Be An Original!

Hello Everyone
Some while ago, along with the stunning Lily Elsie plate from Oxford Impressions I also received the Tattooed Lady set.  Now I have to tell you that this is the power of stamps because I do not find tattoos to be attractive, doesn’t matter if it is on a man or the fairer sex I just do not care for them at all.  So it might seem strange that I elected to play with this particular set.  It is possibly because the stamps area so different and although they are essentially vintage  (which did sway me, I am sure!) I believe the stamps would work equally well on a more contemporary style project.
The set comprises three vintage ladies obviously adorned with tattoos and also in the set, two wonderful sentiments, what I would term as affirmations.
The very first item I created was a belated birthday gift for my lovely friend Alison (craftytrog’s inky adventures).  Obviously such images are not to everyone’s liking but Alison has such an artful attitude to life that I was sure she would embrace the image.
Peeking from behind the photo real image is a repetitive star design.  As the photo real image was smaller than the Memory Frame I layered it onto book text onto which I repeatedly stamped the star from the Vintage Circus plate.
DIGITAL CAMERAThe wonderful aspect of the Memory Frame, other than it is perfect for someone like myself who hasn’t mastered soldering, it allows me to create double-sided artwork.  For the rear I used both sentiments which I stamped onto prepared vintage French book text.lynnemoncrieffforoxfordimpressionsAs I was finishing the item I added a length of vintage crochet style lace as a form of hanging but it was never in my thoughts for Alison to wear this, I imagined, if at all, she would display it in her art space.  So imagine how pleased I was to learn from her that she actually wore it as a pendant.
Soon enough I will share some more Memory Frame art again using this stamp plate and also some pieces made with the beautiful Lily Elsie.
Many Thanks for your visit and for the lovely feedback on my first Gelli Print card.
One last word. Later this week I will be posting news of a Giveaway. No, it isn’t an anniversary or suchlike but I do have, at least I think so, a lovely prize available.
Wishes
Lynne

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzy
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 21:16:03

    Hello Dear Lynne – how are you going my dear friend?
    My sentiments are the same as yours and I admire you for being so brave to use these stamps resulting in such an amazing piece! Incredible! Love that mounted in the Memory Frame and now look forward to seeing more of Lily Elise.
    I have another Giveaway on my blog with WBC if you are game to enter (LOL!)
    Sending warm hugs,
    Suzy

    Reply

  2. may
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 21:30:07

    Hi Lynne, I dont care for tattoos either…I’m sure they are beautiful art…but not for me… Your image of the tattooed lady is very beautiful, Love how you have framed her the lace in the background is Beautiful… Love the sentiment… Hugs May x x x

    Reply

  3. Diane
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 03:31:24

    Love your artwork…but best of all, I appreciate that you haven’t mastered soldering. I haven’t either and will look more into the “memory frames” you mentioned. Thanks for the encouragement!

    Reply

  4. astrid51
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 07:23:07

    Wow Lynne, what a stunning piece this is! I am not surprised Alison actually decided to wear it. I hugely admire people who can do photo stamps, mine always look like blobby messes no matter what I try, anyway, the way you have put this wonderful independent lady in a frame looks great, and I feel the sentiments on the back totally suit the expression on her face!
    Have a lovely day and I look forward to your next creation, – the email subscription actually worked, yay :0)

    Reply

  5. Rita xxx
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 08:14:26

    Wow. What a beautiful piece Lynne. It’s certainly made to wear I think too. Have a Good Day. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  6. Ira
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 08:22:33

    Gorgeous looking pendant Lynne, you have decorated both sides so wonderfully. Love how you are using your stamps for the creation of jewelry, a truly splendid idea with most stunning results! Take care, Ira x
    irascreacorner.blogspot.nl

    Reply

  7. Deborah (rustycage11)
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 08:23:54

    Makes me think of the song ‘Lydia the Tattooed Lady’ 🙂 I am sure Alison will love her gift.

    Reply

  8. Hazel H
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 08:29:45

    This is gorgeous Lynne, Alison must have loved it.
    My son always said that when he got to 18 he was going to have a tattoo and sure enough he did plus a few more.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  9. Paula
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 09:07:04

    Hi Lynne, I’m another who is not a lover of tattoos, they always seem to end up a certain shade of green! But there are certainly some amazing tattoo artists and artwork out there, and these set of stamps are fascinating, just love the gorgeous pendant you’ve created. Xx

    Reply

  10. marjiekemper
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 14:07:35

    I’m with you on that being my kind of soldering. Love your pendant and am not at all surprised she wore it with pride and pleasure!

    Reply

  11. Redanne
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 15:06:04

    I don’t mind looking at tattoos on others, some are so arty but could never have one myself…. Your frame is beautiful, I am not surprised that Alison wore it. Thank you too for the inspiration, I have some of these frames but have never used them, I may do now! Hugs, Anne x

    Reply

  12. Terry
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 17:02:33

    Wonderful and pretty pendant, Lynne! Tattoos are such a big thing in the US and I have friends and family with many and both sexes! Not for me, not at all! I don’t even have pierced ears, so no needle is touching me that I don’t have to have! Hugs!

    Reply

  13. Suze
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 18:22:31

    Well, Lynne, at first glance I thought she was just wearing a lacy dress! Not that keen on tattoos either, I’d certainly never have one done myself. A beautiful pendant. Xx

    Reply

  14. craftytrog
    Jul 16, 2013 @ 19:45:32

    I love my pendant Lynne! Such a fabulous image, & beautifully framed! Thanks so much!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  15. Paper Profusion
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 09:45:11

    Beautifully crafted Lynne – fantastic pendant – I’m not surprised Alison is wearing! (I’m not a tattoo person at all either but I do think this is gorgeous!)

    Reply

  16. valerie-Jael
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 14:10:42

    This is beautiful, although I am not a fan of tattoos – neither on men nor women! Great pendant! I have soldered a couple of times, but the painful blisters were a small drawback….Valerie

    Reply

  17. barnie
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 21:00:17

    That’s a wonderful pendant.

    Reply

  18. PetraB
    Jul 18, 2013 @ 18:10:30

    I agree with you on the tattoos but your Lady looks so beautiful, great pendant …. lucky Alison

    Reply

  19. Kate
    Jul 19, 2013 @ 01:25:25

    I love your pendant. I agree with you about the tatoos… They are not terribly appealing. But a vintage flair sure does sway opinions. You have used this stamp beautifully! Way to be creative.
    Kate

    Reply

  20. Nicie Ibarra
    Jul 19, 2013 @ 08:34:06

    Hi Lynne, I love your work and this pendant is just beautiful!!! 🙂

    Reply

  21. Dianne
    Jul 19, 2013 @ 11:56:30

    I too am not into tattoos but some of them are lovely on others, I would wear that charm its gorgeous, those frames are great, I can’t solder either,love the tiny lace you added, it’s a beautiful little make thanks for sharing..

    Reply

  22. Maria
    Jul 21, 2013 @ 00:05:44

    This is a really interesting set of stamps! I think I’m definitely in the minority here, lol. I like tattoos but on the delicate side and have a couple of small ones. My dad had (quite) a few, so maybe that’s where my liking for them came from. I love your pendant Lynne, she looks great in the memory frame and this is definitely for wearing, I don’t solder, but intend to learn when I can figure out what is actually what with it all!

    Take care
    Maria xxxxx

    Reply

  23. Sharon
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 10:24:05

    Beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

