You Are Invited To A Private Viewing In My Atelier

As they say, the party is over and you have showered me with amazing Birthday Wishes. Thank You.
It seems like such a long time since I last posted some artwork so I will make up for it with this post. All the artwork I am sharing was made months ago. No, I have no idea why I am only sharing it now!
Towards the end of last year when Suzanne at Oxford Impressions announced a new stamp set in the form of the Dressforms & Corsets set I immediately fell in love with it so you can imagine how thrilled I was to receive it as a complimentary set. Over the past few months I have used this set so many times, making bundles of cards, altered totes, tag art and worked on altered canvases.
Anyway, today there are two canvases and 3 cards using this set. The first canvas is a standard 7″x5″.  I’ve particularly enjoyed working with black and tan, the tan colour achieved through a mixture of tea baths and walnut ink solutions.
All of the stamps used are from this set, adding details such as buttons, measuring tape, a teeny spool where I inserted 3 pins and wrapped gingham ribbon around the spool. I always think gingham ribbon adds a particularly French touch.
At the same time I also altered a smaller canvas
On this canvas I used a couple of stamps from other Oxford Impressions’ sets.
When using tea baths and walnut inks I always make up batches of paper to have to hand, in this case watercolour paper.
By not fully inking up my stamp it gives a slightly faded look on the stained watercolour paper which in my mind is perfect for these cards.
Details added such as a tiny piece of lace attached to a mini safety pin. These are bought from the haberdashery department.
The final card in this trio
The snaps are also from the haberdashery department. It is amazing what can be discovered there, even in a small store and you find that they are far less expensive than the craft equivalent.
It will come as no surprise that I have more corset and dressform cards in the wings but will leave it a little while before I share. Tomorrow being the 1st of June sees the return of another challenge from The Stampsmith so I will return then to show you my DT sample. Lynne x

P.S. My friend Hazel is on a new DT called The Craft Room Challenge. Their first challenge is Anything Goes so I will enter my canvas into this challenge.

52 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jingle
    May 31, 2011 @ 14:06:39

    These are absolutely FABULOUS!!! I love them!

    Reply

  2. Diane
    May 31, 2011 @ 14:09:39

    These are all lovely pieces Lynne! I love the shadow box with the spool of gingham and the dress forms are awesome on all!

    Reply

  3. Gisèle
    May 31, 2011 @ 14:18:22

    You never cease to amaze me. These are all absolutely INCROYABLES …
    I love them all…xoxoxo

    Reply

  4. Suze Bain
    May 31, 2011 @ 14:36:49

    These are so lovely and I love the way you stage your work. My favourite has to be the small canvas with the corset, love the little rose bud and the lace. Beautiful work. xx

    Reply

  5. valerie.Jael
    May 31, 2011 @ 14:40:41

    More lovely creations, Lynne, one more beautiful than the other! Valerie

    Reply

  6. Dot Hay
    May 31, 2011 @ 14:45:40

    Love them all, I have yet to try something like this

    Reply

  7. craftytrog
    May 31, 2011 @ 14:47:15

    I just adore your colour scheme Lynne! Perfect for the theme! Wonderful artwork! x

    Reply

  8. Liz
    May 31, 2011 @ 14:50:57

    Definitely vintage and er I’m thinking Shabby Chic Vintage, just love all the creations and am after some similar stamps – are they still available cos need ’em to stamp onto fabric for a needle case or correctly etui that I am wanting to make x

    Reply

  9. Mervi
    May 31, 2011 @ 14:51:30

    Hi Lynne,
    oh lala gorgeous, love every piece,
    you have fabulous style.

    Thanks for sharing
    this with us at Craft-Room Challenge; welcome again and good luck;-))m

    Reply

  10. Zoechaos
    May 31, 2011 @ 15:21:02

    It’s always a delight to visit (have I said that before?) these canvasses and are they ATCs? are lovely. You really are the queen of vintage these look and feel so right. Thank you for sharing them and joining us at Craft-Room Challenge, XOXO Zoe

    Reply

  11. Janet
    May 31, 2011 @ 15:28:47

    Fantastic canvasses and cards,i love the set of stamps so vintage,totally gorgeous.
    Janet x

