She Wears Butterflies In Her Hair

Hello Everyone
This year at Gecko Galz a new monthly event was introduced.  Each month there is a cross promotion with January seeing us working with Basic Grey digital papers and elements.  For the month of February Gecko Galz has a cross promotion with Arora Wings digital stamps.
As a DT member I was required to create a sample to the theme of All Things Spring, using one of the Arora Wings digital stamps provided in conjunction with Gecko Galz products. However, at Gecko Galz we like to involve other crafters and fans of Gecko Galz so let me share with you some words from Gecko Galz

For this months customer contest we are
asking you to create a spring inspired paper
crafted project.
Show us what inspires you most about
spring…is it the pastel colors? Is it flowers?
Is it Easter? We want to see your inspiration.
The only rule is you must include one
product from Gecko Galz, can be one of the
free products, stamps, collage image paper
the limits are endless to your imagination.
And what will the winner get?
Arora Wings Stamps gift pack plus a
$25 shopping Spree from Gecko Galz.
Just email a picture of your project by
February 28th to
geckogalz2014@gmail.com
And On March
1st we will announce our winner on the
Gecko Galz website.

I will be honest with you and tell you that this did not come easy to me, it took me the longest time to incorporate the Arora Wings digi stamp with the theme of All Things Spring. It only came together for me when looking through the catalogue of Gecko Galz products and I laid eyes upon the beautiful Butterfly Wings image sheets and then the idea formed in my head and I eventually had fun creating this canvas.
This Blog post is very photo heavy, you have been warned and another warning ….. this post contains colour! (LOL)
allthingspsringA long canvas was perfect for what I had in mind, of the Arora digi image, a girl with flowers, poppies in her hair, surrounded by a multitude of butterflies.  I knew from the outset I would not use cardstock, I wanted a delicate feel to this, slightly ethereal so I printed all the images onto transparencies.1The transparency allows the colour I built up on the canvas (instructions at bottom of post) to show through and it also allowed me to paint the rear of the transparency and to layer the butterflies.  In real life you see the shimmer of the Twinkling H20s which I used for the flowers.  The flicks of paint represent the flower seeds floating in the air.3Then moving from the soft pink tones of her skin I started to incorporate the colours that would make up the majority of the canvas.30 January 033The colour palette for the canvas was influenced by the butterflies.  I wanted as many of the butterflies as possible, a mass of them in varying sizes.30 January 046With them being printed onto transparencies, you cannot see it here, but on display the sunlight (not that there is much of that at the moment) shines through them.butterflydetailNot forgetting the edges of the canvassideimageor the very top edge.30 January 040As this is for Gecko Galz, here is the list of supplies and instructions.
Supplies
Arora Wings Image
Gecko Galz Butterfly Wings
Twinkling H20s
Caran d’ache watrersoluble crayons
Gesso (Golden)
Glossy Accents (Ranger)
Extras:- inkjet printer transparency and canvas
Instructions
Apply Gesso to canvas then create loose washes of colour.
Re-size Aurora image and print onto transparency.
Re-size Butterfly Wings and print onto a transparency. I opened document in Microsoft and re-sized the Butterfly Wings, copy and pasting so I had two copies on one page.
Fussy cut all images.
Paint the flowers in the girl’s hair.
Adhere all to canvas with Glossy Accents

Please remember that you are welcome to join in the All Things Spring challenge yourself.
In the meantime, many thanks for your visit.
Wishes
Lynne

62 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lululiz
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 14:30:20

    This is so beautiful!

