Back To School (Published)

Hello Everyone
Now tell me, did those three words fill with you excitement and anticipation as to what a new school year would bring your way or was it quite the opposite, butterflies in the stomach and not in a nice way either! Even as adults I do believe those words manage to transport us back to our school years and can still conjure up the feelings we experienced at that time of our life.
The card I am sharing was made with a Tempting Template published in The Stampers’ Sampler.  Back in May I was thrilled when I received my complimentary issue of Stampington & co’s 400 More Ideas (formerly Catch-Up) and to see this card was one of the items I had published.
The stamps used are from Oxford Impressions’ School Days stamp plate.
DIGITAL CAMERAI find this stamp of the school girl to be adorable with her leather satchel and pretty bow in her hair.  I wonder how many of you had such a satchel at Primary School, I certainly did for my early years at Primary School.  I am sure it was compulsory, part of the required uniform for those first years.

DIGITAL CAMERA

It is a proper pocket I created on the apron dress so that the stamped pencils could be tucked inside, just where I imagine this little school girl would keep her pencils.

As a child and let me say, not much has changed – I was a child who loved pencils and notebooks, etc. Nothing brought me as much pleasure as opening a new notebook and making those first markings in the book, or even a school jotter. Or the joy of a new pencil case with perfectly sharpened pencils nestled inside. Oh the simple pleasures! However the biggest pleasure of all, a brand new set of felt tip pens.

I can vividly recall sitting in Mrs Giles’ class (Primary 3), throughout all my schooling Mrs Giles stood well above all the other teachers I encountered, a teacher who genuinely cared about her pupils. Anyway, I can actually see myself as that child, opening up that newly purchased pack of felt tip pens and slowly deliberating over my choice, which colour would I use first. Moments such as that were truly such simple joys of childhood!

All the pencils, notebooks, etc were stamped onto Kraft style paper sourced from a cardboard box
DIGITAL CAMERA

I prefer to soak the cardboard box as I believe it gives a nicer quality to the paper when it has dried out but

the downside, it takes longer so I always find myself preparing a box in advance so it is there for when the need arises.

The dress had to be trimmed with lace!

In a few weeks time I will share some cards where I used this little girl and other children from the School Days stamp plate.

Thank You for visiting this post as your visits and comments are always greatly appreciated.  I return next on Sunday to share a peek at my DT post for That’s Crafty but for the meantime I will say, have a lovely weekend.
Wishes
Lynne

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda Adams
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 17:29:28

    Congratulations Lynn on being published again. You always make beautiful things with fantastic details. Joyous Wishes, Linda

    Reply

  2. may
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 17:51:05

    WOW…This is beautiful Lynne, I can see why it was published, Love those stamps the images are perfect, The dress is fabulous…Love the whole design… Hugs May x x x

    Reply

  3. Terry
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 18:00:49

    Another round of applause! Congratulations, Lynne! Happy Weekend!

    Reply

  4. Rita xxx
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 18:20:41

    Absolutely Stunning Lynne. Brings back happy memories. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  5. Dorthe
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 18:29:23

    Dear Lynne, what a special lovely post today,-learning about your first school years and your feelings about the the time spend there!! the wonderful teacher and your joy about pencils and pens…. I think I was alwayes a kind of scared pupil, trying to do the best I could!! and therefore I so recall the butterflies in my stomach !!!
    Your so deserved publisched piece is adorable with the stamped school girl, and the pocket you made for pencils…so sweet to capture, this piece of time, on the little dress.
    I wish you a lovely evening Lynne.
    Hugs,Dorthe

    Reply

  6. Sue F
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 18:54:56

    A lovely idea Lynne and very different. I don’t have many memories of being at school and yet I became a teacher.

    Reply

  7. Meggymay
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 20:08:34

    Congratulations Lynne, a wonderful project and I loved reading about your school memories.
    Yvonne x

    Reply

  8. astrid51
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 20:33:24

    Wonderful!! Specially like how those pencils came out, they look so 3D but the whole thing looks just lovely.
    Being a teacher those words always bring butterflies and now that I am reaching retirement age, I could so do without hearing them…. just under 3 weeks from now 😦

    Reply

  9. valerie-Jael
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 20:59:54

    This is a wonderful project! As a kid I loved school, as a teacher not always….Valerie

    Reply

  10. Redanne
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 21:13:32

    The template background makes a wonderful base for the lovely little girl and her pencils and notebooks. A beautiful project and so worthy of being published. Hugs, Anne x

    Reply

  11. Shelly Schmidt
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 23:10:52

    Absolutely fabulous! I love your write up so much- and it so describes all of your thought and care that you put into this card : ) I have never heard of soaking kraft cardboard before using it- will have to give that a go!

