The Musings of A Poet

Hello Everyone
To start this new week I am laying DT samples to the side for the moment to share with you a notebook I have altered.
Many of you will have heard of NiceCrane Designs.  If not, then you will discover a wealth of images for sale HERE.  Not so long ago Ignacio generously sent my way Muse of Poets to play with.  I knew immediately that I would be using one of the images to alter a notebook cover.nicecraneimageWhen working with digital images I always consider first the size of the image and surface I will choose to print it onto. I knew from the outset I would be covering the notebook with laces I had previously stained so in this instance printing onto glossy or regular cardstock would not provide the appearance I was aiming for but I did dither, undecided if to choose TAP or canvas printer paper. In the end I opted for canvas printer paper.  The detail is exquisite even on this textured surface.  Unusually for me I didn’t  ink the edges all I did was abrade the edges for texture trimming with some fragments of the stained lace.notebooklynnemoncrieffUnderneath the layers of lace, in some areas there are three layers of lace, I first laid down artist canvas sheet, this is not the same as the printing surface.
The rear of the notebook I left unadorned. I wonder, can you see the stamped script?  I stamped the beautitful script from Oxford Impressions Venezia stamp plate directly onto the artist canvas sheet.backofnotebookThe subsequent layers of lace are in actual fact the same vintage lace except the top layers were stained which is exactly what I did with the seam binding. birthdaycards 040Picot edged ribbon creates a bookmark. detail1Ignacio, thank you for your generosity in sending Muse of Poets for me to have fun with.
I will share another project using Muse of Poets very soon and in the meantime this notebook will be laid aside until nearer Christmas as I actually made this with a lovely friend in mind to send as a Christmas gift.  Yes, my Christmas preparations are finally underway!
This coming week I will share the first of my Halloween DT samples. There will be nothing sinister on display! I also have some Crafty Individuals samples to share with you using some of their new stamps.
Here’s to a week brimming with creativity for all of us.
Wishes
Lynne

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paper Profusion
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 16:00:06

    This is stunning Lynne! Those beautiful layers of lace are so complimentary to the gorgeous image. May I ask what brand of canvas printer paper you use? Nicola x

    Reply

  2. Dorthe
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 18:01:16

    Dear Lynne, such a wonderful gift from Ignacio- so beautiful a stamp,-and you created a wonderul notebook, using it together with your stained lace and many layers ,giving a gorgeous “rich” feeling, and a most beautiful look.
    So love you used the rosa ribbon-also stained, to match the lace- it looks very beautiful, and is an adorable and romantic piece.
    Have a lovely monday evening my dear Lynne,-
    Hug and kiss- Dorthe

    Reply

  3. Rita
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 18:22:31

    Absolutely beautiful. Only you could make this look so exquisite Lynne. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  4. 2amscrapper
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 18:55:27

    Gorgeous work, Lynne!

    Reply

  5. The Scrap Yard
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 19:03:53

    The lace and rhinestones are a beautiful touch. such a stunning piece.
    Kate

    Reply

  6. Redanne
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 19:14:43

    Well I know I am ever so slightly biased but I love everything that Ignacio brings us! What you have done with the Muse of Poets image is just exquisite. She is gorgeous and so is your notebook covering. Hugs, Anne x

    Reply

  7. Lucy Edmondson
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 19:21:59

    This is absolutely gorgeous!

    Lucy x

    Reply

  8. Suze
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 19:28:48

    Absolutely gorgeous Lynne, what a fabulous image and I love the lacy layers. Xx

    Reply

  9. Meggymay
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 20:29:44

    Gorgeous altering, some one will be so thrilled to open this gift at Christmas.
    Yvonne x

    Reply

  10. valerie-Jael
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 20:32:42

    Beautiful piece, soft and romantic! Valerie

    Reply

  11. nicecrane
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 20:36:17

    Absolutely stunning Lynne,,,,,OMG s exquisite Notebook, what a creative idea to add my Muse of Poets Lady, my friend,,,,,,,,,The vintage look is terrific,,,,,,horayyyy for Lynne

    Reply

  12. may
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 20:45:03

    Gorgeous work Lynne, Love the images from Nicecrane…Beautiful soft colours…..simply perfect…Hugs May x x x

    Reply

  13. Buttons
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 22:23:02

    Hasn’t this gorgeous image worked really well on the canvas Lynne! Love how you’ve used it to create one of your fantastic notebooks. Hugs, Jenny x

    Reply

  14. Hettie
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 22:40:28

    what a gorgeous image and so beautifully set off with the paper it is printed on and the heavenly lace. a great present to give and receive. m address is… only joking!
    hugs
    xx

    Reply

  15. Sharon
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 09:13:51

    Just beautiful Lynne and what a fabulous xmas gift!!

    Reply

  16. Ira Huberts
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 09:30:08

    Sigh… lace, a lovely image, a touch of bling and the right colours are everything this girl needs to make her heart melt. Such a fine creation dear Lynne!Take care, Ira x

    Reply

  17. Julia
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 11:55:18

    Such a lovely project with that gorgeous image. I particularly like that you’ve used the canvas layer.
    Sorry to be missing for so long – life is getting the way a great deal this year!
    Hope you are well.
    Kind regards
    Juliaxx

    Reply

  18. craftytrog
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 12:52:44

    This is beautiful Lynne! That pretty ribbon slide finishes your notebook perfectly! xx

    Reply

  19. MarieS.
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 15:19:13

    Absolutely beautiful,Lynne.
    Have a lovely week.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  20. alie hoogenboezem-de Vries
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 18:51:00

    So lovely in total Lynne!

    Reply

  21. Terry
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 20:59:09

    So pretty and delicate, Lynne! Love the image and the overlay of lace! Hugs!

    Reply

  22. michele s
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 01:09:52

    totally lovely! xo

    Reply

  23. CarolS
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 03:19:38

    This is wonderful Lynne! You know I love all that lace! That image is beautiful and I love that you printed it on canvas…I’ll have to give that a go soon, I love the look!
    Hugs!

    Reply

  24. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 17:20:16

    Leave it to you to turn a humble composition notebook into something splendid and oh so lovely dear Lynne!
    Love all of the layers and your hand dyed pieces always add that extra something…
    you make me want to get my canvas paper out to print something (have to replace a few ink cartridges first tho)
    oxo

    Reply

  25. Dianne
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 23:22:01

    Oh Lynne that image on that paper looks fabulous, love the look, a;; that gorgeous, lace and I loce the flower outlined in brown just exquisite, thanks for sharing..

    Reply

  26. Viola
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 08:09:16

    Such a stunning piece, dear Lynne! Love your notebook! So lovely!!Hugs, Viola

    Reply

  27. Bärbel
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 08:35:39

    Es ist ein wunderschönes Werk, liebe Lynne. Die Verarbeitung des schönen Motivs mit den eingefärbten Spitzen ist atemberaubend.

    Reply

  28. butterfly
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 22:18:38

    Such a lovely use of Ignacio’s image – she does look lovely on the canvas texture, and surrounded by all those beautiful laces.
    Alison x

    Reply

  29. marjiekemper
    Sep 06, 2013 @ 01:08:22

    Lynne this is elegance understated and extraordinary at the same time. I wish I could gently lift each layer to peek beneath…. beautiful!

    Reply

  30. nefertiti
    Sep 06, 2013 @ 19:27:15

    Delicate and elegant piece Lynne! as you know so well !!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

