The Bliss Of Reading (Published)

Hello Everyone
Back in December it was a surprise to see that delivered along with two magazines I was expecting, Take Ten and Sew Somerset (more on those another time) there was also a copy of Somerset Studio Gallery. To my huge delight I had two pieces published!
My submission was all about the bliss of reading and featured a beautiful stamp from the Oxford Impressions’ Soul of the Rose (this stamp plate is also available in the U.K. from That’s Crafty.) a stamp that speaks to me as I am a Bookworm.  In my family my Mum and I are the readers with my Dad and sister not sharing our passion.  I have always found comfort in being surrounded by books and it is my Mum I have to thank  for nurturing this love.  Although I was lucky enough to have books bought for me she would take me, when I was a little child, to the local Library.  It is very special that to this day my Mum and I will share books, in the whole we have the same tastes and how we love to have our chats about the books we have read and reading. I treasure that.
This piece that was published was an altered book cover which I hope conveys my love of reading and the bliss that I find in those times when I hold a book in my hands.the readerlynnemoncrieff
The addition of stamped pens on either side of the stamped image and also two vintage pen nibs were added to the collage.
The texture of various paints can be seen to the side of the pen, I also added dabs of Crackle paint to bring more texture to the piece. DIGITAL CAMERABliss, that surely says it all. DIGITAL CAMERABeing published is made all the sweeter when it is shared with friends.  In this issue of Somerset Studio Gallery I was thrilled to see my lovely friend Marjie was published and my other friends Lynn Stevens and Nancy Maxwell James, Each of those artists have their own unique style and on seeing their art in Somerset Studio Gallery, I easily picked out the art that belonged to those amazing artists.
As always, a thank you to you for taking the time to visit this latest post. Have a wonderful week and I hope to catch-up with you very soon.
Wishes
Lynne

51 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Junquemail Contessa (Casey Nelson)
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 02:35:42

    Congratulations, it’s truly deserved as your art is stunning. Nancy Maxwell James is the person who inspired me to start mixed media by seeing her art in a Stampington magazine. Yay you!

    Reply

  2. Suzy
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 06:05:27

    Oh this is gorgeous and the image reminds me of you Lynne as I know what a book worm you are yourself. The details are all so perfect with pen and nibs added too!
    Well done for being published once again and it is so nice to be seen along with your other friends, like Nancy and Lynn too.
    Sending hugs from the sunny downunder,
    Suzy

    Reply

  3. may
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 06:27:42

    Congratulations Lynne your work is always so inspiring…Beautiful book cover the details are perfect.. the image is fabulous…being published means so many others can enjoy your lovely creations… Hugs May x x x

    Reply

  4. Brenda Brown
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 06:48:47

    Just delightful, love this image and the way you have used it. Those pens look fabulous.
    Have a good week.
    hugs {brenda} x0x

    Reply

  5. valerie-Jael
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 07:55:01

    Really gorgeous, congrats on being published! My mother used to tell me that people who read all day would never have any friends, but she never stopped me from doing it…. Valerie

    Reply

  6. rachel fisher
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 08:03:49

    this is beautiful Lynne – I love that image too! My hubby and eldest daughter are read – a – holics – I like the idea of reading but never seem to find time for it! Lol! Hugs rachel x

    Reply

  7. Julie
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 08:11:34

    What a beautiful image and project. So lovely the story you have put of inspiration with it. Congrats, Julie x

    Reply

  8. artlynne@talktalk.net
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 08:49:18

    So beautiful Lynne, just love your work and the style calls to me. Am going to purchase the stamps and wonder which is the best ink please. Also a good place to purchase online images in the same kind of style. Look forward so much to seeing your posts.

    Lynne 🙂

    Reply

    • lynne
      Jan 20, 2014 @ 12:36:36

      Thank You so much for your wonderful comment.
      I use Archival ink with glossy cardstock but there are times I will use Versafine if I am stamping onto non-coated cardstock. Some people also use Staz-on it is trial and error but I cannot recommend Archival ink highly enough. Also to use a Speedball brayer for applying the ink to the stamp.
      If you are in the U.K. then That’s Crafty stocks some Oxford Impressions stamps. If you are a U.K. resident then unfortunately, the U.S.A. is the best place for photo real stamps. Austen Gallery is the Oxford Impressions on-line store which has the most beautiful collection of photo real stamp sets and also The Stampsmith, again, another stamp company known for their high quality photo real stamps.
      I do hope this helps as once you discover photo real stamps there is no turning back, they are so beautiful to work with.
      Wishes
      Lynne

      Reply

  9. butterfly
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 09:56:07

    How fantastic to find yourself featured in such a beautiful magazine. I’ve been looking at the Stamping Sampler over the weekend – and to be honest, I don’t know what they would do without you! So many amazing projects from you on page after page… so I’m not surprised to hear you’re in their other publications too!

