Down on the Farm (Published!)

Hello Everyone
Let me take a mini break from Halloween posts to share news from back in July when I discovered I was published in The Stampers’ Sampler (July/Aug/Spt issue). In this issue I have 3 feature articles all featuring Oxford Impressions stamps.
At the very end of last year I received this wonderful set of stamps (referral stamps) from Oxford Impressions,  Farm Girl (also known as Country Girl) and it was timely as for Christmas one of the items my lovely friend Dar sent me was a Moose Poo pad, yes, you did read that correctly! Don’t be concerned, there is no lingering odour lol. I knew I had to use it as a stamping surface and with the Farm Girl set the images would work perfectly with the rustic appearance of the Moose Poo paper add to that the washi tape which was one of the gifts from my lovely friend Debbie and so into the new year I set about creating a collection of cards to submit to Take Ten so it was a lovely surprise to see them in print in Sampler.
Four cards were printed in the article but I won’t share them all here. As I say, they were submitted to Take Ten so the premise was for them to be makes that take no longer than ten minutes.
Maybe you will join me to take a trip down on the farm.DIGITAL CAMERAThe washi tape was actually a red and white stripe but I hit upon the idea of layering it alternately which gave me a gingham pattern, repeating the pattern on the tissue paper.
Some fibres which were literally lying around so I knotted them and adhered to the corner. DIGITAL CAMERA
The Moose Poo paper has crushed pine needles embedded within and that brings a lovely texture to the paper, you can see the little flecks on the panel stamped with the tractor.  As for the cardbase, I did my much loved paint flicks to add interest to the cream cardbase.DIGITAL CAMERAOn all the cards I included stitching, the Moose Paper was lovely to stitch and the stitches, to my mind brought a homespun feel to the cards. DIGITAL CAMERAThe final card I will share is this one which is the one that shows the stitching the most clearly.   I don’t know why but I like to pull stitches loose here and there. DIGITAL CAMERAApologies for the slightly grey appearance of the photographs. They were taken on my old camera and I am unable to take the photographs again as I no longer have the cards in my hands, once I submit artwork to Stampington & co I do not request their return.
Thank You for visiting this post. You are always so generous with your comments for posts where I share my news of being published and that means so much to me.
Wishes
Lynne

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Corrie
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 16:47:40

    I have this magazine and saw them in there. They are wonderful, Lynne, like most of your work !!
    Corrie x

    Reply

  2. Marilyn J. Rock
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 16:57:52

    These are wonderful! Love the splashes of red and white checks! xxoo

    Reply

  3. Deborah (rustycage11)
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 17:02:37

    I love this country style. And a great idea to layer the washi to make gingham!

    Reply

  4. Renee Zarate
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 17:06:35

    I love these cards. When I first saw them in TSS I just kept going back to look at them over and over. Thanks for sharing them.

    Reply

  5. may
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 17:22:11

    Beautiful cards Lynne, I can see why these were published…Fabulous work as always… Hugs May x x x

    Reply

  6. craftytrog
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 17:27:13

    Love these! Congratulations Lynne xx

    Reply

  7. alie hoogenboezem-de Vries
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 18:08:40

    What a great country cards Lynne…such a unique look!
    Congrats with the publication…wowww!

    Reply

  8. Janny Jager 't Hooft
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 18:47:55

    Great country card Lynne .
    Love every detial eand congrats with the publication.
    Greetings Janny

    Reply

  9. Anne R
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 19:07:55

    Many congratulations on being published again Lynne, these cards are so worthy. I love the clean lines and the red and white is just delightful and gives such a realistic country feel to the cards. Very rustic and very beautiful. Hugs, Anne x

    Reply

  10. Coco
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 19:49:04

    Really beautiful, the last one is my favourite !!! And congratulations for the publication Lynne, well done. Hugs, Coco x

    Reply

  11. valerie-Jael
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 19:53:07

    Gorgeous card, very unusual, and I only have elephant poo paper from Thailand!
    Have fun, Valerie

    Reply

  12. Annie
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 19:56:38

    Stunning card Lynne, the design is so simple but beautiful with the little delicate touches that you so kindly add to your makes for more interest/texture.

    Crafty Hugs

    Annie x

    Reply

  13. Meggymay
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 20:05:31

    Congratulations Lynne. They are a wonderful set of cards,its amazing what they can make paper from these days.
    Yvonne x

    Reply

  14. Gery
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 20:23:16

    What great cards are these 4!!! You bring me to all kind of ideas, because I have the whole sheet and your work is so beautiful, that it inspires me to do something with this sheet again. Thanks.
    Groetjes Gery

    Reply

  15. Ella
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 20:43:58

    Lynne I love the colors-it feels like you have captured the heart of country~
    Beautiful sentiments~ Congrats Lynne!!!

    Reply

  16. lorraine
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 21:35:43

    well done..love the old prairie style to these..looks great

    Reply

  17. astrid51
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 22:10:22

    What a lovely set, love the clever idea of the gingham stamping, gives it that beautiful country style feel. Congrats on being published again too!!

