The Calling of The Sea

Hello Everyone
So many people are drawn to the sea so I can imagine that one of Crafty Individuals most recent stamp releases, an Elements Set CI-397 will prove to be a popular set.  It is brimming with images related to the seaside along with text stamps, text stamps are always a favourite of mine and there is also a stunning feather.DIGITAL CAMERASome weeks back I made a team sample using stamps from this set for this wall hanging. lighthouselynnemBy pure chance I stumbled upon a panel which I had prepared a couple of years ago and yet whatever my intentions were at that time I obviously didn’t follow them through as this has been kicking about. The colours suited what I had in mind for this project and again, a stroke of luck that I had some A4 copier paper prepared with my homemade inks, I so love when something like this happens, it means that a project falls into place so much quicker.  In fact most of the elements had been prepared for previous projects, managing to utilise the leftovers here, such as rusted and stained fabrics.
I like this number stamp which I stamped onto Kraft style paper sourced from packaging.  I layered it onto a fragment of rusted fabric birthdaycards 029then stapled to some cotton fabric which had been lightly stained and onto which I repeatedly stamped the numbers, pleating the fabric as I worked.birthdaycards 031You will see that  I often incorporate mica tiles into my art, I like the extra dimension they bring to a piece. birthdaycards 069also layering it over this other piece of text. birthdaycards 027Gathering this and that to bring the eye towards that small piece of text. birthdaycards 032Thank You for visiting this first post for a brand new week, I always appreciate your visits.  I have drafted quite a few posts so it is possible, if I manage to schedule them, that my Blog will be quite active this week.  Wish I could tell you that I had a productive weekend, nothing of the sort but I do have plenty of catching-up to do with blog posts, to actually get previous artwork posted here before Christmas dominates,  that is the plan anyway!
Wishes
Lynne

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. craftytrog
    Nov 04, 2013 @ 12:38:15

    Lots of wonderful elements on this beautiful panel Lynne! I have some mica pieces somewhere…I must start using them!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  2. Dianne
    Nov 04, 2013 @ 12:52:12

    Oh my goodness Miss Lynne, this is drop dead GORGEOUSSSSS, the piece was waiting for you to work your magic on it and you did, looooove all the rusted pieces, okay I loooooove your feathery background, yummy, love the mica tiles, well I just looooove it and all of your outstanding work, no one does it better, thanks for sharing, I’ll have these pieces dancing in my head all day, hope you have a wonderful day too, (((( BIG HUGS ))))

    Reply

  3. Rita
    Nov 04, 2013 @ 13:06:52

    What a fantastic piece Lynne. I love the stamp and the way you have put it all together. Reminds me a bit of Grace Darling the heroine. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  4. Marilyn J. Rock
    Nov 04, 2013 @ 13:32:13

    Lynne; this is lovely! All of your colors, stamping, words, take me back to my favorite times at the ocean. Thank you! xxoo

    Reply

  5. rachel fisher
    Nov 04, 2013 @ 13:34:47

    beautiful work Lynne – I just adore that stamp set – its defo on my wish list now xx

    Reply

  6. astrid51
    Nov 04, 2013 @ 14:03:59

    Another gorgeous hanging Lynne, the way you use fabric in your creations is always so clever!

    Reply

  7. Meggymay
    Nov 04, 2013 @ 14:17:51

    Wonderful hanging Lynne, great details as always.
    Yvonne x

    Reply

  8. Dorthe
    Nov 04, 2013 @ 17:58:43

    Wonderful sea hanger, in just the most beautiful blue sea colour in your background,-making such perfect colour for the rusted and inked pieces, of stamped numbers and text. And dear Lynne, I love the Mica-tiles also, but save them much, not knowing where to get them after finished what I have !! Also your pleated fabric with numbers is a beautiful idea. The set of stamps are wonderful.
    Hug from Dorthe, x

    Reply

  9. Ira
    Nov 04, 2013 @ 18:20:26

    Such a wonderful tribute to the sea Lynne, very powerful, as is the sea itself. The touch of blue goes extremely well with the vintage colours of your stamps, it’s so beautifully made! Ira x
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  10. Annie G
    Nov 04, 2013 @ 19:43:01

    Absolutely stunning hanging Lynne. Love the wonderful background and the creative layers of the lighthouse and gulls. Beautifully adorned as always.

