27, 2011 @ 19:51:20

    Lynne this is beautiful, I so love the colors, and your stamp on the seambinding-the letter tags, and sweet girl running over the old postcard-sweeter than sweet!
    Also love your first one to your friend- I`m sure she loves it.
    Hugs, Dorthe

    Reply

  6. Ineke van den Akker
    May 27, 2011 @ 20:03:29

    Fantastic! Wishing it was mine!
    Happy Pink Saturday greetings from Holland,
    with love,
    Ineke

    Reply

  7. Terry
    May 27, 2011 @ 20:04:24

    Lynne, the little girl could not have a more sweeter face! One more time and I know not the last, you have graced us with exquisite beauty! Love these! Have a wonderful weekend!

    Reply

  8. Marjie Kemper
    May 27, 2011 @ 20:04:39

    Fabulous, Lynne! That little girl image is so whimsical it just makes me smile, and your colors and layers are as always stunning.

    Reply

  9. Holly
    May 27, 2011 @ 20:09:32

    Hi Lynn~
    Your work is so beautiful!! The colors and design are awesome. You definitely have an eye!
    Thank you for stopping by and I hope that you have a Happy Pink Saturday!

    Reply

  10. LaVoice
    May 27, 2011 @ 21:10:07

    A wonderful display of pink cards. Nicely done.

    Reply

  11. Dee
    May 27, 2011 @ 21:15:58

    My most favorite one so far. Beautiful and well thought out and PINK!

    Dee

    Reply

  12. Daniella
    May 27, 2011 @ 21:16:34

    Gorgeous!!! I love, love, LOVE them both!!
    I don’t know where to find this very generous person who gives away images every Monday!!

    And, Yes, I knew you were stampdiva! I always answer all of my comments, so I knew!!! And, you are a stamp diva! You do extraordinary things withstamps!!

    xxDaniella

    Reply

  13. Marilyn Rock
    May 27, 2011 @ 21:47:38

    I’m a huge fan of pink and your art work! Beautiful! xxoo

    Reply

  14. Charo
    May 27, 2011 @ 22:45:05

    So beautiful!

    Happy Pink Saturday!
    Hugs
    Charo

    Reply

  15. crafty dawn
    May 27, 2011 @ 22:57:56

    Love it Lynn and I will have to pop over to the French Paris Party You know how I adore anything FRENCH YUMMY! ;0)

    love Dawn xx

    Reply

  16. Annette G
    May 27, 2011 @ 23:29:33

    Beautiful work as always. Enjoy the weekend, Annette x

    Reply

  17. Sharon
    May 27, 2011 @ 23:36:15

    This is just beautiful Lynne!

    Reply

  18. Lynn @thevintagenest
    May 27, 2011 @ 23:36:31

    Whoever gets a card from you is a very lucky person!! It’s so pretty in pink. 🙂 HPS and Happy Irresistible Party. xo

    Reply

  19. Marie
    May 27, 2011 @ 23:47:20

    Hi Lynne,
    just beautiful as always:) Have a wonderful weekend.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  20. Marti
    May 27, 2011 @ 23:57:09

    Lynne, this piece is fabulous! Or should I say C’est Magnifique! I’m so excited to be planning a trip to Paris right now so I just love anything french and your artwork is just beautiful. Happy Pink Saturday! ~Marti

    Reply

  21. Nancy
    May 27, 2011 @ 23:57:40

    Love your work, Lynne. This is so pretty…and Pink too! Yay for pink and paris and parties. Have a wonderful weekend. xoxo Nancy

    Reply

  22. gerri herbst
    May 28, 2011 @ 00:48:17

    Exquiste! I think this is one of my favorite pieces. The brown transparinecy and the pink ribbon go together wonderfully. Love that image too. Another wonderful creation from a talented artist…you! take care, gerri

    Reply

  23. Terri Morse
    May 28, 2011 @ 03:23:27

    You’re artwork is absolutely beautiful! The ribbon you used is such a lovely shade of pink. Have a terrific weekend and Happy Pink Saturday! Hugs, Terri

    Reply

  24. Sarah Coller
    May 28, 2011 @ 03:46:08

    This is so gorgeous! I love brown and pink together…thanks for sharing!

