And They Called It Puppy Love

Hello Everyone
There is a new challenge underway at Crafty Individuals, A Fine Romance. This theme gives you lots of scope for different ideas whether it be a Valentine’s Day card, a tag, canvas, altered art, anything to the theme of A Fine Romance.
CHALLENGE GUIDELINES
To enter this month’s Crafty Individuals Challenge please put together your chosen project, which must include at least one Crafty Individuals product please.  At the end of the month five lucky participants will win a CI rubber stamp of their choice, and don’t forget that as per usual, once you have linked in your creation, you can also claim a lovely 25% discount code to use on anything you purchase from the CI Website.
Please visit the Crafty Individuals Blog for other details on entering your art.

Although I have created a sample for the A Fine Romance theme, I have decided to share with you the tag I made at the same time as the card which I shared with you not so long ago, featuring Crafty Individuals Elements CI-402 a set that features stamps of love and friendship.  The main stamp, a young couple reminds me of the Donny Osmond song Puppy Love.  My sister was a huge fan of the Osmonds, in particular Donny, hmmm, she might not take kindly to me sharing that information, thankfully she doesn’t read my Blog!

This is an outsize tag.  A Crafty Individuals Shabby Tag was intially what I was planning on working on but as tends to be the case, I ended up wanting to add so much to the tag that I needed to up-size so the Shabby  Tag was incorporated into a larger tag made from corrugated cardboard (what else!) painted and two holes created with the crop-a-dile so enable me to thread through some jute string.

ci420largetagFor this tag I used quite a lot of stamps but it makes sense to start with the largest stamp from the Elements set, this young couple. You can see that I fussy cut the couple before layering them onto the Shabby Tag.  On the actual Shabby Tag I stamped various Crafty Individuals’  heart stamps and also sentiments from the CI-402 stamp adopting  my usual method of stamping layers with each layer of stamping being pushed back with paint.focalstampThis photograph shows the various heart  stamps blended into each other with the aid of paint.stampedbackgroundOne of the sentiments resting on a metal frame with the key symbolising the key to their heart.detail1There are so many lovely sentiments in this set.detail2I am happiest when able to stamps sentiments or elements and add them in such a way whether to a card, tag or hanging, having them overhanging edges or peeking out.detail3
We look forward to seeing your A Fine Romance entries at the Crafty Individuals Challenge.
Wishes
Lynne

32 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CarolS
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 02:02:02

    Does it make me old that when I saw the title I thought I was going to see little puppy dogs? Sigh… It’s been too long since I’ve had puppy love…Oh Donny…I loved him too! LOL
    This is a beautiful tag! I love your stamp layering…I’ve got to start playing with my stamps more…and paint!
    Hugs!

    Reply

  2. Marianne
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 02:06:19

    Your layering technique gives a lot of dimension. Oh, my goodness I think I see long sideburns on the boy…that must day me, too 🙂 Very sweet tag.

    Hugs,
    Marianne xo

    Reply

  3. Rita
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 02:51:08

    Lovely creation Lynne. I love your shabby tag surrounded by lace and all the stamping . Maybe I’ll give this challenge a try. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  4. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 04:21:47

    Your artwork has so much depth…beauty and interest dear Lynne ♥
    and
    have I mentioned lately how perfect your blog post titles are too!
    ♥ ♥ ♥
    Happy Friday Dear One
    oxo

    Reply

  5. Ana K.
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 08:05:36

    Hi Lynne, this tag is totally stunning…I can’t stop looking at it…so many details which create a romantic feeling!
    Hugs from Slovenia

    Reply

  6. Suze
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 08:41:19

    Oh Lynne, don’t get me started, I’ll be singing all day now! (I do love a bit of Donny though! Lol!) your tag is gorgeous, I love the subtle heart background. Have a lovely weekend. Xx

    Reply

  7. lucy Edmondson
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 09:42:28

    This is absolutely gorgeous in every way, Lynne. I too was obsessed with Donny and used to kiss his poster on my wall!

    Lucy x

    Reply

  8. butterfly
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 09:56:28

    The layered heart stamping in the background is wonderful, and I love this couple… Beautiful lace, of course, and I know exactly what you mean about projects expanding of their own free will!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  9. Sharon
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 10:32:35

    wow gorgeous!

