Nevermore

Hello Everyone
Time to share another Gecko Galz DT sample which once again is inspired by Halloween.
As with a previous sample I  selected a digi stamp from the Spellbound Digi Stamp set and incorporated real stamps.  With this being a Gecko Galz DT post I will of course share the supply list and instructions.nevermorelynnemoncrieffI had in mind a card which wasn’t heavy with embellishments but would have the appearance of texture and dimension.  Using mica tiles is a wonderful way to add depth and dimension when laid over an image.   More dimension around the image in the way I laid down the stamped Gothic border, it is raised away from the digi image.
birthdaycards 005The lovely mottled effect from the walnut ink crystals is well suited to this theme and style where I wanted an aged effect.
Well didn’t I have the messiest of accidents when staining the papers.  I store the walnut ink crystals in a very large jar and yes, I am sure you guessed what happened next,  I knocked the jar with the contents spilling here, there and everywhere.  Usually sense prevails and I stain papers in the kitchen and not in my wee craft space but for some reason I left common sense in another part of the house this particular day!birthdaycards 004More texture in the form of the dyed gauze along with more stamping.  I find this font to be so appealing. birthdaycards 001If it were possible that someone did not realise this is a Halloween card (!) I decided to stamp Happy Halloween directly onto the card which balances out Nevermore at the bottom edge, I really wanted to use that stamp.birthdaycards 002Supplies:- Spellbound Digi Stamp, Oxford Impressions Haunted and Masquerade, Distress Ink Vintage Photo, Versafine Black Extras:- cardstock, walnut ink crystals, dyed gauze, mica tiles
Instructions:– Print digi stamp onto cardstock prepared with walnut ink crystals. Age edges and adhere mica tiles. Adhere another panel of prepared cardstock to cardbase. Onto scrap pieces of prepared cardstock stamp date and Gothic border. Layer image to cardbase with stamped date and dyed gauze. Adhere the Gothic borders. Finally stamp Happy Halloween and Nevermore directly onto the cardbase.
Many, many thanks for visiting this post and again I really do appreciate it all the more if you are someone who does not like the subject matter. The next post I share will return to something on the prettier side of life.
Wishes
Lynne

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rita
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 13:19:41

    Loving this one Lynne. So much to see and the Raven is Brilliant, hopefully its a Raven anyway x. Great textures too. Have a Good Day my friend. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  2. Viola
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 13:33:34

    Fabulous work, dear Lynne!! As always! 🙂
    Hugs, Viola

    Reply

  3. valerie-Jael
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 13:55:03

    Lovely card, looks like one of the ravens from my balcony found it’s way to you! Valerie

    Reply

  4. barnie
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 14:02:43

    I’m missing words, such a wonderful creation.

    Reply

  5. nefertiti
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 15:41:16

    Great idea the mica tiles over the raven! very lovely!! bizz

    Reply

  6. Annie G
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 17:05:09

    Great digi image Lynne and I love the Walnut Stain with the gothic writing. The muslin adds such depth and texture. Hope you dipped a few things in the inky mess on the floor !!!!

    Best wishes to you

    Annie x

    Reply

  7. Redanne
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 17:07:24

    Love the idea of the mica piece, it looks wonderful over the Raven. Sorry to hear about your spill, I guess you will have lots of walnut ink dyed bits and bobs in your stash now…. Hugs, Anne x

    Reply

  8. Meggymay
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 17:10:57

    Fantastic Halloween piece, the sepia tones look awesome as does that super Raven.
    Yvonne x

    Reply

  9. Marilyn J. Rock
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 17:20:51

    I love this! I, too, like that font! Brilliantly created! xxoo

    Reply

  10. Dorthe
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 18:17:38

    That King Raven,- is wonderful on top of your crystal inking ,- which makes the card look old and fantastic , dear Lynne.
    I love mica too, and it gives your raven a little scary effect -,like a broken mirror,—- . I can see you used no sewing , I have spoiled many mica pieses in trying sewing it unto a backgroung!!
    The border is a great 3 d- add and makes the piece look kind of allive,
    You created a gorgeous card my dear.
    Hug and smiles from Dorthe