    Reply

  12. Brenda Brown
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 05:24:47

    Fabulous Lynne, a wonderful post and creation. Congrats on bring published with this too.
    Hugs Brenda xxx

    Reply

  13. Buttons
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 07:18:13

    Another beautiful idea Lynne. Love the pocket for pencils and the lace trim. Well done on being published again. What a thrill! Hugs, Jenny x

    Reply

  14. Alie Hoogenboezem-de Vries
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 09:14:31

    A really deserved publication Lynne, such a unique and nice creation!

    Have a nice weekend, Alie 🙂

    Reply

  15. butterfly
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 14:48:25

    Congratulations on another publication – and I can so see why: this is adorable! The pencils in the pocket, and the wonderful little girl… it’s really lovely, Lynne. Sorry to be behind… internet nightmares – I’m in Caffe Nero using the free wi-fi to try to catch up!
    Alison x

    Reply

  16. MarieS.
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 15:42:41

    Congratulations Lynne.The card is just adorable.
    Have a lovely weekend and will catch up soon.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  17. tonitat
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 17:13:36

    Another lovely piece of work Lynne! Congratulations on being published. I also loved those new pencil cases, i’m also old enough to remember the first felt pens they had chunky pieces of actual felt and clear barrels where you could see the in. I think they may have been made by Platinum. I remember my brother having a set of 4 in a colouring kit. They were pretty messy as I recall! Hey ho the good old days x

    Reply

  18. rachel fisher
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 17:52:46

    this is beautiful – such a clever use of the image – and thanks for dropping by my blog too! Hugs rachel x

    Reply

  19. craftytrog
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 21:19:35

    How wonderful is this?! I love the little pocket & its contents.
    And yes, it brings back memories of those brand new exercise books & pencils at the start of term! x

    Reply

  20. Hettie
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 22:47:29

    This is beautiful Lynne. The stamped images are wonderful and I remember my satchel – in fact I wish I still had it as they are “in” again! Congratulations on being published.
    xx

    Reply

  21. Anni
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 13:53:30

    Congratulations Lynne. your card is so adorable, love the sweet apron pocket, I must say I don’t have fond memories of my school days.
    Anni

    Reply

  22. Ira Huberts
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 14:43:35

    Congrats dear Lynne, so happy for you! This is a stunning looking piece! Really really love how you made this, awesome project!! Ira x
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  23. gio
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 11:11:50

    This card is so adorable, Lynne! Love the unusual shape, the girl and the pencils!

    What I remember most of my back to school was the smell of the new pencils, the eraser and the never opened notebooks.

    Ps: about the my earrings, I just stamped them on paper, the new wonderful silk paper from CI. Hope it helps 🙂

    Reply

  24. PetraB
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 13:05:20

    Congratulations! This is wonderful. Your piece is really special, so precious and absolutely lovely.

    Reply

  25. Silvia
    Aug 13, 2013 @ 16:04:11

    So lovely, it’s a great idea.

    Reply

  26. nicecrane
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 19:36:25

    ONG what a creative idea,,,,,,love it,,,,,,,.It inspired me,,,again,,,,yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh…..

    Reply

  27. Dianne
    Aug 16, 2013 @ 11:45:11

    Hello Lynne, this card is soooo adorable, I love the shape and love the pocket, with the pens just perfect, love the hint about wetting the cardboard, it deserves to be published, it’s a fabulous card. What wonderful memories you have, I too was not crazy about school starting, we moved every year so went to a new school every year, it was scary for me. Thanks for sharing this gorgeous card..

    Reply

  28. nefertiti
    Aug 16, 2013 @ 11:52:30

    Congratulations Lynne!
    So original and wonderful card!!!!!

    Reply

  29. Marjie Kemper
    Aug 16, 2013 @ 15:19:41

    What a clever and original spin on that template! I love the pockets, and especially the pencils. Amazing details!

    Reply

  30. Sharon
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 10:14:09

    Oh wow really clever Lynne – love the shape of the smock!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