    I have to push myself now as my creative plans did not materialise and timescales are looming x TFS

    Hugs Annie x

    Reply

  11. Corrie
    Nov 04, 2013 @ 21:20:09

    Wonderful as always, Lynne. Love the vintage feel of this.
    Corrie x

    Reply

  12. valerie-Jael
    Nov 05, 2013 @ 07:31:07

    Beautiful piece, love the stamp you have used, too! Valerie

    Reply

  13. Julia - Vintage with Laces
    Nov 05, 2013 @ 08:30:35

    That’s another fabulous creation, dear Lynne. The stamps are wonderful and I love the colors. The rusty brown goes so well with that dusty shade of blue. Pretty background and embellishment as well.
    Have a wonderful week!
    Hugs,
    Julia

    Reply

  14. Paper Profusion
    Nov 05, 2013 @ 11:33:46

    This is wonderful Lynne – love the colour scheme and all your gorgeous tactile elements. Nicola x

    Reply

  15. Shirley
    Nov 05, 2013 @ 14:26:48

    Very beautiful again, I really like the rustic feel to the design. Have a great day, Shirleyx

    Reply

  16. PetraB
    Nov 05, 2013 @ 14:31:29

    this is so lovely, love the vintage feel of the piece

    Reply

  17. Julie Lee
    Nov 05, 2013 @ 15:56:26

    Hello Lynne! Thank you for stopping by my blog and becoming my newest follower. You are so very welcome to drop into Magpieheaven anytime! I love your blog and that gorgeous sea-inspired piece has taken my breath away! Life’s been hard lately but I’ve made some lovely new creative friends in Blogland so hurrah! It’s so enriching to see the beautiful things others make and delight in their creativity! Julie Ann xx

    Reply

  18. Sugar Lump Studios
    Nov 05, 2013 @ 17:28:10

    Such a lovely piece Lynne with the shades of blue and brown…love the stamps too! I’m always drawn to the sea/Great Lakes…my Great-Grandparent’s were fishermen off the coast of Ayr…:) Hope you are enjoying your November so far…trying to get back in the swing of things here! xoxo

    Reply

  19. Valerie
    Nov 05, 2013 @ 22:43:39

    Hi Lynne, sorry for not commenting lately, don’t know where the weeks go. Goodness knows how I ever found time to work:) Love this project anything to do with the sea always makes me nostalgic, especially when I saw the text includes the shipping forecast names. That takes me back I always listened to it on the radio:) I was also taken with your merriment and reels project, beautiful, loved the owl!
    Val x

    Reply

  20. Terry
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 04:07:21

    Well this hanging makes me want to head out to the sea! Beautiful Lynne and I just love all the layers! Hugs!

    Reply

  21. Shelly Schmidt
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 05:16:22

    Making me wish I lived in a warmer climate! I love the sounds of the waves crashing up on the shore……Love all of the beautiful ! I wish I could just put together pieces on my desk and end up like a project like this!!!

    Reply

  22. Patricia
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 06:10:41

    Wow! This wonderful project is absolutely fantastic, I love all the additional embellishments.
    Happy crafting

    Patricia x

    Reply

  23. hettie
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 13:36:16

    Fantastic hanging Lynne. Love the whole composition of it and brilliantly executed.
    Love it.
    xx

    Reply

  24. Moira
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 15:55:06

    Your work is stunning, love it.

    Moira xx

    Reply

  25. Sue
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 19:13:37

    A lovely hanging Lynne and a great use of the images. I always plan to spend a few hours preparing backgrounds and elements but never get around to it. I need to be more organised.

    Reply

  26. may
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 20:38:42

    Gorgeous hanging Lynne, Love those stamps… I need them I think for my collection as I live by the sea…The attention to detail in your work is fabulous..Hugs May x x x

    Reply

  27. Jean
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 21:08:49

    I absolutely love this hanging Lynne – duck egg blue perhaps – beautiful. Jean x

    Reply

  28. Sharon
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 07:48:49

    Great stamp set Lynne – a very peaceful sea scene!!

    Reply

  29. michele s
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 18:23:59

    charming and reminiscent of the best in beach getaways. i’d like to have a beach getaway in fact! thanks for the virtual holiday. xo

    Reply

  30. Marjie Kemper
    Nov 07, 2013 @ 22:44:39

    Feels like the seagulls are making their noise in the background… I just love this combo of colors and the mica and rough twine/rope next to the delicate lace.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

