Safari Postcard

Hello Everyone
I wonder if the sun is shining in your part of the world?  Although this is a scheduled post they are saying that the weekend in my wee part of the world is to be hot so it seems appropriate to share another little something I made with Crafty Individuals Element Set CI-390.DIGITAL CAMERAThis altered canvas was made along the same lines as the two tags I recently shared with you, in that I stamped onto fabric and brought elements which I hoped reflected the theme of the stamp.
The canvas had various paints layered to it before I added the crochet style lace.  I essentially played with bronze, copper, aged gold and also some patina.
I cannot begin to tell you how amazing the detail is on this and also the elephant stamp which is also part of this set.
Just like so many stampers, it is fun to study the detail on a stamp and to try and use it as a stamped element, I love to do this. On the giraffe collage stamp at the left side I was able to select the Carte Postale element.  I stamped it onto a piece of fabric which had been gently distressed with rusting powder solution (see previous relevant post) and I then layered this with some prepared corrugated cardboard to add interest at the top of the canvas. DIGITAL CAMERAA detail photograph of the main stamp with frayed edges, touches of ink and some scraps of fibres (from fabric) which I knotted to form an embellishment.DIGITAL CAMERAI have scheduled this post for Saturday and hope that I will be able to join in with Blogland on Sunday.
Enjoy the weekend.
Wishes and thanks for your visit.
Lynne

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. craftymadre
    Jul 20, 2013 @ 13:15:31

    Wow! What a cool piece! There’s so much dimension in what seems like a pretty monochromatic pallet. I love all the aging and distressing on the laces and fabrics.

    Reply

  2. Coconut
    Jul 20, 2013 @ 13:16:36

    This is wonderful Lynne. I love this animal stamp, really fab like that !! Have a great we, Coco x

    Reply

  3. astrid51
    Jul 20, 2013 @ 13:23:20

    Stunning combination of sepia/vintage tones with the laces and fabric! Beautiful make!

    Reply

  4. Annie G
    Jul 20, 2013 @ 13:33:22

    Beautiful Lynne………I so love the way in which you have presented these stamps. The main stamped image is fabulous……..I so love giraffes and the lace framing is stunning. Hope you are having a restful weekend

    Hugs Annie x

    Reply

  5. Ira
    Jul 20, 2013 @ 14:05:17

    Oh such a wonderfully designed piece Lynne, again, this would look so good in one of those fine safari tents, Beautifully composed! Hugs, Ira x

    Reply

  6. craftytrog
    Jul 20, 2013 @ 14:34:39

    I love the rusty tones & lace on this wonderful artwork Lynne!
    A bit cooler here today, hope it’s the same where you are.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  7. Redanne
    Jul 20, 2013 @ 15:45:11

    This is so beautiful Lynne, the giraffe stamp is wonderful and I love how you framed it. Hug, Anne x PS – cool and overcast down in Kent at the moment….

    Reply

  8. valerie-Jael
    Jul 20, 2013 @ 19:46:16

    Love this one, Lynne, definitely one of my all time faves! Valerie

    Reply

  9. Avril
    Jul 20, 2013 @ 20:00:02

    Hi Lynne, Love how you’ve frame this wonderful image, Looks like a treasure picked up in foreign places, to take home as a memento from an exotic holiday.
    Hope you are well.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  10. Meggymay
    Jul 20, 2013 @ 21:19:36

    Looks fantastic, its a wonderful animal stamp.
    Yvonne x

    Reply

  11. Maria
    Jul 21, 2013 @ 00:21:33

    I love this Lynne, the giraffe looks great set inside the canvas with the frame of lace, and the rusting powder solution is a perfect partner with the earthy colours.

    Take care Lynne, I hope all is well.

    Maria xxxxx

    Reply

  12. Brenda Brown
    Jul 21, 2013 @ 08:40:21

    This is just beautiful Lynne, I love it.
    I am hoping this comment will post as I haven’t been able to leave comments on WordPress blogs for ages. Will email you with the long story lol.
    hugs {brenda} x0x

    Reply

  13. Brenda Brown
    Jul 21, 2013 @ 08:40:38

    Yay it worked x0x

    Reply

  14. barnie
    Jul 21, 2013 @ 20:45:38

    A beautiful image, your creation looks wonderful.

    Reply

  15. Cheri Weston
    Jul 21, 2013 @ 21:19:51

    I continue to be in awe of your creations, Lynne. What a sweet way to showcase this giraffe and I love all of your altered canvas work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