    Reply

  2. tracy745
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 14:42:25

    Gorgeous, I love the butterflies floating away off the canvas. Coincidence I am decorating a cubs this exact size and shape. Love it Lynne . Tracy x

    Reply

  3. Samantha Read
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 14:46:20

    Wow Lynne this is so beautiful, just my opinion, you should use colour more often 🙂 big hugs from Poppy and me xx

    Reply

  4. Margie D
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 14:49:08

    Your canvas reminds me so much of summertime (wish it was here already!) Gorgeous butterflies and a lovely image of the beautiful girl with poppies in her hair. Love, Margie x

    Reply

  5. Rita
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 15:16:44

    Wow Lynne, this is one of the most beautiful canvases I have ever seen. The colour combinations you have put together are truly stunning. The butterflies Loki so real. Hugs Rita xxxx

    Reply

  6. Dot Arnott
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 15:18:05

    I love this Lynne, the colours are beautiful. Absolutely gorgeous.

    Dot xxx

    Reply

  7. Corrie Herriman
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 15:27:34

    I love this canvas and those butterflies are amazing ! Love the transparency of them ! Another Lynne-masterpiece !!!
    Corrie x

    Reply

  8. may
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 15:31:42

    Gorgeous work Lynne, Love the butterflies & fabulous image…the colours are perfect… Hugs May x x x

    Reply

  9. Anne R
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 15:38:35

    Oh my Lynne, I adore butterflies! I love how you did the colour of the poppies and the butterflies are just stunning! I would love to see the effect of the sun on those beautiful butterflies.. Hugs, Anne x

    Reply

  10. Terry
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 15:38:51

    Stunning canvas, Lynne! What an appropriate title for this project! I love the flowers and those butterflies are so dreamy! Gorgeous!

    Reply

  11. Deborah (rustycage11)
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 16:05:56

    Wow wow wow, Lynne. I think this has to be one of my favourites of yours. I do love a bit a of colour.

    Reply

  12. Yvonne G
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 16:12:12

    Oh Lynne! This is just magical and memorable! I love it. Might I ask what adhesive you used as I am a novice to transparency materials? Have a great day. Fondly, Yvonne

    Reply

  13. Marilyn J. Rock
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 16:31:45

    This leaves me breathless! It’s stunning and my new favorite of yours! I’m in awe of your creative genius with this! Gorgeous! Can you tell I really like this? 🙂 xo

    Reply

  14. rachel fisher
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 16:33:40

    this is oh so beautiful Lynne – I love it all – gorgeous colours and fabulous xx

    Reply

  15. Marcy piraro
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 17:24:19

    Breathtaking! Exquisite! Oh, my! What a joy to see!

    Reply

  16. 3renee
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 17:44:08

    So gorgeous! Makes me long for Spring!!

    Reply

  17. butterfly
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 17:44:11

    Out of this world wonderful, Lynne – the butterflies printed on transparencies are just beautiful – barely there faeries of the air, and I love how they emerge from her poppy hair over all that background colour. Sensational!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  18. Paper Profusion
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 18:47:14

    Oh wow Lynne – one of my favourites of yours, ever!! Stunningly beautiful and ethereal. Working with transparencies was inspired – this is totally gorgeous, vibrant and alive! It must be amazing too see for real. Nicola x

    Reply

  19. Annie
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 19:05:04

    Absolutely stunning Lynne…….and its one of my favourite creations so far. Wonderful image, colours and the transparent butterflies look so real. Very inspiring piece.

    TFS Annie x

    Reply

  20. 2amscrapper2
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 19:07:30

    You masterfully brought your vision to fruition. Gorgeous project!

    Reply

  21. Julie Lee
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 19:19:19

    So delicate and pretty. It has an ethereal quality that really evokes spring. Julie Ann xxx

    Reply

  22. Dianne
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 19:29:56

    WOW, WOW, WOW, WOW, I can’t stop saying that, hello Miss Lynne, boy when you do color your blew the lid off, doing it on transparency was BRILLIANTTTTT, sorry I’l use my inside voice:), you’ve mad that image look spectacular, the seeds floating in the air BRILLIANT, all those eekkss gorgeous butterflies, floating all over, she is a flower fairy in a mystical garden, it must look amazing in the sunlight, I want to touch it so badly LOL, it belongs in a gallery some where they show fine art, this is a masterpiece, thanks you so much for shainrg it with us, I’m going to try and FB it, have a wonderful day, ((( BIG HUGS )))..