    HaPpY pInK sAtUrDaY!
    Sarah

    Reply

  25. Cindy Adkins
    May 28, 2011 @ 03:46:49

    Dear Lynne,
    Happy Pink Saturday, my friend!! I hope you are having a beautiful weekend!
    I am trying to catch up with my blogging because I was gone all day and will be gone Saturday and Sunday too…we are going to look for things for my Etsy store, so that ought to keep me busy!!!
    XO
    Cindy

    Reply

  26. Ira
    May 28, 2011 @ 04:14:38

    Love love love this Lynne!! That image is too die for, you matched the colours perfectly, same goes for the stamps, another fabulous piece of art! Ira x

    Reply

  27. Julia - Vintage with Laces
    May 28, 2011 @ 05:01:15

    I love your tag and card, dear Lynne! Both are very sweet!
    Have a wonderful weekend :-)!
    Hugs to you,
    Julia

    Reply

  28. Diane
    May 28, 2011 @ 05:13:16

    Beautiful image made more beautiful by you. Just gorgeous!

    Reply

  29. craftytrog
    May 28, 2011 @ 05:22:55

    So beautiful! Such a sweet image! I love the stamped ribbon Lynne! x

    Reply

  30. michele
    May 28, 2011 @ 06:51:17

    this is so beautiful! xo

    Reply

  31. Cynthia Schelzig
    May 28, 2011 @ 06:53:02

    somehow pink and paris doooo really mesh don´t they. Another show stopping piece my dear……….oui,oui!

    Reply

  32. Tracy Evans
    May 28, 2011 @ 12:10:42

    Beautiful piece Lynne, I have been back twice to look at all the gorgeous details. I love all the layers, beautifully put together. Tracy x

    Reply

  33. Dot Arnott
    May 28, 2011 @ 12:23:23

    Absolutely gorgeous and so cute Lynne.

    Dotxx

    Reply

  34. Gabriela
    May 28, 2011 @ 12:50:20

    Happy Pink Saturday!

    Love what you made and the pink hues!

    ~ Gabriela ~

    Reply

  35. anita rivera
    May 28, 2011 @ 13:00:04

    AHHHH! I SEE that my link worked! Dearest, so sorry that your name did not appear this time; when I first made my draft, I know your name was there, but like I mentioned in my email, my list was lost in the Blogger meltdown and then to reconstruct it was a nightmare !!! SO BEAUTIFUL HERE! This is what I wanted…everyone to just express themselves and have fun. BISES! Anita

    Reply

  36. d e l i g h t
    May 28, 2011 @ 13:02:50

    Just loveley! I too love anything Pink or Paris.
    Linda

    Reply

  37. Gisèle
    May 28, 2011 @ 13:12:04

    The lucky little treasures that will get to be tucked away in this beautifully created box…I adore the sides with the french text and receipts and script and those two gorgeous laces….and love the alpha stickers…
    and that card…..what can I say ? pure bliss…She may have ” Milles bons
    souvenirs de Paris”, but I am starting to gather
    ” Milles bons souvenirs de Lynne”
    …Je t’embrasse ma chérie….xoxoox

    Reply

  38. melissa
    May 28, 2011 @ 13:19:45

    Oh my goodness, this is gorgeous!

    Reply

  39. Hazel
    May 28, 2011 @ 13:46:19

    Beautiful Lynne, the image is lovely.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  40. Emily@TheFrenchHutch
    May 28, 2011 @ 13:55:28

    Lynne, What a beautiful finished card, your tutorial is so well done I think I would attempt this. I love your blog, much the same love as I have for old vintage postcards, victorian photos. I am so happy to meet you, and I will visit often, I’m going subscribe so I’ll receive your new post……..Hope your holiday weekend is great.

    ~Emily
    The French Hutch

    Reply

  41. Pat
    May 28, 2011 @ 14:59:25

    Happy PS 3rd Birthday – there’s a lot to celebrate! This project is a beauty – well done!

    Reply

  42. Anne
    May 28, 2011 @ 15:06:19

    This project is B E A U T I F U L ! Love your artisitic genius! HPS to you! Love it! Anne

    Reply

  43. Girl in Pink
    May 28, 2011 @ 15:21:51

    Thank you for your sweet visit and thoughtful comment! I am completely smitten with your lovely box! Wow! I adore your style and appreciate how you shared with us the details of how you created your artwork! Thank you for the beautiful share! I will be back to visit again soon!
    Happy Pink Saturday!
    Best Wishes and Blessings,
    Amanda

    Reply

  44. Nancy at Linens and Laurel
    May 28, 2011 @ 15:21:58

    Wonderful! Happy Pink Saturday!

    Reply

  45. It's Me
    May 28, 2011 @ 16:40:42

    It is great to be with you in Paris darling….hope we meet again…..nice party from Anita…enjoying…love love ……bisous Ria…xxx…

    Reply

  46. rayanne
    May 28, 2011 @ 16:48:37

    Your artwork is very lovely! Joining in from Simply Irresistible by Anita.
    So good to meet you!