    Reply

  12. Zoechaos
    May 31, 2011 @ 15:45:43

    They are lovely cards 🙂 your link is working fine as well. XOXO Zoe

    Reply

  13. Tracy Evans
    May 31, 2011 @ 15:50:28

    Beautiful pieces, love all the lace and added embellishments. This is one of my favourite sets too. Tracy x

    Reply

  14. Hazel
    May 31, 2011 @ 15:55:58

    Hi Lynne. As usual your work is beautiful. I love the black and tan colour scheme and the stamps that you’ve used. In the good old days we were told that you should never put black and brown together, how wrong they were.
    Thank you for joining us at our first Craft Room Challenge.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  15. Lynn Stevens
    May 31, 2011 @ 16:37:18

    Hi Lynne,
    First I need to say Happy Birthday!!!! I’m sorry I didn’t know earlier, keep an eye out for the postman soon!
    Next you have totally rocked this stamp set! I Love everything you created with it, esp. the card you sent me. wink…
    What a wonderfully creative use of the measuring tape. You are so inspiring my dear!
    hugs Lynn

    Reply

  16. Gayle Page-Robak
    May 31, 2011 @ 16:53:28

    Hi Lynne…Your vintage fashion pieces are wonderful..so beautiful. Especially appealing as I love to sew. Sorry I missed timely birthday greetings, too many garden tasks and minimum computer time. Sounds like your day was fabulous. All the best, always. Hugs, Gayle.

    Reply

  17. Kim B
    May 31, 2011 @ 17:15:00

    Such wonderful work! I do love that little spool with ribbons and pins too!
    Thanks for joining us at Craft-Room Challenge.

    Reply

  18. stefanie
    May 31, 2011 @ 17:28:52

    oh, you are soooooo talented, just gorgeous!

    Reply

  19. Julia Hallsworth
    May 31, 2011 @ 17:30:35

    Amazing work, so imaginative, just perfect.
    Thanks for enerting Craft-Room Challenge and good luck.
    Julia xx

    Reply

  20. Shelly Schmidt
    May 31, 2011 @ 17:43:47

    Wonderful collection of projects- I love to sew so especially love this group with the dress form, measuring tape and the spool- but love the entire collection! I am amazed how much creative time you have!!!

    Reply

  21. Christine Telega
    May 31, 2011 @ 17:51:02

    What an amazing display of creativity. The vintage feel to these creations is amazing. Thank you for sharing them.

    Reply

  22. Kate
    May 31, 2011 @ 18:15:31

    I love them all but especially the bow made of tape measure in the first canvas. The stamps are gorgeous – you have inspired me to take a look again at the range. I’ve always been a bit afraid of Oxford Impressions stamps because I don’t have much success with the photo style of stamp.

    Reply

  23. CarolQ
    May 31, 2011 @ 18:30:50

    I can see you really enjoyed creating these Lynne. Love your use of the tape measure as a ribbon. The black and tan colour scheme suits these stamps beautifully.

    Reply

  24. Marjie Kemper
    May 31, 2011 @ 19:03:47

    Such beautiful pieces, Lynne. I love the many different ways you used the measuring tape!

    Reply

  25. dorthe
    May 31, 2011 @ 19:11:15

    Sweet Lynne,
    those stamps are wonderful, and you created some wonderful cards with them. I`m not good at using my stamps, and if,– only mostly together with fabric,-so you are really inspirering me. You have made some gorgeus art pieces here.
    xox,Dorthe

    Reply

  26. Sue
    May 31, 2011 @ 19:11:33

    Lovely work Lynne. I really like your style.

    Reply

  27. Maria
    May 31, 2011 @ 20:05:12

    Hi Lynne, your pieces are stunning. Really inspiring. Good luck in the challenge. Maria x

    Reply

  28. Debbie Kaste
    May 31, 2011 @ 20:55:06

    Oh Lynne, these are wonderful! I especially love the 5 x 7 canvas. Just gorgeous. You do such a great job with these stamps. Hope you share this posting with Suzanne as I’m sure she’d love to see what you created. Have a wonderful evening!
    – DebbieK x

    Reply

  29. Marilyn Rock
    May 31, 2011 @ 21:52:26

    You are the perfect artist to showcase those awesome stamps! Beautiful! xxoo

    Reply

  30. Esther
    May 31, 2011 @ 22:06:02

    Lovely pieces…just love the vintage colours and images and all the little details you’ve added..thanks for joining our first challenge at CRC..Esther xx

    Reply

  31. Joan
    May 31, 2011 @ 22:33:07

    These are just fabulous, all of them, love all the habberdashery stuff , I collect old sewing bits and pieces but usually only use photocopies of them on my cards, your work is a total inspiration, I keep going back for another look.

