She Dreams of Christmas

Hello Everyone
Let me squeeze in a post. Not so long ago I shared a Christmas card featuring a beautiful image from Nicecrane’s Vintage Women’s Christmas. Spending time using those images to create Christmas cards has been a pleasure as they are such gorgeous images.
I rarely use pattern papers, not because I don’t like pattern papers, I do and I especially love to see others use them but for some reason and I haven’t figured it out yet, I tend to back away from using them.  For the Christmas cards that I am making this year, although I like using glass glitter/vintage mica flakes with a stencil and texture paste I also wanted another design, something else that would provide shimmer and texture on the card which is why I have been using gilding waxes.
This is an 8″x8″ card.lynnemoncrieffvintagewomenschristmasDifferent waxes were used on the background, obviously after I had laid down the snowflakes which is a Clear Scraps Nordic Snowflakes stencil available from That’s Crafty which I used it with modeling paste.
detail3In fact there is very little the wax hasn’t come into contact with!  Applied to this starburst wooden embellishment and the flat back pearl sticker and also the found paper, doily and the painted corrugated cardboard!detail2For me, the tones in this image are so appealing but I did feel that sparkle was in order so I reached for some beautiful vintage style mica flakes.  A fragment of stained lace was a perfect colour to match this card.detail1It will come as no surprise that any stamps which make an appearance on this card are from Oxford Impressions.
Thank you so much for taking the time to visit this post. There will be more Vintage Women’s Christmas to share very soon so I do hope you like what I am creating with the Nicecrane images.
Edit:- This was a drafted post but I wanted to add a Thank You for the comments I am catching-up on reading for the past couple of Blog posts. I have been a wee bit absent from being on-line the past couple of days and not managed to visit my favourite Blogs but I will catch-up with you very soon if I haven’t managed to do so this evening.
Wishes
Lynne

39 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fliss
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 22:06:47

    A real textured stunner Lynne and the background is just amazing for the beautiful image and embellishing.
    Hugs, Fliss xx

    Reply

  2. may
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 22:13:30

    Gorgeous Christmas card Lynne, Love the image & sparkle…Simply Beautiful… Hugs May x x x

    Reply

  3. rachel fisher
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 22:19:35

    such a wonderful design – those snowflakes are amazing – and that lady has a fabulous look on her face. great texture too xx

    Reply

  4. Margie D
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 22:22:10

    Gorgeous card Lynne, I love that effect of the gilding wax on the texture paste of the snowflakes and the image you’ve used is beautiful – must go and check those out at Nicecrane. Margie xx

    Reply

  5. Rita
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 22:24:25

    Beautiful Card Lynne. I love that background and the technique you used to create it. Nicecrane has some beautiful designs. Hugs Rita xxxxx

    Reply

  6. Marilyn J. Rock
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 22:38:19

    I love everything about this! xo

    Reply

  7. Julie Lee
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 22:50:50

    This such a beautiful card. Dazzling is the word that comes to mind. I love the warmth of it and the wonderful textures. Really impressive work. Julie Ann xx

    Reply

  8. Sandy Dehon
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 23:01:06

    Your cards are always so gorgeous – always inspiring awe – certainly not laughter. Quite beautiful!!
    sandy

    Reply

  9. Suzy Quaife
    Nov 15, 2013 @ 23:03:56

    Hello Dear Lynne You have created such a beautiful vintage Christmas piece here.
    Love the snowflake textured background and, of course, what a beautiful image.
    Love all your added bits of found papers, painted cardboard and old lace.
    Beautiful work my friend and have a lovely weekend,
    Warm hugs,
    Suzy

    Reply

  10. Renee Zarate
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 00:57:11

    So elegant! Congrats on all your beautiful work displayed in the recent Take Ten magazine. Always a delight to see what you have created.

    Reply

  11. Andrea Ockey Parr
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 02:06:35

    This is so incredibly lovely! The colors are reminiscent of an elegant time gone by, yet it’s still a gloriously modern take on a traditional card. Those layers you created were BRILLIANT! I’ve been reading up on gilding waxes and this piece totally inspires me to try and give them a whirl. I also love the different textures you achieved. You are one talented lady- no doubt- and I always feel refreshed and edified after seeing your work. Keep up the amazingness!

    Reply

  12. Marianne
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 02:16:17

    So pretty, Lynne. The image is lovely, but the accents added make it all come together so well.

    Hugs,
    Marianne xo

    Reply

  13. annie
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 07:20:54

    Wonderful vintage Christmas make Lynne 🙂 stunning background and adornments around the beautiful image . TFS and have a lovely weekend
    Annie x

    Reply

  14. Bettina breiding Hansen
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 08:08:50

    So beautiful and a fantastic background, dear Lynne!!