    Reply

  47. Tammy
    May 28, 2011 @ 16:51:45

    Hi Lynn!

    That is the most beautiful matchbox I have ever seen! You have inspired me to try making one of my own! Thank you so much for sharing and for your inspiration! Happy Pink Saturday!

    Love and Blessings!
    Tammy

    Reply

  48. Karena
    May 28, 2011 @ 16:53:41

    Absolutely beautiful!! I love your site!!

    xoxo
    Karena
    Art by Karena

    Reply

  49. Karena
    May 28, 2011 @ 16:54:41

    PS My post is finally up ( with blog problems) Come & Visit!

    xoxo
    Karena
    Art by Karena

    Reply

  50. Marilou Bain
    May 28, 2011 @ 17:02:55

    Hi Lynn, I think you can’t find a way to follow me because you have wordpress?? I subscribed to your mail and I’m leaving you a message. I think that is why I haven’t followed you either. Maybe put me on your blog roll if you would like to follow, otherwise I have no way of seeing you as follower. You don’t have to belong to Facebook. Happy Pink Saturday and your blog is beautiful and I love your work also. Happy upcoming Birthday!. Hugs Marilou

    Reply

  51. Nancy ~ Fete et Fleur
    May 28, 2011 @ 17:09:58

    This is a lovely piece of artwork. Old French postcards are a favorite of mine.

    Nancy

    Reply

  52. trisha too
    May 28, 2011 @ 17:30:09

    What pretty pieces–that postcard is charming! Thank you for stopping by and sharing your weekend with me!

    🙂

    Reply

  53. Nancy ~ Fete et Fleur
    May 28, 2011 @ 18:14:34

    I had to come back and tell you that adore Scotland! I visited years ago and had the best time. I hope to return someday.

    Have a Beautiful Day!
    Nancy

    Reply

  54. Jack
    May 28, 2011 @ 19:06:40

    Gorgeous box Lynne, and waht a cute image.
    Jack xx

    Reply

  55. deb famularo
    May 28, 2011 @ 19:07:18

    Bonjour Lynne! You do beautiful work!!!!!!! I’m a pink girl too, so I’m in love!!! au revoir…xOxO

    Reply

  56. Megan
    May 28, 2011 @ 20:08:14

    Lovely box! Pink and Paris go beautifully together!

    Reply

  57. Julie Campbell
    May 28, 2011 @ 21:04:57

    So lovely to meet you, Lynne! Your beautiful creation for our trip to Paris is just perfect–love it!

    Wishing you a wonderful weekend…

    Julie

    Reply

  58. Sarah
    May 28, 2011 @ 21:09:26

    Lovely piece! Happy Pink Saturday to you and all the best for a wonderful Memorial Day weekend. ~ Sarah

    Reply

  59. hi-d
    May 28, 2011 @ 21:20:43

    Beautiful postcard. So sweet!

    Reply

  60. my pink pretties
    May 28, 2011 @ 23:19:49

    Beautiful ideas and work. Glad I stopped by to meet you. Pink & Paris. I love this pairing. Did you happen to see Michael’s items on this theme? I was lucky to pick up a couple before they were snatched up. Maybe I’ll share them soon.

    Have a HPS

    LL

    Reply

  61. Classic Style Blog
    May 28, 2011 @ 23:29:44

    Bonjour , soooo charming and french !!
    Welcome visit me :)) //Marie

    Reply

  62. Classic Style Blog
    May 28, 2011 @ 23:31:59

    ..I had som HUGE prolems with Blogger lately so all my visitors has been connected to my testblog..thats sad :(( hope everything is correct now so you will be able to visit the right one//Marie

    Reply

  63. Victoria Sayer
    May 28, 2011 @ 23:58:05

    G’day Lynne!
    Your creative work is so beautiful. Just gorgeous, and very pink and Parisian.
    Thanks for sharing in such lovely detailed photos!
    ~Vicki

    Reply

  64. laura quaglia
    May 28, 2011 @ 23:58:32

    Wonderful ,Going to try and make some vintage looking Paris things .Hope mine cand be as nice. Laura

    Reply

  65. dana
    May 29, 2011 @ 00:56:44

    What a lovely project…..and what a great job you did detailing the steps to complete your work!!!

    Thank you for such a sweet Pink Share on Pink Saturday’s 3rd Birthday!!! Hope you are part of many, many more weekly gatherings!