    As for this book cover – it’s absolutely wonderful, and so speaks to my heart.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  10. Avril
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 10:16:13

    Hi Lynne, how wonderful to find yourself published with this lovely piece, such a gorgeous image beautifully displayed.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  11. Alie Hoogenboezem-de Vries
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 12:06:50

    Congrats you famous Lynne :-). I can understand it was published because it looks gorgeous!

    Reply

  12. craftytrog
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 13:36:25

    Congratulations Lynne! There’s nothing better than a good book, & your artwork is beautiful! xxx

    Reply

  13. Dianne
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 13:36:28

    Congratulations again Miss Lynne, it is F-A-N-T-A-S-T-I-C.. I’m a huge reader myself a looooove to go to the library, a friend gave me an electronic book reader, I ended up giving it back, I just love to hold the book while I’m reading it, call me crazy.. Brilliant idea to use a book cover, the lovely edged pages, the nibs, and the pen, your lovely lace, all just gorgeous, thanks for sharing it with us who can’t get the magazine. Hope you have a wonderful week, ((( BIG HUGS ))).. I have that pen stamp, brilliant to cut it out..

    Reply

  14. hettiecraft
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 13:55:01

    Congratulations from one bookwork to another. Your piece is divine.
    Hugs
    xx

    Reply

  15. Yvonne Garner
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 15:18:01

    Congratulations Lynne! How exciting this is. This image is dear to my heart. Forty years ago, I purchased a jewelry box for my mom with this image on the lid. She treasured it, as I now do. I’ll have to send you a photo! Always a thrill to see your work published. Hugs, Yvonne

    Reply

  16. Rita
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 15:43:57

    Congratulations dear Lynne. Many childhood memories for me with this image too. Its absolutely magnificent. Hugs Rita xxxx

    Reply

  17. Shirley
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 16:07:39

    Hi Lynne, your cards are gorgeous in a romantic vintage style that I wouldn’t have a clue how to do. Congratulations on another publication, well deserved and it’s wonderful to share your artwork with the readers. Cheers, Shirleyx

    Reply

  18. Marilyn J. Rock
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 16:57:18

    Beautiful and congrats on having it published. So well-deserving. xo

    Reply

  19. jo
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 17:37:39

    Congratulations on the publication! You have such a wonderful romantic style. I will have to pick up a copy,

    Reply

  20. Corrie Herriman
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 17:45:49

    Congratulations on being published yet again ! This is a beautiful piece and it perfectly portrays your love of books !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  21. Dorthe
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 18:11:23

    Congratulation dear Lynne,
    I totally understand that they love your creations, and wants the world to see them-they are beautiful and alwayes with your personal heart and touch , and this one so very much capturing the feeling from the period where Louisa M.Alcott wrote her famous novels. I also comes from a family reading a lot, and am thankful it was a part of my childhood,-just like you. I love your addition of the stamped penns , and text.
    Hug from me- x

    Reply

  22. Sue F
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 18:12:49

    Congratulations on being published. Thoroughly well-deserved and such a beautiful piece.

    Reply

  23. CarolS
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 18:40:39

    This is wonderful, Lynne, your distressing is great! Love those little stamped pens & image and the aged background papers! Also loving that crochet trim you used on the top!
    Hugs!

    Reply

  24. Suzi B
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 18:47:43

    Your lovely inspirational art deserves to be published. this is gorgeous! I love the image … I’m a bit of a book worm 🙂 I’m very tempted to buy it! but seeing as how I’m in the process of packing ready to move house…. maybe not just yet.
    Suzi B xx

    Reply

  25. barnie
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 20:21:56

    Congrats on beeing published.A wonderful piece of art.

    Reply

  26. Terry
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 20:47:10

    Beautiful altered book cover, Lynne! I love the pen nib on the ticket! Congratulation on another well done publication! Hugs!

