The Mischief Maker

Hello Everyone
Another Gecko Galz DT post to share and once again it sees me using a digi stamp from the Spellbound set.birthdaycards 014If you are a regular visitor then you might well recognise this image from a recent post. When I first spied this digi stamp I knew I would be using it but certainly there is a good selection to pick from on the Spellbound set, something like 23 or 24 digi stamps.
For this DT sample I created this panel, I say panel because I didn’t form it into a hanging which is what I would normally do but I was so undecided that I decided to leave this as it is. It is quite large, measuring 12″ x 5.5″ themischiefmakerThe same method as with previous samples, I re-sized (in Word).  I actually planned the images I would be using enabling me to print as many images as possible onto the one sheet of stained A4 cardstock. The cardstock could easily be stained afterwards but somehow I prefer doing it this way.
Once more I used mica tiles over the image.  It brings a lovely depth and yet you still can see clearly what is beneath, even the watermarks from the walnut ink.birthdaycards 015Working backwards for the moment I will share the corrugated panel before I layered the items onto it. P1000199There was no method, I simply let the colours do as they wished, working in a random fashion which is normal for me!P1000197The digi image was certainly to be the focal with few distractions so I merely added this wonderful piece of bark which I have to say Thank You to my lovely friend Annie, which I stamped onto. birthdaycards 012To add visual and textural contrast to the bark and the corrugated cardboard I added a string of glass chandelier crystals, suspending them from the panel and topping with lace tied into a bow.
A quick run through of the supplies:- Spellbound digi set, Oxford Impressions Haunted, Distress Ink Vintage Photo, Versafine black, Caran d’ache watersoluble crayon, Golden Gesso and Golden Gel Medium Extras:- corrugated cardboard, black lace, mica tiles, black gems, bark and chandelier crystals.
Thank You for visiting this Halloween inspired post.
Wishes
Lynne

32 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rita
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 13:05:19

    Love the techniques you have used in this one Lynne. Hugs Rita xxxx

    Reply

  2. craftymadre
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 13:19:21

    It’s beautiful! I’ve never tried digi stamps, but it looks like they’d be fun. You just put whatever paper you want it on through the printer? I love your use of corrugated cardboard.

    Reply

  3. Meggymay
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 13:40:21

    Wonderful textures, its a great image for Halloween
    Yvonne x

    Reply

  4. Julia - Vintage with Laces
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 13:48:21

    That another gorgeous Halloween creation, dear Lynne! I LOVE everything about it.
    Hugs,
    Julia

    Reply

  5. butterfly
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 14:21:21

    So perfect, Lynne – gorgeous patina you’ve created on the corrugated card, and I love the raven printed on the stained card – fantastically effective… and yes, you’ve tempted me into going to check out those digistamps!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  6. Valerie
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 14:29:39

    Lynne this is wonderful, the close ups of the corrugated card look like drift wood and the digi image with the script is beautiful.
    Val x

    Reply

  7. Astrid
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 16:17:21

    A wonderful make Lynne! I am not usually a great fan of digi stamps (even though of course the fact you can re-size them is great), having said that I totally adore the way you have used it here on the stained card stock and the panel with the bark and everything looks fantastic too, love it!

    Reply

  8. Anne R
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 16:28:10

    I love the way you have used the Raven, he looks quite stunning in the beautiful background you created. LOVE the corrugated card too. Hugs, Anne x

    Reply

  9. Paper Profusion
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 17:18:06

    So gorgoeus Lynne – love that stamping on bark and your aging of the cardstock and corrugated card looks so authentic and warm. Nicola x

    Reply

  10. Annie G
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 17:57:38

    Hi Lynne…..stunning make 🙂 love the corrugated card and stained card. The image is great and I like the lighter side you have shown with the crown on the Raven’s head 🙂

    Wonderful bark from your friend too!!! She will be delighted you gave her a shout !

    Mischief indeed !!

    TFS and crafty hugs
    Annie x

    Reply

  11. Ira Huberts
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 19:59:35

    I already loved the title and I particularly love what you’ve done with that corrugated background, makes the raven look even more mysterious! Ira x

    Reply

  12. Sophie
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 20:05:38

    Herrlich dieser Rabe mit der Krone.
    Und alles ist trotzdem so romantisch dargestellt.
    Eine wunderbare Idee, liebe Lynne.

