Tea Dresses and Steam trains

Hello Everyone
In a recent post I shared with you the new releases from Crafty Individuals.  It has been interesting to read that many of you zoomed in to the manuscript as a favourite.  The one I have inked up first is the Chunky Steam train Tag. For a fleeting moment I planned on a masculine style card for stamp CI-404 but before I knew it I had visions of something more feminine in style.
The romance of old steam trains conjures up images from old movies such as Brief Encounter, which no matter the generation we were born  we have all seen such clips, of couples waiting to be re-united or saying their goodbyes to loved ones.  Although this was very much in my mind especially with the Crafty Individuals challenge of A Fine Romance, my thoughts also turned to the era when women were starting to enjoy more freedom.  The female at the centre of my card could be caught up in the romance of travel, as the image states

“Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all”

teadressesandsteamtrainslynnemoncrieff (2)It is a beautiful collage style stamp with the steam train obviously taking centre stage but there is also a pretty decorative border, script and a London postal mark which I repeated with a stamped postal mark  (CI-124)tucked behind the tag.traintagBeneath the stamped train tag I created a border with one of the Crafty Individuals Elements sets, lace, an absolute favourite of mine.stampedlaceLet me take a step back for a moment by sharing my background.
This photograph shows it to be more a purple tone where it is in actual fact nearer to the other photographs, a mix of raspberry, Victorian Velvet Distress Stain and one of my own handmade sprays and a very diluted wash of coffee.   I then stamped the steamtrain with Tattered Rose which created a very subtle pattern but I liked how the edging of the tag provided almost a grid on the background.  I then gathered a bundle of postal marks, postcard scripts, a lovely  script and randomly stamped the background.backgroundShe thinks herself rather daring as she waits on the platform for the imminent arrival of the steam train to take her to London for a jaunt to meet with friends for a spot of afternoon tea. Annoyingly for Rose, as she steps up  onto the train she snags her pretty floral dress

(The fragments of floral fabric with the rose stained seam binding conjured up images of tea dresses.)
imageAnother cluster of tickets and again the London postal mark makes as appearance.
(The frame is also from Crafty Individuals, the perfect size for layering with their images.)
labelsandticketsA day trip to London this may well have been but somehow I doubt if Rose’s life will ever be the same again, this girl has the spirit to make her life a daring adventure.
detail5So now you know which stamp won my attention for the first ink up!
I hope you like this card and my feminine spin on the steam train stamp.
Thank you as always for your visit.
Wishes
Lynne
I am able to view my photographs! Not sure where the blip was but happy that all is well ….. until the next time!

41 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 3renee
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 02:29:38

    Wow, Lynne, this is one of my favorites! I love the dusty rose color with the brown highlights, very beautiful combination. The woman looks as if she is looking out the window of the train as it passes by.

    Reply

  2. sandi collins
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 02:32:56

    Fabulous as always

    Reply

  3. Rosie
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 05:10:26

    So gorgeous, Lynne

    Reply

  4. Brenda Brown
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 05:26:12

    Beautiful layers Lynne, I love this with the pretty pink and the steam train in the background xx

    Reply

  5. Sharon
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 07:14:37

    Just beautiful Lynne!

    Reply

  6. valerie-Jael
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 08:05:52

    Another wonderful and very feminine piece! Valerie

    Reply

  7. rachel fisher
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 08:41:29

    a beautiful use of the new train stamp Lynne – just got my stamp and this is lovely inspiration for me xx

    Reply

  8. Anne R
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 08:54:09

    How wonderful Lynne, I got really caught up in the story of Rose and her trip to London. The steam train looks beautiful in the background, indeed very feminine and romantic…….. as one who would love to go on the Orient Express, this evokes some wonderful thoughts……… Anne xx

    Reply

  9. Meggymay
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 09:19:16

    Love Rose ‘s story. A romantic use of the train image, looks like another for my wish list.
    Yvonne.x

    Reply

  10. Deborah (rustycage11)
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 09:20:18

    Trains and pink – why not 🙂 Love Ross story.

    Reply

  11. astrid51
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 10:06:51

    Another beautiful make Lynne, that rose pink and those vintage brown tones go so well together, just perfect for your theme here!

    Reply

  12. Margie D
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 10:38:49

    You know, I love your stories almost as much as your beautiful makes Lynne! This one reminded me of Downton Abbey! That’s a lovely stamp and image too. Margie x

    Reply

  13. Paula
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 10:42:18

    Hiya Lynn,
    What a gorgeous make, so beautiful and romantic, the steam train era of travel was truly magical just like your postcard. xx

    Reply

  14. Marilyn J. Rock
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 12:35:54

    Beautiful soft color – gorgeous piece! xo

    Reply

  15. may
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 13:54:13

    Gorgeous work Lynne, I adore the steam train it’s at the top of my wish list,,,I love old steam trains..Gorgeous images & lovely soft colours…Simply Beautiful… Hugs May x x x

    Reply

  16. Marianne
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 14:34:22

    Love the color – it’s stunning…very beautiful, as always, Lynne.