    Reply

  27. Anne R
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 21:19:29

    How wonderful Lynne to be published again, many congratulations to you (again!). You so deserve to be published with this beautiful piece, the picture itself speaks volumes. I really love those vintage pens that you added too. Hugs, Anne x

    Reply

  28. coco
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 22:09:13

    What a great news, congrats for these two new publications my dear Lynne, and once again this is well deserved as this work is so beautiful!! Love your addition of pens, and some other lovely details! Have a good night, hugs, Coco x

    Reply

  29. Julie Lee
    Jan 20, 2014 @ 23:28:17

    This is wonderful! Congratulations, Lynne. How well you evoke the joy of losing oneself in a good book. Reading is, as Dianne mentions, a tactile delight and your art too just asks to be touched. I love the pens and all the texture. Julie Ann xx

    Reply

  30. michele s
    Jan 21, 2014 @ 06:09:47

    this is bliss indeed. most lovely in every detail. xo

    Reply

  31. Marjie Kemper
    Jan 21, 2014 @ 15:42:12

    This is so lovely, Lynne. I really like that pen stamp and how you combined an actual metal nib along with it. Thanks so much for the shout-out, too. You are such a dear friend. I’m thrilled for your publications!

    Reply

  32. Jo Willis
    Jan 21, 2014 @ 16:16:10

    This is gorgeous Lynne. I love reading too as does my Mum and we tend to swap books between us. In fact, both of us have the same favourite book – Little Women and that was how Mum chose my name.

    Reply

  33. Ira
    Jan 21, 2014 @ 17:28:39

    This is bliss indeed!! Anyone with a deep and profound hankering after reading will love this! Another wonderful piece you have created, love it!
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  34. Odetta
    Jan 21, 2014 @ 18:12:12

    Dear Lynn,
    I adore your creations!!!
    Kind regards, Odetta

    Reply

  35. Kim Dellow
    Jan 21, 2014 @ 18:52:30

    Oh that is great news! Big congrats and well deserved – beautiful work! Kim

    Reply

  36. ConnieM
    Jan 21, 2014 @ 22:09:01

    so gorgeous!! I’m looking forward to your creations using DRD stamps!!! I’m sure they will be fabulous!!!

    Reply

  37. 3renee
    Jan 21, 2014 @ 22:11:32

    Beautiful, romantic card. Love the lace and the pens!

    Reply

  38. Marianne
    Jan 22, 2014 @ 00:05:50

    Lynne, this is lovely, and congratulations on being published! I like the pen additions – quite charming.

    Reply

  39. marci piraro
    Jan 22, 2014 @ 00:43:07

    First, congratulations on your published art. I don’t always comment, but I love looking at your posts. This one is very meaningful, as I love reading and books. Beautiful make!! I want to use photo real stamps, and I wonder which Speedball brayer you would recommend. When I looked online, they had soft rubber, hard rubber, acrylic, etc. I appreciate if you have time to answer.

    Reply

    • lynne
      Jan 22, 2014 @ 14:00:46

      I use the soft rubber Speedball.
      Another tip, it is a good idea not to have too juicy an ink pad.
      I do hope this helps and many thanks for your comment.
      Wishes
      Lynne

      Reply

  40. Gerrie Johnnic
    Jan 22, 2014 @ 00:45:37

    Such a beautiful piece Lynne. I am afraid that our young people will never learn the passion of a book. Always so special to see your artwork

    Reply

  41. 1cardcreator
    Jan 22, 2014 @ 18:01:00

    This is beautiful Lynne and so beautiful that you and your Mum can share the love of reading still. ~Diane

    Reply

  42. Samantha Read
    Jan 23, 2014 @ 13:23:31

    Congratulations, it is beautiful. I love your style ♥

    Reply

  43. Kate
    Jan 23, 2014 @ 14:25:33

    Congrats! A stunning, & romantic piece! I love books as well. No matter how much technology advances nothing can replace the feel of an old book and pages.
    Kate

    Reply

  44. Wendy
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 10:23:02

    Oh this is so gorgeous Lynne! The image is a favourite of mine. xx

    Reply

  45. Paper Profusion
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 14:23:19

    More congratulations again Lynne. Terrific to see you recognised. This truly is exquisite – stunning stamp and I love the entire piece. Nicola x

    Reply

  46. MarieS.
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 14:29:23

    Congratulations again,dear Lynne. Absolutely gorgeous.

    Reply

  47. Sharon
    Jan 26, 2014 @ 09:08:28

    Love this! Congrats on being published!

    Reply

  48. Deborah Baker
    Jan 28, 2014 @ 04:54:14

    Congratulations!! Well deserved!

    Reply

  49. Shari T.
    Jul 19, 2015 @ 05:57:07

    Fabulous, Lynne!! That’s what I would call a publishing trifecta!! And you’re still going!! YAY, LYNNE!! 🙂 🙂 XOXO-Shari

    Reply

Leave a Reply