    Reply

  15. Deborah (rustycage11)
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 08:47:19

    The gilding waxed background is breathtaking, Lynne – and I love the addition of the mica flakes. Bliss!

    Reply

  16. valerie-Jael
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 09:00:59

    Another beautiful piece, with all the elements I love! Valerie

    Reply

  17. Anne R
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 10:17:36

    I just love the way the gilding waxes add a beautiful lustre to the snowflakes without being in your face sparkly! The mica flakes make a perfect frame too. The Nicecrane image is wonderful. Love this card Lynne. Hugs, Anne x

    Reply

  18. Alie Hoogenboezem-de Vries
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 11:11:52

    What an impressive result Lynne…gorgeous artwork

    have a nice weekend, Alie 🙂

    Reply

  19. Meggymay
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 12:27:47

    Stunning textures and beautiful details.
    Yvonne

    Reply

  20. Shirley
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 13:25:29

    Beautiful lady and gorgeous card. Love all the cream & gold. Happy Weekend, Shirleyx

    Reply

  21. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 14:57:51

    What a beauty of a card you have created here dear Lynne!
    Lovely layers and your snowflake background is really splendid along with the perfect glitter touches and that piece of netting (♥ bits like that and can never throw even the tiniest scraps away!)
    Happy Weekend Dear One…
    oxo

    Reply

  22. Dorthe
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 16:04:45

    Hello my lovely friend ,
    What a beautiful, creation, Lynne,-the waxed surfaces looks fantastic, and the image is so adorable. And love all those gorgeous layers with the glitter and snow falling , also the snowflake background is wonderful and makes it the sweetest christmas card.
    Hug, and happy week-end Lynne.
    Dorthe,xx

    Reply

  23. Sue
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 16:09:04

    A stunning piece and the gilding wax gives it a glass-like quality. I love this.

    Reply

  24. trisha too
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 16:18:53

    Absolutely beautiful piece, and so aptly named–she really does have a dreamy expression. 🙂

    Reply

  25. Corrie
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 17:35:22

    Beautiful card, Lynne. I love your work !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  26. Silvia
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 17:35:58

    That’s amazing.

    Reply

  27. nicecrane
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 19:56:41

    This card is sooo amazing Lynne,,,,,,I love your embossed back and the vintage look ,what a unique way to showcase my picture,,,,,.You are Rock.

    Reply

  28. craftytrog
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 22:12:13

    I love your snowflakes & those wonderful layers Lynne! A beautiful project! xx

    Reply

  29. Dianne
    Nov 17, 2013 @ 00:36:11

    No one does vintage, glamour better than you Miss Lynne, WOWZER, first I would love to feel it, very carefully :), it’s mesmerizing, a little bit of this a little bit of that and you have created a piece of art work again and your still calling them cards, AMAZING.. Thanks for sharing, I DO love to visit you, I feel full of joy, full of inspiration….. Hope your having a wonderful weekend.. ((( BIG HUGS )))…

    Reply

  30. Coco
    Nov 17, 2013 @ 08:42:23

    That’s a fabulous make, WONDERFUL !!! 🙂 Hugs xxx

    Reply

  31. butterfly
    Nov 17, 2013 @ 14:13:03

    Glorious golden shimmer – what a wonderful creation, Lynne, with such fabulous textures too.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  32. Viola
    Nov 18, 2013 @ 09:36:58

    Gorgeous, Lynne, really elegant!

    Reply

  33. Paper Profusion
    Nov 18, 2013 @ 11:36:31

    Oh my all the gilding looks beautiful and I bet is even more shimmery in the hand. Very beautiful my dear Lynne. Nicola x

    Reply

  34. nefertiti
    Nov 18, 2013 @ 22:13:06

    Fabulous background! very beautiful card!!!bizz

    Reply

  35. Martina
    Nov 19, 2013 @ 12:00:15

    Your card is gorgeous, Lynne! It takes my breath away!
    Fantastic piece of art!

    Reply

  36. Kate
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 01:56:03

    So pretty! The gold embossed background is stunning!

    Reply

  37. MarieS.
    Nov 26, 2013 @ 06:59:08

    Hi dear Lynne,
    this post was hidding in my old mail:) A stunning creation.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  38. Sharon
    Dec 01, 2013 @ 00:20:25

    Oh this is stunning and so elegant!!

    Reply

  39. nicecrane
    Dec 08, 2013 @ 19:51:13

    a ture play of art,,,,,,Lynne,,,,, you are always surprising to me,,,,,,with your creations and I am a fan of vintage Style,,,,,wowww,wowwww

    Reply

Leave a Reply