    Reply

  11. Paper Profusion
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 18:43:24

    Hi Lynne, So sorry to hear of spill – as Anne said – I hope you dipped lots of goodies into the ‘mess’! Anyway, your card is gorgeous AND it’s so halloween – not easy to combine! I love the warmed and aged background and the tile over the raven does add that ‘je ne sais quoi’ element. The border is beautiful too! Allover fabulous really! Nicola x

    Reply

  12. Dianne
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 19:48:23

    See Halloween can make me really happy, I love it, love it, love it, that background is delicioussssssssss. oh I do hope you got some good stuff from the spillage, what a great idea with the mica tile, have to goggle that LOL, I do ove the look of it, kool how you did the borders, love that dyed gauze, how would have thought I would fall in love with a Halloween card, it’s gorgeous, thanks for sharing this fabulous card… Hope you have a wonderful week…

    Reply

  13. craftytrog
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 19:48:51

    This is a wonderful Halloween make Lynne! I love your use of the mica tile
    Alison x

    Reply

  14. alie hoogenboezem-de Vries
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 20:07:23

    An amazing result Lynne…kind of vintage Halloween…fab!

    Reply

  15. Debbie / Daqa
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 20:10:52

    I’m not very much into halloween but I do like the “darker” cards! I love how you created the dimension on the card – with the gothic border and the mica tiles! It sure does give the raven extra spookyness! And like the other readers, I hope you were able to dip lots of things in the mess, hehe, that’s what I try to do when I spill “ooooh I need paper, cards… quick! blank paper!” and when there’s hardly any mess left, then I start worrying about the floor or remaining stains on the table…

    Reply

  16. butterfly
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 21:28:03

    What a brilliant touch that mica tile is, emphasising the evil eye of the raven… a fabulous make, Lynne! And thank you so much for your lovely comment this evening too – made my day!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  17. Sharon
    Sep 10, 2013 @ 04:57:47

    Oh wow this looks really effective – those mica tiles really add dimension and texture – amazing!! Love the old sepia tones too! Fabulous piece Lynne!

    Reply

  18. Rosie
    Sep 10, 2013 @ 05:16:25

    Wow, this is outstanding. Sooo elegant and beautiful, Lynne

    Reply

  19. Ira Huberts
    Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:59:01

    A truly beautiful piece with those warm, rich tones. That raven is a perfect image for Halloween. Another gorgeous creation Lynne! Ira x

    Reply

  20. Marianne
    Sep 10, 2013 @ 15:48:56

    Ooo..I like!

    Hugs,
    Marianne

    Reply

  21. 1cardcreator
    Sep 10, 2013 @ 18:35:45

    This is gorgeous, I love the mica tiles too, such interesting depth and dimension! ~Diane

    Reply

  22. Lynn Stevens
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 03:46:26

    You rocked the Halloween card Lynne. Love that image and great use of the mica!’
    Hugs Lynn

    Reply

  23. Brenda Brown
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 08:17:34

    Just divine Lynne, such a fabulous design.
    hugs {brenda} x0x

    Reply

  24. Astrid
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 12:20:36

    Love that mica tile, the whole composition is so beautiful! A Halloween piece after my heart, – you are so clever, love this!

    Reply

  25. MarieS.
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 14:15:59

    What a stunning piece,Lynne.

    Reply

  26. michele s
    Sep 12, 2013 @ 04:30:49

    gorgeous coloring. i love this “nevermore.” xo

    Reply

  27. Julia - Vintage with Laces
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 04:14:02

    Hello dear Lynne, This is a fantastic Halloween card. I love it. The mica tile is a great detail. I’m sorry about the walnut ink accident. Hopefully you could get the stains out.
    Hugs,
    Julia

    Reply

  28. Bärbel
    Sep 19, 2013 @ 18:02:41

    Ein wunderbares Werk, liebe Lynne. Den Raben mit der Krone finde ich großartig!
    Liebe Grüße, Bärbel

    Reply

Leave a Reply

