Come Shelter With Me

Hello Everyone
I thought I would share a Crafty Individual sample, in fact two samples using the same stamp,  CI-399
9 november 001Three little children snuggled under a large umbrella to take shelter from the falling snow.
8″x8″ CardlynnemoncrieffchristmascardYou will have guessed that it was a snowflake stencil and modelling paste which formed the background and I then applied two colours of gilding wax. I brought aquamarine into the background as I had already stamped the image onto the painted book text with Martha Stewart Sea Lavender and wanted a hit of blue to come through on the background.
Slightly out of focus! Sorry for that. I could have sharpened it with photo editing but I have found that sometimes it can alter it too much so I opted to leave it slightly fuzzy!!! What you cannot see, I highlighted the image with Sakura Stardust pen, a firm favourite of mine.focal imageNow a tour of the little bits such as winter.  What I especially love about Crafty Individuals is they could  have sold the stamp as the image of the children but they go that extra mile to provide wonderful details which I always like to make use of as stamped elements on my projects.  It became part of a nice little accent by layering and adhering onto a metal frame which I had altered to suit the colour of the card and this was in turn layered onto painted corrugated cardboard.detail1I don’t know where I would have been without certain items this year for Christmas cards, that includes Studio Calico as I have loved using their Starbursts and Tiny Stars (from That’s Crafty) so easy to paint, ink add waxes or leave natural. detail2Also here with a fragment of stamped border leftover from another project using this stamp.1 december 049Some of the layers and textures used for this card, all sitting side by side.detail4The text part of the stamp only inked up to give me this sentiment.1 december 048Now it is definitely photo-heavy but let me continue so I can share another card using this same stamp. lynnemoncrieffsample2Silver, pink and blue colour palette for this card with only silver wax for the background this time.
This year, for any cards I did make, I tended to keep to a core selection of items. Doilies I like not only for their decorative detail but they give me another layer and so easy to alter the colour to suit the project.
Once again I used the stamp to give me those added little extras I like to include, such as wonderland. detail1and the snowflake border.detail2-001I bought this ribbon such a long time ago, possibly 4 years ago. It was a situation of I liked it at the time but saving it for a rainy day and then each year I looked at it and didn’t like it until this year it seemed to suit the mood of this card. 1 december 059If you managed to reach the end of this post then I thank you for staying with me as it was incredibly long.
I’d like to bring your attention, once more to the Crafty Individuals December Challenge. Still plenty time to participate so if you have been busy creating a festive themed project and it happens to have a Crafty Individuals product (so long as one CI product has been used) then why not enter the challenge. The top five winners will each win a stamp of their choice.
Thank you for your visit here today, always appreciated.
Wishes
Lynne

33 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Corrie Herriman
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 15:10:19

    I am not in love with this stamp but I DO love what you did with it. Love the snowflake background especially ! Wonderful.
    Corrie x

    Reply

  2. Rita
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 15:31:23

    Beautiful cards Lynne. I am so lucky to have one of your cards adorning my home at the moment. Annie just loves this stamp too. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  3. Marianne
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 15:43:01

    These cards are truly lovely, and make delightful Christmas cards to keep up all winter long. I am really liking the Martha Stewart Sea paint – the color is fantastic and so versatile for any season. I love the ribbon. It adds beautiful texture and color.

    If you’re not too tired of the Christmas hangers, I have two more recently posted that I think you will like. I’m going to fill them with special chocolates and give them to some friends. I’ll keep a couple for myself, though 😉

    Blessings,
    Marianne xo

    Reply

  4. Dorthe
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 16:02:50

    Dear Lynne,
    they are stunningly beautiful both. The paint from M.Stuart is so lovely a tone, I will remember to look for that,- the painted corrugated cardboard in this colour and the Winter sign looks so lovely,-also the star and doily in silver is wonderful accents, which makes me think of frost and snow-beauty.The pink card is wonderful,too, -so sweet with the snowflake boarder and pink ribbon under the star.
    You have been bussy, Lynne… I`m starting to worry if my card for you is lost!!!! I so hope not!!!
    Sending you a hug and hope your day has been good.
    Dorthe,xx

    Reply

  5. CarolS
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 16:52:22

    Oh Lynne, these are gorgeous! I love that stamp…so cute! I think I love the first card better but boy the other one is a very close second! Love all the modeling paste and coloring! All the different layered bits are wonderful! Pretty, pretty!
    Hugs!
    Carol

