The Messages They Carry (Published)

Hello Everyone
Thank you for joining me .
If you happen to be a fan of Crafty Individuals then you might well recognise this stamp which they released last year.  DIGITAL CAMERA
CI-347.  At the time of its release I declared it to be a favourite as it is just so elegant.  I went on to create several projects ranging from cards, wall hangings, altered shopping list pad, tote bags and canvases.   I found this stamp to be so wonderful to work with, so versatile, enjoying not only using it in its entirety but discovering it to be a fabulous stamp to use sections of it, focusing on a particular butterfly for instance.
Last year I worked on a few canvases always with the intention of sharing them on my Blog.  However, I remember at the time that I was sharing so many projects that I decided to leave  a break in-between the projects, let’s just say that the break lasted more than one year from when I received that stamp to work with!  What jolted my memory was the joyous surprise of seeing the canvas published in the Apr/May/June issue of The Stampers’ Sampler where they showcased the canvas, along with another, in the Spotlights section.lynnemoncrieff1This might be a small canvas but I didn’t let the size of it hinder me with regard to what I wanted to add or the texture I wanted to achieve.   In fact texture was all important and found in the form of paste  and painters’ tape (cannot for the life of me remember the name of that tape at the moment – anyone wish to help me out ?!)  and of course gauze and cheesecloth were other additions.
A little hint at the canvas and you might see where I also randomly stamped into the paint and paste.canvas detail 2Butterflies stamped onto  a regular shipping tag, this one has a lovely texture to it, not as smooth as the majority of shipping tags.   Gesso providing more texture.
That torn ticket is actually a Crafty Individuals stamp.  canvas detailA snippet from the left side of the butterfly tag.   This stamp I find to be indispensable especially when I find myself working to a collage style with Crafty Individuals stamps, such a useful little stamp. On this canvas I stamped it onto the actual canvas and also fabric fragment. birthdaycards 5870To the right of the butterfly tag you can see I gathered fragments of French book text, gauze, found paper and a button threaded with twine.birthdaycards 5869I’ve been experiencing problems with accessing my Blog and that has also resulted in me not being able to comment with this URL – Wordpress does like to keep us on our toes at times (doesn’t it Alison?!).
Many thanks for visiting this post, your visits and comments are always much appreciated and again, thank you for the Giveaway feedback being far beyond any expectations I had.
Wishes
Lynne

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marianne
    Jul 25, 2013 @ 22:11:39

    So happy the giveaway is a success. Thank you, Lynne.

    Blessings,
    Marianne xo

    Reply

  2. nicecrane
    Jul 25, 2013 @ 22:47:23

    Amazaing creation Lynne,,,,i have just resend you your freebie,,,,,attached this time to the e-mail,,,,,,in my previoius one there was only a link,,,,,, please confirm me if you can open zip files my friend.

    Reply

  3. craftytrog
    Jul 26, 2013 @ 04:25:28

    Woo hoo! I managed to access your blog! Beautiful work as always Lynne! xx

    Reply

  4. valerie-Jael
    Jul 26, 2013 @ 06:36:46

    Beautiful piece, wonderful colours! Valerie

    Reply

  5. maureen
    Jul 26, 2013 @ 08:14:46

    Love this Lynne, I’ve just got to get back into fabric work!!

    Reply

  6. astrid51
    Jul 26, 2013 @ 08:16:02

    Well, I don’t seem to have difficulties accessing your blog…. This little canvas is amazing, – so much detail to admire!! Love all the different layers and the so very creative way you have used this stamp!

    Reply

  7. Dianne
    Jul 26, 2013 @ 11:47:50

    Hey Lynne what a gorgeous little piece of art, imagine forgetting it, well you do do so many amazing art pieces. You know how much I love texture and you have done it and that stamp beautifully, love when you stamp on cloth, it’s a gorgeous piece. I did try to post the give away on my blog, can’t figure that out, so I facebooked it. Thanks for sharing this beautiful piece of art work, have a great weekend and a bit of rest :O), big hugs..