    Umarmung und Grüße von Sophie xx

    Reply

  13. jo
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 20:10:04

    Lynn, first thank you so much for finding my wee blog and leaving me such a wonderful comment. I have long been a fan of your art and I always enjoy seeing it in print. Your blog is filled with fabulous art … I am thrilled to have found it!
    jo

    Reply

  14. valerie-Jael
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 20:17:56

    Love this one, lots of my fave elements here! Keep your feet warm, it’s coooold here! Valerie

    Reply

  15. Michelle
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 21:20:56

    Beautiful project!
    I love your work.

    Reply

  16. anja
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 22:17:29

    Gorgeous tag.Wonderful result of the technique..

    Reply

  17. Terry
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 22:30:31

    Lynne, I am loving your Halloween treats! That background you created on the corrugated cardboard is so perfect for Raven! Love this!

    Reply

  18. Dorthe
    Sep 18, 2013 @ 15:34:44

    Dear Lynne,
    how gorgeous your panel looks, your way of “letting the colours do as they wished” are fantastic, and makes it look so old and beautiful !!
    The old feeling stamp, looks wonderful here, and with the little jewels you added and the torn edges so great altered,, it is a most gorgeous tag!
    Warm hugs xxxxx
    Dorthe

    Reply

  19. Dianne
    Sep 18, 2013 @ 16:16:31

    I too am loving the close ups, this is a BRILLIANT piece, not a hanging, no problem it would fit into a shadow box perfectly.. Yikes, I love the colors the texture, Mr Crow, the torn corrugate of course :O), the well I love every millimeter of it…
    Its been a wonderful time visiting and being soooooo inspired, you ROCK Miss Lynne, have a wonderful day

    Reply

  20. Lynn Stevens
    Sep 18, 2013 @ 16:43:00

    Awesome Halloween Lynne, Eerily spooky.
    I think we will be seeing much more Halloween on your blog soon.( wink wink)
    Hugs Lynn

    Reply

  21. barnie
    Sep 18, 2013 @ 17:30:47

    Fabulous creation, love the corrugated cardboard.

    Reply

  22. Terry
    Sep 18, 2013 @ 21:36:06

    I heard the whisper and can’t wait to see your gorgeous (and I can say that in advance) creation! Hugs!

    Reply

  23. Gerrie Johnnic
    Sep 18, 2013 @ 22:46:05

    Wow, I love this piece, amazing what you can do with cardboard!! I took a stroll thru gobs of posts, and see that you create beautiful vintage work, amazing style! Thanks for posting on my blog too! hugs

    Reply

  24. michele s
    Sep 19, 2013 @ 04:09:49

    excellent! i really do love that corrugated stuff. xo

    Reply

  25. MaggieH
    Sep 19, 2013 @ 06:19:17

    A lovely project Lyn love the corrugated look and the main image is gorgeous. thanks for visiting my blog and for the lovely comments and thanks for following me, I have signed up for email following on your lovely blog
    MaggieH

    Reply

  26. Sharon
    Sep 19, 2013 @ 11:36:50

    Good on you Lynne for using those digis from Gecko Galz – you are truly doing them justice – this is a fantastic creation!!! Love it for Halloween!

    Reply

  27. nicecrane
    Sep 19, 2013 @ 12:21:34

    What a great idea to use corrugated cardboard,,,,,Lynne,,,Thaks for your comments to my victorian Ladies,,,,,Pack,,,,,Lynne,, if you like to create anything let me know and I´ll send you a free pack,,,,,,,SHHHHHHHH

    Reply

  28. may
    Sep 19, 2013 @ 18:16:58

    Fabulous piece Love the image… I would never had thought of staining my papers first before printing…What a fabulous tip Thank you so much Lynne for sharing…Hugs May x x x

    Reply

  29. gerriherbst
    Sep 21, 2013 @ 15:08:24

    Stunning piece my dear. Very edgy for you LOL. The use of cardboard is a great textural surface. Forgive me for not being around lately…take care, gerri

    Reply

  30. Katie K
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 00:33:14

    Lynne, this tag is full of texture and has that back to the nature feel to it. Love the simplicity of this tag and your careful choice of embellishments to perfection.
    Thanks so much for your recent comment on my blog. I sort of sfhifted in a different direction, trying out various “cute” stamp lines. There are just not enough time to do everything these days. Hopefully I’ll find time to do some “vintage” cards soon.
    Have a great week!
    Katie

    Reply

  31. Karen
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 11:59:12

    Hello Lynn, What a lovely old crow on this tag. I love it. Thanks for popping over to my blog and for your lovely comments. A massive bonus you are a follower too. Welcome!! Karen.x

    Reply

  32. Marjie Kemper
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 17:18:56

    Wow! This is just fabulous. I love the roughed up base panel!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

