To The Lighthouse

Hello Everyone
Staying with the masculine theme that seems to be dominant in my Blog so far this week I have decided to share a card made a few weeks ago.
You might well know that Crafty Individuals released quite a few new stamps recently but for this post I am sharing a card made from the previous set of stamps they released which included this wonderful Elements set, CI-397.DIGITAL CAMERAYou might recognise the stamps as I shared a wall hanging sample not so long ago but today it is a card I am sharing (sent to my brother-in-law for his birthday in October).
My brother-in-law hails from Lossiemouth and his Dad was a fisherman so the stamps seemed so suited for him.
lighthousecardlynnemoncrieffI started with a Gelli Print from when I was playing with the Gelli Plate when I first received it.  I used lots of metallic paints from the EcoGreen Crafts acrylics range, working directly onto the cardbase. The card is 8″x8″ and my Gelli Plate only 6″x6″ so I worked in random fashion selecting patches of the card to work on at any time then moving to another random area. When I came across it the colours were right for what I had in mind for the card but I wanted a stamped background so I added stamping in the form of that divine feather. You can see some of the stamped background in this  photograph.
Isn’t it funny how certain stamps can really appeal, for some reason this stamp with the numbers really appeals to me. It is the stamped surface that has broken up the stamping, the found paper has a gorgeous texture to it, brings a lovely rustic appearance to the stamping.detail4You know I like texture and all my little bits of this ‘n’ that.  Here are some gathered to the side of the painted/rusted corrugated cardboard with a stamped seagull resting on a bark circle.
detail1Stained paper with the feather creating a subtle background onto which I stamped the lighthouse, layering with mica.october16 008 (2)Another stamp from this Elements set peeks beneath the main stamped panel.
More textures come to play with that fragment of rusted fabric against the corrugated cardboard and the texture of the jute and a teeny fragment of stained seam binding. detail2Thank You for your visit to this post especially when post after post has had such a masculine influence to it. I have no doubt that the next post will be more my usual style!
Wishes
Lynne

35 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rita
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 12:14:43

    Great card Lynne. You do the masculine cards so well. Its something I struggle with. Saying that, I’m creating a card for my son’s 50th birthday on Sunday. Keep Warm in this chilly clime. Hugs Rita xxxx

    Reply

  2. Gery
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 12:37:03

    You created a beautiful and very manly card for your “sailing” brother in law.
    Lovely that you could find such suitable stamps forhim on this card.
    When I succeed in these things, I am always quite satisfied about the results and you can be too.
    This realy is a gorgeous pice of work.
    PS: love the new range of stamps from CI!
    Groetjes Gery

    Reply

  3. nefertiti
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 12:54:25

    Wonderful use of these stamps!!!!! bravo! bisous

    Reply

  4. craftytrog
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 12:55:37

    This is such a wonderful image, & beautifully used here Lynne. I love how you used the mica tile as a highlight.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  5. hettiecraft
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 13:05:34

    This is wonderful Lynne. Brilliant use of the stamps.
    xx

    Reply

  6. Julie Lee
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 13:21:18

    This is a work of art, Lynne. I love the ‘masculine’ cards you’ve been creating. They are beautiful and would be just as appealing to women, I think. I really love how you have used the hemp and the seam binding on this creation and all the subtle stamping. That feather is, indeed, divine! I am one of those people who actually love Virginia Woolf’s writing and ‘To the Lighthouse’ is to my mind an elegant and poetic novel that I return to again and again: this card evokes its dreamy quality; its evocation of the sea and its reminiscences perfectly. It is also so apt for your brother-in-law too. I’ve really been uplifted by looking at it. Julie Ann xxx

    Reply

  7. astrid51
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 13:30:22

    A beautiful card Lynne that I sure will be much appreciated by the recipient! Love how you have used the corrugated card! The whole mood is very evocative.

    Reply

  8. 2amscrapper
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 13:41:46

    what beautiful texture and design–such a warm color palette

    Reply

  9. Dorthe
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 15:10:08

    He will be so delighted recieving this, dear Lynne,- it is perfect with his background, and the colours again so beautiful., I really love your green “period” 🙂 Your gelli background looks wonderful with the feathers and all your adds :- the bird and numbers, the brown button and the heawy fabrics,- makes this a gorgeous male-card .
    Hugs and xx
    Dorthe

    Reply

  10. may
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 15:10:59

    Fabulous card Lynne, Love the stamps and amazing texture..great male card… Hugs May x x x

    Reply

  11. Anne R
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 15:44:02

    I really love your masculine themed cards this week and this one is fabulous. I do love a lighthouse and this one is so beautiful. That feather stamp really is divine and I love how you used it in the background. A truly stunning card. Hugs, Anne x

    Reply

  12. Patricia
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 15:48:07

    Great card, I love how you have used the corrugated card.
    Everything about this is just great

    Patricia x

    Reply

  13. valerie-Jael
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 16:09:04

    This has all the elements I love – cardboard, string, buttons and softly coloured images – grrrrrrrrreat! Valerie

    Reply

  14. Renee Zarate
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 16:17:16

    This is so lovely! My favorite colors.

