A Spot of Afternoon Tea

Hello Everyone
In a recent post I mentioned that Crafty Individuals released quite a few bird themed stamps over the past few months, very pretty stamps in fact.  I am a bit behind in sharing this card and some others I made at around the same time which I will share in another post. For this Crafty Individuals team post I will share a card I made using CI-389, a collage stamp depicting a sweet bird perched, precariously, upon a stack of teacups with the clock stating it is 3 o’clock, surely time to stop for a spot of tea. DIGITAL CAMERAThe base for this card is a Gelli Print which was amongst my stash from a quick session of pulling some prints.  The colour is rather washed out but it is almost a peach colour although the paints I used are cream and portrait pink, not a hint of peach in sight!  It will no doubt be of little surprise to learn I used lace! That little stamped piece in the bottom corner was one of the sample stamps Crafty Individuals included with a previous order. DIGITAL CAMERAOther than preparing the vintage book text which I stamped the bird collage onto, all other elements were already prepared, the Gelli Print and stained trims.
A fragment of pretty fabric was called for and so I used it to layer this stamped element onto.  This is actually from a Crafty Individuals Elements set, a set that is so useful to have for adding such a little extra. DIGITAL CAMERAStumbling across this paper punch which is one I used time after time when I first bought it and then whether I grew weary of punched paper flowers I don’t know but I stopped making use of it. As tends to be the case with me, you will no doubt see punched paper flowers on everything whether it be Halloween or Christmas and everything in-between!DIGITAL CAMERAThank You for your kindness regarding my technical issues. You never want others to experience poor Customer Service but in a way reading your personal experiences (you know who you are!) has helped me.  I will be moving to another server but not sure, at the moment, when the switch over will be.  On the whole I am not someone who is comfortable discussing personal matters on my Blog but with not knowing if or when I would have internet access I wanted to make you aware of the situation.  I would say I will keep you posted but wonder if you are ready for me to have another rant so soon after the one from the other day LOL.
Wishes
Lynne

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sandi collins
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 13:53:32

    i love all your work.do you sew these peices together pr glue them
    i have to lead a technique for a club i am in (ink or dye) and thought about vintage gift bags i’m maling out of muslim.your posts have been such an inspiration to me

    sandi collins
    samiam1172@yahoo.com
    /

    Reply

  2. Bettina breiding Hansen
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 14:01:05

    It is so beautiful – love the colours!! Hugs

    Reply

  3. Anni
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 14:43:35

    Hello Lynn. Your card is soft and lovely, and I’m a huge fan of Crafty Individuals. Thank you for your kind comment on by blog Handgathered, about my walnut ink. I don’t know if you saw the post about me making it from our walnut tree? Wish I knew how to make walnut crystals from the liquid.

    Reply

  4. Paper Profusion
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 15:03:47

    Exquisite Lynne! The background is wonderful and then all your added elements and those oh so beautiful CI stamps make for such a pretty pretty card.

    Oh don’t worry I have heard rants in my day and I definitely wouldn’t consider your recent post overly forceful given what you were likely contending with!

    Think I’ll go put the kettle on… Nicola x

    Reply

  5. valerie
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 15:46:56

    Absolutely gorgeous Lynne, teacups, birds and clocks, all my favourite things:)
    Val x

    Reply

  6. Rita
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 16:30:43

    Beautiful piece Lynne. I do love that stamp and I think I deserve a little spend. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  7. Anne R
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 17:15:53

    Oh how beautiful Lynne! I would never have guessed you used lace to create the background – lol. You really have worked your magic with that lovely stamp. You should have rant whenever you need to, it’s good for the soul. Hope you get it all sorted soon. Hugs, Anne x

    Reply

  8. CarolS
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 17:48:24

    Very pretty! I love that background and the lace trim on top is Gorgeous!
    Hugs!
    ps..Did you get the email I sent to your hotmail acct? hope that didn’t get lost

    Reply

  9. Ira Huberts
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 18:21:04

    What a terrific way to create your background Lynne, it looks absolutely wonderful. Your card certainly makes a wonderful invitation to tea! Take care, Ira x
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  10. Marianne
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 18:46:23

    Very lovely, Lynne. The lace in the bottom corner reminds me of a butterfly. I do love the fabric accent. I used to use paper, but I really like the use of fabric.

    Hope all your technical issues are resolved completely.

    Blessings,
    Marianne xo

    Reply

  11. Annie G
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 18:47:06

    Stunning make Lynne. The CI stamp is beautiful and I love the gelli plate background. The added elements just complete the look 🙂 Hoping to finish my tidy up in the craft room so I can keep the sewing machine out. Once it’s all ship shape I plan to play with my gelli plate

    Crafty hugs Annie x

    Reply

  12. may
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 18:58:03

    Beautiful creation Lynne, The image is Gorgeous…love the effect of the Gelli plate, I really must treat myself to one of those…Time for tea is my favorite time of the day….Hugs May x x x

    Reply

  13. jo
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 19:17:14

    What a fabulous creation … the stamp image is beautiful … fabulous gelli print … i must try using lace … thanks for the wonderful idea!