    Reply

  6. rachel fisher
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 16:53:56

    beautiful work Lynne and fantastic details – love these to bits! Hugs rachel xx

    Reply

  7. valerie-Jael
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 17:49:53

    Beautiful tag, love the snowflake background and all the details. It is a wonderful stamp, too. Valerie

    Reply

  8. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 19:00:36

    precious creations dear Lynne with your soft color touches that are always so appealing and beautiful ♥

    I am a big fan of the Stardust pen too … fa la laa
    oxo

    Reply

  9. craftytrog
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 19:29:45

    Beautiful wintry creations Lynne! That’s such a wonderful image.
    Alison x

    Reply

  10. Anne R
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 20:22:53

    Oh what gorgeous cards, both of them. I adore that stamp and also love the stencilled background. The touches of pink on the second one are really beautiful. Hugs, Anne x

    Reply

  11. astrid51
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 20:27:41

    Stunning cards Lynne, both of them! I love this stamp and once more, you have used it so well! Crafty Individuals are lucky to have you on their team!

    Reply

  12. Meggymay
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 21:12:30

    Wonderful details, love your projects.
    Yvonne

    Reply

  13. Alie Hoogenboezem-de Vries
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 22:11:24

    Such a cute stamps of the girls…a great combination with your creative style Lynne

    kind regards, Alie

    Reply

  14. coco
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 22:30:50

    For me, I really love this stamp and what you did with it my dear Lynne! Two Adorable cards today!! 🙂 Hugs, Coco xx

    Reply

  15. Buttons
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 22:49:37

    These are both so beautiful Lynne. I love the crystal snow wintery feel to both of them. Jenny x

    Reply

  16. Paper Profusion
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 23:24:15

    Both so beautiful Lynne – I can attest to that! All your little finishing touches are always perfectly superb. Nicola x

    Reply

  17. Avril
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 23:34:54

    I love how you’ve used this gorgeous image Lynne – great details as usual.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  18. marci piraro
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 00:08:11

    Both exquisite! The stenciled and gilded snowflakes, the ribbon, the stamping, love all of it. Oh, and the color!

    Reply

  19. trisha too
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 00:24:17

    Like Corrie, I probably wouldn’t have given this stamp itself a second look–but what you’ve created with it, adorable!

    So I was on facebook, catching up (been out of town), and there was a pic of the cover of the latest Stamper’s Sampler featuring someone’s name on the front cover . . . can you guess who it was?? (Congratulations!)

    Reply

  20. MarieS.
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:20:41

    Simply beautiful,dear Lynne.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  21. Shirley
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 15:02:11

    I really like the image and your designs compliment it so well. Love the touches of pink on the second one. As always your details are gorgeous. Shirleyx

    Reply

  22. Darlene
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 15:58:38

    well you know I luv these !!! especially the second one …..

    Reply

  23. Sharon
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:14:51

    Gorgeous stamp!! Love your wintery creation Lynne!

    Reply

  24. Julie
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:40:45

    Beautiful frosty background. I had the same stamp arrive yesterday from CI. Still to play with it.

    Reply

  25. Rosie
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 15:42:05

    Your cards are gorgeous, as always, dear Lynne

    Reply

  26. Doreen
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 16:19:43

    Wow stunning,love all the gorgeous texture.xxx

    Reply

  27. Marianne
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 18:33:17

    Lynne, thank you so much for you lovely comment, and for sharing. Oh, I am sorry to hear you were not well, and hope you are feeling much better.

    Merry Christmas and best wishes,
    Marianne xo

    Reply

  28. Julie Lee
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 19:12:26

    Beautiful detail and a beautiful stamp. I love how you used it on both cards. You are always so inspirational. Have a lovely Christmas and a creative New Year, Julie Ann xx

    Reply

  29. Sandy Dehon
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 22:10:45

    Gorgeous – I thought for sure I left a comment on your card. I love the image.
    Sandy

    Reply

  30. Ira
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 16:55:02

    Wowzers dear Lynne, you certainly have a way with stamps (and that’s a complete understatement!!) These are both true stunners, tremendously beautifully made! Take care, Ira x
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  31. laury55
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 19:08:21

    love your card, the stamp is beautiful and the glitter is just perfect for a Xmas card

    Reply

  32. butterfly
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 21:02:17

    Absolutely delightful, Lynne – the colour palette is amazing, and I love that background. Another Studio Calico fan here – I’ve loved using them!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  33. hettiecraft
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 18:01:40

    Gosh Lynne – this is absolutely gorgeous. Great stamp and great use of it.
    Merry Christmas
    xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