    Reply

  18. Brenda Brown
    Oct 24, 2013 @ 23:52:03

    Brilliant Lynne, love the colours and designs. Congrats on them being published and well deserved.
    hugs {brenda} x0x

    Reply

  19. Julia - Vintage with Laces
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 04:00:17

    The moose poo paper made me grin, dear Lynne. Good thing that it doesn’t smell, lol. It’s beautiful and a great backgound for your farm creations. I’ve had a red and white phase some years ago and even though I don’t use that color combination in our home anymore, I still like it when I see it. Your farm themed cards are just beautiful. Congratulations on being published!!!
    Have a lovely weekend!
    Hugs,
    Julia

    Reply

  20. Sharon
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 06:10:16

    A real counrty feel to these creations Lynne – I was brought up in the country so I love the look of these! And congrats on being published – very deserving!!

    Reply

  21. Bettina breiding Hansen
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 06:56:28

    Dear Lynne. They are so beautiful – you catch the rural idyll so good. I just love them!!!

    Reply

  22. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 13:03:49

    Dear Lynne ~ I first read and thought the Moose Poo Pad was for stamping 😉 … rather happy to hear it was PAPER and lovely too made into your perfect farm card series with the touch of red gingham = just perfect!!!
    Is there a Somerset magazine you haven’t been published in my dear ♥
    Thank you for delighting us again and again
    oxo

    Reply

  23. rachel fisher
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 16:25:33

    beautiful work Lynne – love those stamps … thanks for popping over to my blog and leaving some kind words and following – I’m you’re latest follower too! Hugs Rachel xx

    Reply

  24. Dorthe
    Oct 25, 2013 @ 18:40:16

    Dear Lynne,
    your cards for Take Ten- are such cozy ( we say so in DK, ,do you also ?) examples with the farm images,-and your gingham red/white ribbon, and fabric- looks like a beautiful summerday in the country side– just where I live 🙂
    I so love the chick card and the loose threads to see there, but they are all so beautiful, in their simplicity.
    Hope your day have been fine .
    Hug and wishes , Dorthe

    Reply

  25. Sandie
    Oct 26, 2013 @ 02:40:16

    I absolutely love these cards,so simple and so rustic.
    I must say Thank You,for visiting my blog and always leaving me such nice comments, just want you to know they are very much appreciated.
    I must have a look for the stamp magazine,I’ve not seen it locally,may have to look it up online and take out a subscription…
    Hugs
    Sandie x

    Reply

  26. Paper Profusion
    Oct 26, 2013 @ 14:44:44

    Congrats again Lynne – these are an absolutely wonderful set – well deserved publication. Sending you an email. Nicola x

    Reply

  27. nefertiti
    Oct 26, 2013 @ 19:29:58

    Congratulations Lynne! I love these cards!!!!so so original! bizz

    Reply

  28. Buttons
    Oct 26, 2013 @ 20:38:56

    Absolutely adore the whole country vibe on these Lynne. Not a surprise you are constantly published when you come up with projects like this. Jenny x

    Reply

  29. butterfly
    Oct 27, 2013 @ 15:13:15

    A fantastic, rustic country look – I agree with Buttons… no surprise that such fabulous makes as these make it into publication – I love them!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  30. Ira Huberts
    Oct 27, 2013 @ 16:11:03

    Congrats to you dear friend! Your creations have such a fine rural feel, so pretty!
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  31. Dianne
    Oct 27, 2013 @ 16:13:06

    EEKKS catch up time, my favorite :O)..Using the washi tape like that was a brilliant idea for this set, the gorgeous, little knot, brilliant,, love it, that MP paper is fantastic, looooove the flicks, loooove the sewing on the cards, the ragged look you gave it. Well this is why these cards were published, because you have showcased the stamp set brilliantly, shown how you can make a card gorgeous card in ten minute, well WE can try LOL…. thanks for the catch up….

    Reply

  32. Patricia
    Oct 28, 2013 @ 11:46:29

    Great projects, love those stamps. Living out in the country these wonderful creations really appeal to me.
    Congratulations on being Published

    Patricia

    Reply

  33. Marjie Kemper
    Oct 28, 2013 @ 13:54:31

    Congratulations, Lynne! I really like the stitching and rustic charm of these.

    Reply

  34. hettie
    Oct 29, 2013 @ 13:06:50

    Great cards there Lynne, especially the chook one – I have some of my own so I am bound to be biased!
    Not sure I fancy the idea of poo paper – other than the one in the bathroom! Great surface to stamp on by the looks of it though. Great Washi tape idea.
    Hugs
    xx

    Reply

  35. Marianne
    Nov 19, 2013 @ 23:47:39

    Very nice, Lynne. I really like the red gingham and button additions with the country theme.

    I like layering and using different odds and ends of things. Even the strings that clump on the edge of fabric remnants are quite useful and can add a nice touch.

    Hugs,
    Marianne xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