    Reply

  14. Meggymay
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 20:03:32

    Gorgeous project Lynne. I have just been using that stamp.
    Loving your Gelli backgrounds,
    Yvonne

    Reply

  15. Terry
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 20:11:11

    I just love that sweet little birdie perched on top of those cups! Great background using the Gelli plate, which I don’t have. Love that lacy effect! So pretty again! Hugs!

    Reply

  16. astrid51
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 20:34:09

    What a fabulous stamps! Such a sweet combination, a bird and those lovely teacups…. and of course the way you have put this piece together looks fabulous like always!

    Reply

  17. valerie-Jael
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 20:45:58

    Just beautiful! Hope you soon manage to change to a new provider! Valerie

    Reply

  18. coco
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 20:54:32

    Hi Lynne, this is really gorgeous and delicate… Best wishes, Coco x

    Reply

  19. nicecrane
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 22:22:53

    Absolutely gorgeus,Lynne,,,,,,,,love the little bird, and the vintage effect, my friend,,,,,,,woww,wowwww..

    Reply

  20. Marilyn J. Rock
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 22:53:20

    I love this and also your fabric trim is a stunning touch! xxoo

    Reply

  21. Sandy
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 00:25:05

    Absolutely perfect to go with a spot of tea – so very lady like and romantic. I do need to try to be more feminine!
    Sandy

    Reply

  22. Sharon
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 05:44:41

    Just beautiful Lynne! Birds never go out of style!

    Reply

  23. Brenda Brown
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 06:29:32

    Beautiful Lynne, the stamped elements and main image and wonderful aged layers are just perfect.
    hugs {brenda} x0x

    Reply

  24. Sugar Lump Studios
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 14:40:20

    Just stunning Lynne! I love how it has the tea stained look about it! So pretty! Having some “Indian summer” weather here – shall I send some to Scotland? 🙂 Have a great weekend!

    Reply

  25. Avril
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 17:42:46

    So pretty, love the colour of the backgroun – amazing how things turn out!
    Avril xx

    Reply

  26. Silvia
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 19:39:57

    Another wonderful creation.

    Reply

  27. The Scrap Yard
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 19:47:06

    This is beautiful, Lynne. I really love this stamp but I suppose thats because I am partial to tea!
    Kate

    Reply

  28. misty
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 20:26:54

    so gorgeous! Love the feminine detail!

    Reply

  29. Dorthe
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 20:32:28

    Hi dear,- I alwayes love when you use the little pieces of rosy fabrics in your creations-like here, -it gives the most lovely little feeling of romance and beauty.
    Your gelli printed background is so beautiful made, too, and so soft in both colour and a feeling of velvet.
    The stamp is adorable, and so are your mini flowers,- I`m glad you started using the punch again 🙂 dear Lynne.
    Hug and sleep well.
    Dorthe, xx

    Reply

  30. die amelie
    Sep 27, 2013 @ 07:18:42

    Love your utterly gorgeous card, Lynne! Delicate lace and layers as usual – you really know how to use this stuff to create your “miracles”!

    Hugs,
    die amelie x

    Reply

  31. Dianne
    Sep 27, 2013 @ 13:52:51

    Ah as I sit with my sharing my cuppa, cheers:O) it’s just GORGEOUS, excellent background with the Gelli Print, the the gorgeous stmped bird, one of my favorite stamps, with the beautiful lace trim on the top then that gorgeous little piece in the corner, it’s a fabulous piece of art work, it’s hard to imagine it’s a card, thanks for sharing you awesomeness..

    Reply

  32. giogio
    Sep 27, 2013 @ 14:23:24

    It is a very good stamp and you made a great use of it. The gelli plate background is so perfect,you inspired me to use it more!

    Reply

  33. 2amscrapper
    Sep 27, 2013 @ 18:21:25

    fabulous and inspiring!

    Reply

  34. butterfly
    Sep 27, 2013 @ 20:02:11

    Another enchanting make, Lynne – delicious lace across the top, and the CI image is exquisite in your hands.
    Alison x

    Reply

  35. Katie K
    Sep 28, 2013 @ 03:32:32

    Hi Lynne, this is such a soft and gorgeous yellow color, perfect for an afternoon tea setting. All the little details are amazing.
    Have a great weekend!
    Wishes, Katie

    Reply

  36. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Sep 30, 2013 @ 12:54:14

    Your Tea Time creation is oh so lovely in every detail…
    the strip of flowered calico cotton is just perfect!
    Your gelli print backgrounds are always the nicest touch as well!
    It is early and now I really must have a cup of tea ♥ thank you very much…
    oxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