    Have a great Pink Saturday….and Memorial Day!

    dana

    Reply

  66. Violet@CreateBeauty
    May 29, 2011 @ 01:17:41

    Gorgeous box!

    Lovely party : )

    ~ Violet

    Reply

  67. Carolyn
    May 29, 2011 @ 02:18:11

    Hi Lynn,

    It was lovely to discover you and your beautiful blog, via Anita’s Paris party.
    I love the gorgeous box you made and the image of the sweet girl is precious.

    Happy weekend
    Hugs
    Carolyn

    Reply

  68. 2amscrapper
    May 29, 2011 @ 02:34:05

    absolutely spectacular!

    Reply

  69. Rosie
    May 29, 2011 @ 05:19:40

    My Oh My, what a clever girl you are. This is a most C*H*A*R*M*I*N*G little box…one that you will enjoy for many days to come. Your world is WONDERfilled and oh so beautiful to stroll through. I LOVE that our dear Anita has been such a gracious hostess and thrown this party together for all us kindreds…for I too , swoon over PARIS and PINK. Well done…hugs Rosie

    Reply

  70. Cindy Swanson
    May 29, 2011 @ 05:36:48

    Talk about irresistable–that’s the word for your beautiful artwork! So glad I found your blog via Anita’s Paris Party. I’m in awe!

    Cindy @ Notes in the Key of Life

    Reply

  71. Sares @ Loveleigh Treasures
    May 29, 2011 @ 05:49:22

    Beautiful. I would say Paris and pink definitely are a match made in heaven. Happy Pink Saturday and have a great weekend!

    Reply

  72. Cindy Adkins
    May 29, 2011 @ 07:31:09

    Hi Lynn,
    When you have a chance, could you pop over to my blog for a sec? I hope you’re having a good weekend!
    XO
    Cindy

    Reply

  73. dorthe
    May 29, 2011 @ 07:35:34

    Hi dear, I just visited Cindy- and had to run here, to wish you a wonderful and happy birthday- hope your day is glad and joyfull.
    Hugs,Dorthe

    Reply

  74. Tiff
    May 29, 2011 @ 08:02:38

    Oh, your art is so gorgeous! How can you not love Paris! X

    Reply

  75. Beverly
    May 29, 2011 @ 13:15:15

    Happy Pink Saturday, Lynne. Even though you recently started participating, I appreciate you making this a special day.

    And, what could be better than pink and Paris? Your box is a gorgeous piece of art. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply

  76. Kristin
    May 29, 2011 @ 13:32:02

    How beautiful, Lynne! I love that card!!! Thanks for visiting me and what a lovely idea that Paris party was! Have a lovely Sunday!

    Bises, Kristin 🙂

    Reply

  77. Dot Hay
    May 29, 2011 @ 13:50:50

    This is absolutely gorgeous Lynne

    Reply

  78. Ruben
    May 29, 2011 @ 13:51:53

    Hi Lynn,
    Anita’s hubby here. This was such fun. So many nice and incredibly creative people. I love your altered art. Anita introduced me to it, and it virtually has no limits.
    Warmest regards
    Ruben

    Reply

  79. - hey bro! -
    May 29, 2011 @ 14:12:18

    Absolutely adorable and beautiful work! ^-^

    Reply

  80. Jacqueline
    May 29, 2011 @ 14:51:15

    Hi Lynne!
    Happy that you stopped by my Once Upon a Fairyland world. I have known Anita for a couple of years now and I’m also a writer on her blog Nowhere. I am Pippit Priceless and also a little hedgehog called Gretta from Gothere.
    Pretty work that you do. What an awesome tribute to Paris you have come up with. Fancy and free, I’m sure the best, is next to be!

    Reply

  81. Starr
    May 29, 2011 @ 18:02:46

    Lynne, again I’m in love with your latest project. You are so talented and await anxiously for your next project!

    Reply

  82. Penny
    May 29, 2011 @ 18:12:04

    Anything dripping with lace is just wonderful, Lynne and I love the effect of the transparency image over the script. Such an upscale up cycling for your box!

    Reply

  83. Spencer
    May 29, 2011 @ 19:12:49

    Lovely….

    Warm blessings,
    Spencer

    Reply

  84. AJ
    May 30, 2011 @ 04:27:08

    you are right, pink and paris is simply delightful… i cannot get enough… too cute..

    Reply

  85. Chris
    May 30, 2011 @ 06:07:21

    This is a beautifully transformed box, Lynne. The image is so sweet. Fabulous idea to use the transparency.

    My hubby saves his golf ball boxes for me so maybe I’ll get around to decorating one too. One day…… lol

    Chris x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