    Reply

  32. Sharon
    May 31, 2011 @ 23:21:23

    Lynne I just love these – I love all things “sewing” related and these are amazing!

    Reply

  33. micupoftea
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 01:25:59

    Love the tea stain and black color combo~ fun projects 🙂

    Reply

  34. gerri herbst
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 01:31:39

    dearest Lynne,
    The first piece is amazing. I love how you can control your palette to two or three colors. I seem to be all over the place. Thank you for yr comments, but you do yourself a disservice….you are an amazing artist. Though ou styles are very different, yours is so lovely with a very distinct look, which a adore.
    Keep on creating, you are so talented.
    take care, gerri

    Reply

  35. Marie
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 01:59:02

    Absolutely stunning,Lynne!!!
    Have a great week.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  36. Ellen
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 03:21:10

    I love it; it is unique and so pretty! I love the colors and what an amazing job you did! Belated Happy Birthday wishes~ @>——

    Reply

  37. Susan Reaney
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 03:54:03

    I saw your name many many times while looking at the Catch Up Issue on my way home from San Francisco. I actually was “studying” the magazine, which I tend to do on airplane rides when I am “trapped.’ You do fine work!
    Fondly,
    Suz

    Reply

  38. Cindy Adkins
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 04:13:39

    YOU ARE AMAZING, Lynne!! These are totally awesome!
    XO
    Cindy

    Reply

  39. michele
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 05:44:02

    beauty-full! love all the dressform art. xo

    Reply

  40. Ira
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 06:10:06

    Stunning and awesome new creations Lynne! Love them all! Hugs, Ira

    Reply

  41. NikkiByrne
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 06:32:54

    These are simply stunning. Thanks for joining our first challenge at CRC.
    Nikki DT

    Reply

  42. rosa
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 10:37:08

    so pretty!
    °º✿happy June!!!!º° ✿♥
    Rosa

    Reply

  43. AJ
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 14:32:23

    So beautiful Lynne, love the whole collection, what a great idea to keep a stock of the batch ready.. i always make mess when i do them…

    Reply

  44. Cynthia Schelzig
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 14:51:06

    I shall say you made up for it alright…omg…you could have drawn this out over the whole week!!! What a fabulous project….amazing Lynne!

    Reply

    • lynne
      Jun 01, 2011 @ 14:58:23

      LOL That was the inital idea, to show the canvases and at a later date the cards but they have been on file for so long it was about time they were out there. Lynne x

      Reply

  45. Daniella
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 15:29:50

    I love them all!!!
    I usually do 4×4 canvases. I have one huge 16×20 canvas in my gallery. That took a while. Altered Arts zine wanted it for their mag.
    I love the black and tan color scheme. Very vintage, very gorgeous!!
    How did you get the canvas to turn into a shadow box??

    I love reading about the supplies you use, I have a ton of all of them! I love those snaps!!!! And about the different stores you go to!

    Your art and blog posts are awesome!!
    xxDaniella

    Reply

  46. Jack
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 16:21:43

    These are gorgeous Lynne, that is such a fab stamp set.
    I just love all the little touches you add, like the lace, safety pin, etc.
    Jack xx

    Reply

  47. Annette G
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 22:20:15

    A very Happy belated Birthday Lynne. These are all fabulous. Have a great week, Annette x

    Reply

  48. Debi Ryan
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 00:15:54

    Hi Lynne- these are ALL just stunning and lovely- impossible to choose a favourite piece. Thanks for joining us for our first challenge over at CRC Debi x

    Reply

  49. Nancy Maxwell James
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 10:26:22

    I just adore the stamps and every project you made! fabulous work!

    Reply

  50. Julia - Vintage with Laces
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 04:29:27

    The stamps are wonderful and everything you have created with them is just gorgeous, Lynne! I love the canvases as well as the cards.
    Hugs,
    Julia

    Reply

Leave a Reply