    Reply

  23. Toni
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 19:35:26

    Hi lynne this is really beautiful. I just love those gorgeous butterflies and the lovely poppy haired lady, ! X

    Reply

  24. valerie-Jael
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 19:38:41

    Stunning piece Lynne! Valerie

    Reply

  25. Buttons
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 19:45:08

    WOW! Just jaw-droppingly WOW! Incredible Lynne. This is definitely being pinned so I can gaze upon it whenever I want. Jenny x

    Reply

  26. craftytrog
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 19:46:23

    This is amazing Lynne, so beautiful & ethereal! I love it! xxx

    Reply

  27. Marianne
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 20:17:43

    Beautiful color and design, Lynne. You really created the ethereal look you were looking for.

    Blessings,
    Marianne xo

    Reply

  28. Silvia
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 21:31:41

    Wow a breathtaking canvas. Love all the butterflies.

    Reply

  29. Meggymay
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 21:37:02

    A stunning canvas, love all the butterflies and beautiful image.
    Yvonne x

    Reply

  30. astrid51
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 21:40:04

    Oh my goodness Lynne, what an amazing project!! So different from your usual style, but wow I love it! Magical and ethereal and just plain beautiful! This is certainly a project that sticks out from the crowd, stunning!

    Reply

  31. jo
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 21:48:43

    Lynne, this is amazing!!! what a pretty project! It must be fabulous with light streaming behind it!

    Reply

  32. nefertiti
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 22:09:35

    Wowwwwwwww! I love it, just fabulous creation with lovely butterflies!!!bizz

    Reply

  33. Buttons
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 22:40:30

    Hi Lynne. Only got your last comment but Blogger has been playing up. Jenny x

    Reply

  34. Julie Lavalette
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 23:34:47

    What a beautiful work of art this is Lynn.

    Julie x

    Reply

  35. CarolS
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 01:06:28

    Oh goodness Lynne, that is gorgeous! I haven’t seen a long skinny canvas like that before but it’s so perfect for your project! Love the stamp you chose and your coloring…love those butterflies too!
    Hugs!

    Reply

  36. Sharon
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 04:29:58

    Just beautiful Lynne!!! Love how you have incorporated the Aurora Wings image and all those wonderful Gecko Galz butterflies – they are just about to fly off the canvas!!!

    Reply

  37. Lynne
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 05:37:02

    Love the image Lynne and the butterflys, so beautiful
    Lynne 🙂

    Reply

  38. Brenda Brown
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 07:28:36

    Oh my gosh Lynne this is just amazing and truly beautiful. I love how you have ‘done’ colour here and created such a fabulous design with the butterflies. Love, love, love it xx

    Reply

  39. Suzie B
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 08:12:01

    This is stunningly beautiful, love the butterflies printed onto acetate? something I’ve done myself but not with such wonderful results.
    Suzie B xx

    Reply

  40. Florence
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 12:07:43

    Wow! Lynne, this is truly amazing. Really love it. What an inspiring project. TFS.
    Florence xx

    Reply

  41. Rosie
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 12:55:55

    Wow, this is gorgeous, I love every detail, Lynne

    Reply

  42. 1cardcreator
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 16:09:50

    Totally beautiful and inspired piece Lynne! I just love what you did with this image! ~Diane

    Reply

  43. coco
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 16:39:01

    Oh wow wow Lynne, I love your canvas so much with all these butterflies on transparency and these colors!!! Love also this lady face that you have perfectly integrated to your long canvas, stunning work!! Coco xx

    Reply

  44. Daniele
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 16:41:03

    stunning piece of work Lynne,
    hugs

    Reply

  45. Alie Hoogenboezem-de Vries
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 17:32:03

    Stunning art Lynne!!! It is a big hit on Pinterest too :-)))
    Chapeau for this gorgeous artwork! Alie

    Reply

  46. Sue F
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 17:45:35

    Lynne I’m almost speechless. The dimension you’ve managed to create on this canvas is fantastic. I love the effect of the underlying colours shining through the transparencies. Just brilliant!