    Reply

  8. MarieS.
    Jul 26, 2013 @ 12:03:19

    This is such a lovely piece with the soft colors you choose.No wonder it was published:) Congrats,dear Lynne.Have a wonderful weekend.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  9. Ira Huberts
    Jul 26, 2013 @ 12:21:13

    Love this ethereal piece with tender butterflies Lynne, such wonderful textures and lush details, always a pleasure to see what you’ve been creating. Have a lovely weekend, Ira x

    Reply

  10. Meggymay
    Jul 26, 2013 @ 13:13:38

    Gorgeous project, congratulations on it being published.
    Yvonne x

    Reply

  11. Anni
    Jul 26, 2013 @ 15:02:51

    Beautiful butterfly stamp and a wonderful collage in great colors dear Lynne-

    Reply

  12. Redanne
    Jul 26, 2013 @ 15:30:06

    Congratulations on being published Lynne wit this beautiful canvas. I just got the very same stamp for my birthday so thank you so much for the wonderful inspiration! Hugs, Anne x

    Reply

  13. 1cardcreator
    Jul 26, 2013 @ 18:15:01

    That is so pretty! ~Diane

    Reply

  14. Terry
    Jul 26, 2013 @ 20:22:05

    So lovely and elegant, Lynne! Congratulations on the deserved publication! Hugs!

    Reply

  15. Dorthe
    Jul 26, 2013 @ 20:44:29

    Hello my dear Lynne !
    This canvas is a beautiful, beautiful winner, in adding layers and beauty to a simple canvas,- so it is not to believe ,it is “only” that hiding beneath all your amazing layers of fabrics, stamps and papers!! It looks gorgeous with the adds of french paper bits, and the different stamps in paint and paste -I just love it !!!
    Congratulations on being featured again , you so deserves it my lovely friend!
    Greetings, Dorthe-x

    Reply

  16. may
    Jul 26, 2013 @ 22:38:02

    Congratulations on being published so well deserved…Love your Beautiful creation so much to look at, The wonderful texture & stamping is simply Perfect… Hugs May x x x

    Reply

  17. butterfly
    Jul 27, 2013 @ 10:00:35

    It’s absolutely beautiful, and what a lovely surprise to suddenly find it featured! Gorgeous layers of texture on such a tiny canvas – it really is a delight.
    Alison x

    Reply

  18. trisha too
    Jul 27, 2013 @ 13:29:45

    Beautiful piece, such a pretty palette, and all the rich textures. 🙂

    Reply

  19. Shelly Schmidt
    Jul 27, 2013 @ 17:39:06

    WOWZA- this is amazing! I love the texture- and the beautiful layers! Awesome surprise to have your work featured!

    Reply

  20. Avril
    Jul 28, 2013 @ 18:03:20

    Hi Lynne, Gorgeous little canvas, and so very feminine.
    Congratulations on being published.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  21. Wendy
    Jul 29, 2013 @ 08:20:21

    Gorgeous piece of art Lynne. The textures are beautiful and I love the muted tones you used. The little details you added are the gorgeous finishing pieces, like the gauze and snippet of booktext and the button with twain. I love that little composition there.
    Thank you for your sweet visits and comments, I really appreciate it, especially because of my struggle with Miss Mojo 🙂
    Big hug and happy day wishes to you, Wendy

    Reply

  22. Rhonda
    Jul 29, 2013 @ 12:48:49

    Adore the many textures and color. Perhaps I should take my stamps to work with me to make something durkng lunch, you’ve inspired me.

    Reply

  23. nefertiti
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 10:30:20

    A really wonderful piece Lynne!!!!!!!bisous

    Reply

  24. Sharon
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 10:18:34

    Love that stamp – always looks great and all your little “touches” just finish it off perfectly!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