    Reply

  15. Corrie
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 17:23:14

    Wonderfullty grungy!
    Corrie x

    Reply

  16. rachel fisher
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 19:06:14

    love this stamp set – another to add to my wishlist! Beautiful xx

    Reply

  17. Marianne
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 20:19:40

    A wonderful card, Lynne…I’m sure your brother-in-law loved it. And Happy Birthday to him.

    Hugs,
    Marianne xo

    Reply

  18. tracy745
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 21:09:51

    Love the fragment of,rusted fragment and the corrugated card is a wonderful textural backdrop. Love the image and warm tones too. Tracy x

    Reply

  19. Meggymay
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 21:36:14

    Wonderful elements and textures, its a fantastic card.
    yvonne

    Reply

  20. Alie Hoogenboezem-de Vries
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 22:00:57

    Great mixed media on this card Lynne…what a gorgeous collage!

    Reply

  21. Marilyn J. Rock
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 23:44:17

    This is wonderful!

    Reply

  22. Terry
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 00:10:08

    Lynne, this is another fabulous masculine project! I love the lighthouse on the mica piece! Gorgeous!

    Reply

  23. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 05:46:07

    As much as I seem to lean toward feminine creating I have enjoyed each and every masculine creation of yours dear Lynne!
    Each one quite amazing and they would be appealing to anyone/everyone I am sure…
    You have such an eye with all of your special touches.
    The mica on the lighthouse is excellent as are all of your beautiful embellishments!
    Happy beginning of the weekend dear one ♥
    oxo

    Reply

  24. Brenda Brown
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 07:29:05

    Love seeing the masculine influences Lynne, this is a beautiful design and I love the monochromatic palette too. Such great details with the fabulous CI images.
    hugs {brenda} x0x

    Reply

  25. Rosie
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 14:11:34

    wow, this is gorgeous – as always, Lynne.

    Have a nice weekend

    Reply

  26. 1cardcreator
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 19:20:16

    Lovely and yet masculine too. ~Diane

    Reply

  27. butterfly
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 19:46:32

    Such golden, glowing beauty… this has such a wonderfully nostalgic feel about it of long golden summers, and the mournful cries of the seagulls. Absolutely gorgeous.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  28. Paper Profusion
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 20:52:24

    Alison said ‘glowing’ and I totally agree! Totally gorgeous Lynne. I used love listening to the BBC shipping news for some odd reason – you’ve reminded me I havn’t heard in a good while. Hope you are well Lynne and I’ll email v soon. Have a good weekend. Nicola x

    Reply

  29. Avril
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 21:25:51

    Such a gorgeous card Lynne, love the layering with the mica.
    Lovely masculine card with great textures.
    Have a great weekend.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  30. michele s
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 22:52:33

    such rich color and imagery! I can imagine myself in this scene and it is a very peaceful feeling! xo

    Reply

  31. Marjie Kemper
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 00:20:39

    This is exquisite, Lynne. The little tiniest bits add so much, and then the eye wanders and spies even more. The feather in the BG is such a lovely touch, and corrugated cardboard has never looked so good!

    Reply

  32. Silvia
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 17:35:15

    Wow, such a fantastic creation, great colors and images.

    Reply

  33. Dianne
    Nov 17, 2013 @ 00:24:29

    WOW Miss Lynne you do the masculine thing divinely, it looks like that card has been hanging in the light house for years, a amazing piece of art work. the background is stunning, looooove the feather stamp too, the row of numbers,brilliant, all you bits and bobs, GENIUS…. Oh Miss Lynne masculine, feminine, it doesn’t matter whatever you make is OUTSTANDING and a JOY to behold, thanks for sharing…

    Reply

  34. Shelly Schmidt
    Nov 17, 2013 @ 03:21:49

    Loving the Monochromatic theme and the masculine card. The images are wonderful. Wonderful background corrugated cardboard- the images are so wonderful!

    Reply

  35. Sharon
    Dec 01, 2013 @ 00:21:09

    A great seaside themed creation!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