    Reply

  47. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 18:14:50

    Ooh La LAAA! your butterfly canvas takes my breath away dear Lynne!!!
    I was here admiring it yesterday and before I could comment my computer decided to be difficult 😦
    But the good news is I got another chance to sit and gaze upon your magical canvas…everything you touch turns beautiful!
    Thank you for sharing AND for always being such an inspiration ♥
    oxo

    Reply

  48. Ira
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 18:34:35

    Amazing creation dear Lynne! This truly is totally captivating!! Love love the idea of butterflies actually flying out of the lady’s hair, what a fabulous idea! This creation represents your imagination to me! Ira x
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  49. Martina
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 18:45:03

    Dear Lynne, your butterfly canvas is glorious. I love seeing your new pieces. They are always flowing with inspiration and happiness. Beautifully created, my friend.
    Hugs MARTINA

    Reply

  50. hettiecraft
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 21:10:29

    Oh Wow Lynne! This is wonderful and I can see in my mind’s eye the colours coming through those butterflies in the sunshine. It has cheered my day up anyway, so thank you for that!
    Hugs
    xx

    Reply

  51. trisha too
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 00:54:31

    Absolutely dreamy, Lynne!

    🙂

    Reply

  52. Ana K.
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 08:08:26

    Not used to see so many colours on your blog, but I like it very much…fantastic!

    Reply

  53. KK
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 12:43:22

    Love this, Lynne – beautiful – especially the way you continue off canvas! Hope you’re well x

    Reply

  54. michele s
    Feb 09, 2014 @ 07:58:11

    gorgeous Lynne! xo

    Reply

  55. Marjie Kemper
    Feb 09, 2014 @ 20:07:07

    Wow! It may not have come easily but it sure came beautifully… absolutely stunning. The delicacy and variations on the butterflies is breathtaking, and when I scrolled down and saw the gal beneath, looking up at them… amazing!

    Reply

  56. gio
    Feb 09, 2014 @ 22:01:23

    Wow, I missed this one….
    I love your vintage pieces, you are a master at it, but this one…I’m speechless. So colourful and delicate, and the beautiful face with all those butterflies light as air. Really really stunning piece, Lynne! Ps…more colours, then!!!

    Reply

  57. Sonya
    Feb 11, 2014 @ 16:18:09

    This is absolutely amazing! I love the colors, how the butterflies are transparent and the flowers as her hair! I would love to have watched you create this beautiful creation.

    Reply

  58. Sophie
    Feb 11, 2014 @ 16:24:28

    Wundervoll, Lynne.
    Ich liebe Schmetterlinge, diese bunten, feinen und zerbrechlich aussehenden Wesen, wie aus einer anderen Welt.
    Schöne Farben hast du ausgewählt.

    Umarmung
    Sophie

    Reply

  59. stampersuzz
    Feb 14, 2014 @ 15:48:58

    Stunning!

    Reply

  60. Trackback: Mermaid, poppies and emergency doughnuts | MrsBeez
  61. Debbie Kaste
    Jul 17, 2015 @ 00:51:46

    Simply GORGEOUS, Lynne!!!

    Reply

  62. Shari T.
    Jul 19, 2015 @ 05:52:20

    I can’t even believe this is a creation of yours that I missed, Lynne! OMG-this is AMAZING and so pretty and delicate and vibrant and so full of life! The transparent butterflies are beyond Beautiful playing amidst the blooms of the girl’s hair 🙂 Love this and I’m so glad that you shared the link 🙂 🙂 XOXO-Shari

    Reply

Leave a Reply