    Hugs,
    Marianne xo

    Reply

  17. Sue F
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 16:39:58

    Beautiful Lynne. I love all the new CI tags and will be ordering them soon.

    Reply

  18. Samantha Read
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 17:18:10

    Oooh beautiful pinkness and lots of lovely details Lynne, simply divine xxx

    Reply

  19. Rita
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 18:09:27

    Beautiful Lynne. You always bring out the beauty of those stamps and the colours looks perfect. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  20. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 19:12:43

    Such beautiful tone and textures to this lovely creation dear Lynne…
    what you do to paper and then adding bits of lace…fabric and trims is such an absolute delight again and again!
    oxo

    Reply

  21. coco
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 20:15:03

    Wonderful postcard with the train tag, this is also one of my favourites (with the telephone). You did a great work with all these Crafty stamps Lynne, your stamped background also is gorgeous, the whole is fabulous! Coco xx

    Reply

  22. barnie
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 21:16:11

    Two fabulous pieces, love the use of the staples.

    Reply

  23. Julie Lee
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 22:28:04

    I do so love your vintage creations, Lynne! You have such flair with sepia tones and feminine lace. I love the quote here and the tickets: I love tickets used on projects. Julie Ann xxx

    Reply

  24. Terry
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 23:51:20

    So pretty, Lynne! Love the stained and stamped background for the images and of course I love the staple activity! Hugs!

    Reply

  25. Sandy Dehon
    Feb 19, 2014 @ 23:53:29

    Just how many times can someone say beautiful and gorgeous but that is what your work is. Most of all I just wanted to leave you a little love Lynne!
    sandy

    Reply

  26. Paper Profusion
    Feb 20, 2014 @ 00:16:41

    Oh my! I’m so glad you went for a feminine story and creation – the pink hues you have achieved are sublime. Gorgeous, gorgeous make Lynne. Nicola x

    Reply

  27. michele s
    Feb 20, 2014 @ 04:41:09

    oh so stunning! who would have thought a train on pink would be so perfect! honestly the whole thing just takes my breath away. xo

    Reply

  28. MarieS.
    Feb 20, 2014 @ 07:16:27

    Love everything about it,dear Lynne, Absolutely beautiful!
    Have a lovely day.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  29. Ira
    Feb 20, 2014 @ 12:29:54

    Beautiful postcard Lynne, at first I thought your stamped lace was actual lace until I read it 😉 Makes me think of a trip on the Orient Express, so wonderful!
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  30. hettiecraft
    Feb 20, 2014 @ 13:26:23

    Beautiful piece Lynne. Love that train!

    Reply

  31. craftytrog
    Feb 20, 2014 @ 20:08:51

    Very pretty in pink! xxx

    Reply

  32. Sugarlumpstudios
    Feb 20, 2014 @ 21:04:30

    Pure vintage sweetness Lynne! I love the colors!

    Reply

  33. marci piraro
    Feb 20, 2014 @ 22:58:44

    So beautiful, I like your story. The colors are wonderful!

    Reply

  34. Julie Lavalette
    Feb 21, 2014 @ 00:14:43

    Hi Lynn, I think you must be the only person I know that could turn a steam train into looking so feminine. Your story, colours, stamps and collage all work so beautifully together.
    Julie x

    Reply

  35. Shirley
    Feb 21, 2014 @ 00:47:55

    Wow this is a romantic & feminine design, I love the soft pink with the earthtones. Have a great weekend, Shirleyx

    Reply

  36. jo
    Feb 21, 2014 @ 05:25:43

    I love that this piece is so feminine even with the train … it reads as romantic … wonderful art!

    Reply

  37. mustavcoffee
    Feb 21, 2014 @ 14:14:54

    Evocative and stunning!! You nailed this little beauty 😀

    Reply

  38. butterfly
    Feb 22, 2014 @ 13:28:52

    A romantic, nostalgic creation – just beautiful. Oh for the days when travel was a glamorous thing rather than the rather grim, characterless drudgery I’ve just been engaged in!
    Alison x

    Reply

  39. Dianne
    Feb 22, 2014 @ 15:47:50

    Hello Miss Lynne, this is absolutely SU-BLIME I’m screeching here and THIS is why you are DESIGNER EXTRODINAIRE…. Thanks for making this world a more beautiful place, THANK YOU….

    Reply

  40. 2amscrapper2
    Feb 22, 2014 @ 21:08:30

    love how you combined these elements into a delicate, feminine creation!

    Reply

  41. Marjie Kemper
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 17:40:24

    You’ve created a fabulous composition here, Lynne. Absolutely stunning! I love how my eye is pulled throughout the piece… it’s totally gorgeous.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