    Reply

  10. craftytrog
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 10:43:30

    A beautiful, romantic tag Lynne!
    I think it was either Puppy Love or The Twelfth of Never that was the first single I ever bought. And, Donny is still as gorgeous as ever…I went to see him a few years ago at Leeds Castle in Kent :o)
    Alison xxx

    Reply

  11. KK
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 12:46:17

    Beautifully subtle,Lynne. The layering adds such depth – really pretty x

    Reply

  12. Emma (The Sparkly Fairy)
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 15:14:52

    Such a sweet image Lynne x

    Reply

  13. may
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 15:27:14

    Gorgeous creation Lynne, Love the image & all the beautiful lace…the layers & colours are perfect… Love it all… Hugs may x x x

    Reply

  14. Anne R
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 15:47:32

    I did have to smile at you needing a larger tag, I love all the layers, the laces look beautiful and make a wonderful soft backdrop for that lovely couple. I think your sister had very good taste with Donny, not sure about his songs back then, but he is a gorgeous man! Anne xx

    Reply

  15. coco
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 17:13:20

    Absolutely gorgeous Lynne!! Hugs Coco xx

    Reply

  16. Ira
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 17:23:52

    Don’t worry about your sis, Lynne, I, too, used to quite fancy Donny Osmond… (mind you, that was way back when… lol!) Your tag with this happy couple looks so beautiful, the light and delicate colours really make them stand out so wonderfully. Take care, Ira x
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  17. Lily Rosen
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 17:53:54

    wow great work! Fun project too. You should check out some of the work on my blog lilybunny.com I would love to know what you think and maybe follow if you like 🙂

    Reply

  18. Meggymay
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 21:11:32

    A delightful project, the young couple look like they are beginning a romantic journey.
    Yvonne x

    Reply

  19. ConnieM
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 21:59:55

    Love your vintage style~perfect stamp for this. Beautiful project lynn!!!

    Reply

  20. Brenda Brown
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 23:21:35

    Beautifully shabby Lynne and a fabulous way to use the stamp. I now have Donny Osmond in my head singing the song lol. Have a great weekend xx

    Reply

  21. Julie
    Feb 08, 2014 @ 00:17:33

    Lovely composition lynne. I must look through my crafty individual stamps to see what I have suitable for this challenge.

    Julie x

    Reply

  22. 1cardcreator
    Feb 08, 2014 @ 04:58:12

    Oh wow, this is beautiful and so different from your usual vintage, you are so versatile, I love it all the same! ~Diane

    Reply

  23. Marilyn J. Rock
    Feb 08, 2014 @ 12:46:05

    So beautiful; loved the image and all of your artistic surroundings! xo

    Reply

  24. Paper Profusion
    Feb 08, 2014 @ 16:05:40

    Awww – the innocence of it all! This is beautifully delicate and pretty Lynne and I love all the lace. Nicola x

    Reply

  25. barnie
    Feb 08, 2014 @ 22:16:06

    A fabulous romantic hanging with great vintage feeling.

    Reply

  26. Sandy Dehon
    Feb 08, 2014 @ 22:30:00

    Now you have me singing – “and they call it puppy love” Your style is so romantic – so beautiful.
    Sandy

    Reply

  27. trisha too
    Feb 08, 2014 @ 22:54:02

    LIke Carol, I was expecting a puppy, lol! This is way more in keeping with February/Valentines, and you’ve given the more modernish images your own special and beautiful touch, Lynne.

    🙂

    Reply

  28. Dianne
    Feb 09, 2014 @ 15:37:12

    Hello Miss Lynne, another fantastic tag, your background is GORGEOUS all those layers, then the couple look like they are walking into the backgrounds, amazing, all that beautiful lace, wonderful creation Miss Lynne thanks for sharing..

    Reply

  29. Martina
    Feb 09, 2014 @ 16:23:24

    This is fantastic, Lynne! I love the color, the stamps and the design! Really beautiful work!
    Have a nice sunday my friend.
    Hugs MARTINA

    Reply

  30. Marjie Kemper
    Feb 09, 2014 @ 20:08:15

    I adore that image of the couple walking away… you’ve certainly showcased it on this gorgeous piece. Stunning!

    Reply

  31. Annie G
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 10:36:57

    Gorgeous romantic make Lynne x adore the beautiful lace you have used as well as the wonderful CI stamp

    TFS
    Annie x

    Reply

  32. Terry
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 22:13:06

    Such a romantic project! I just love the couple walking into the distance and planning their future! Beautiful, Lynne!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

