But A Matter Of Moments

A message to friends whose blogs I visit:- I have been unable to access my blog via Google Chrome, it tells me that the web page doesn’t exist.  This also means I cannnot comment on your blog posts because it doesn’t recognise the URL.  I can access my blog via Internet Explorer but I am having complications when visiting blogs.  During one visit on Tuesday, after I successfully left a comment, multiple windows opened up and explorer had to be shut down.  Cannot source the problem at the moment but I am trying to sort it out.  Didn’t want you believing I was neglecting you.

Hello Everyone
Thank you for joining me.
In this post I am sharing my first ever attempt at art journalling. Yes, finally I have dipped my toes in the art journalling waters!
Last year I received from my lovely friend Penny (A Penny For Your Thoughts) an Art Journal she made for me, yes, she actually made the journal, hand-bound the watercolour pages and designed the front and back covers. You can see it HERE.
I will hold my hands up and declare that I felt immense pressure. You see I have always had a “thing” for notebooks and journals but let me admit that there are many in which I have not jotted one note because I don’t want to spoil it! Please tell me I am not the only one who does this!!! So as much as I wanted to try art journalling I was also apprehensive of spoiling Penny’s beautiful journal but I decided, 2014 would be the year when I must give it a go.
The journal page has already appeared at the Darkroom Door Blog HERE. with instructions and supply list.forbloggingI so enjoyed the process of creating this page and although I almost obliterated my journalling with Gesso and paints, I enjoyed allowing my words to flow freely onto the page without stopping to consider the next word, that alone was therapeutic and reminded me of when, many years ago, I carried out something similar via the books of Julia Cameron.
My writing peeks through between the layers of paint, additional texture paste and then here you see the stamped script.2scriptdetailFrom the outset all I knew was that I would be using the Etched Flowers stamp set and certain words hovered in my mind:- nature, organic and texture. Texture was important from the softness of mulberry paper to the more rugged texture of the paper you see peeking at the side (above) and also the fragments of bark.
A potential stumbling block was trying to bring a mixture of textures yet I was very aware not to add bulk to the page.  Usually I would give no thought and will merrily adhere anything to a canvas, card, etc not caring about the extra dimension created.3stampedlid I also wanted a slightly dreamy feel to the page.  When stamping this beautiful Etched Flower I stamped in a way (details at the Darkroom Door blog) where the image is ever so slightly blurred.4focalThe fragments of bark could not be more perfect for the natural elements I wanted to convey, also this small piece of mica brought another texture to the mix.5sentimentGesso, paints and a mix of textures.20 February 050A second page was completed not long after this page. I wouldn’t say I have been bitten by the art journalling bug but I certainly had fun and my goal is to fill the journal Penny gifted to my by the end of 2014!
Many thanks for your visits which are always appreciated.
Wishes
Lynne

50 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 3renee
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 03:42:31

    So far so good! Your journaling adventure has begun and it looks beautiful. I’m sure Penny will be so proud that you are using her book, it looks lovely.

    Reply

  2. may
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 06:19:14

    Gorgeous page Lynne, Love the soft colours & fantastic texture…the image is perfect… Penny will be delighted that you are enjoying her amazing creation… Hugs May x x x

    Reply

  3. valerie-Jael
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 07:38:47

    Beautiful journal page, lovely colours, hope you will do more! Valerie

    Reply

  4. rachel fisher
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 07:42:26

    wow Lynne – your first journal page is awesome – so feminine and beautiful – I love the pink and the textures are amazing – its so very you xx

    Reply

  5. Meggymay
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 08:38:53

    Fantasticbeginning. It oozes your romantic style, look forward to seeing more.
    Yvonne x

    Reply

  6. Joanna
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 08:46:09

    Beautiful journaling. Love the soft colors and texture. Great stamping and fabric arrangement. Love all details. Joanna

    Reply

  7. Astrid
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 08:53:46

    Stunning Lynne, how wonderful you have taken the plunge! I just love all the soft layers and textures, this page is a real beauty and I greatly look forward to seeing more! I love the hints of journaling peeping through the layers!

    Reply

  8. rainbowfingeredcrafter
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 09:57:23

    It looks lovely! Well done! I am exactly the same in that I have lots of beautiful notebooks I don’t want to ruin. But I have started journaling in an old A-Level sketchbook I was going to throw out, and an altered book that’s not worth anything. I like that they don’t take up much space and they are easy to transport. The difficulty I have found is that the stamps don’t always come out as well over paint and the items you have stuck on previously means the next page isn’t entirely flat.

    Reply

  9. Marilyn J. Rock
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 10:02:51

    Welcome to the world of art journaling Lynne! Your art is suitable for any medium – gorgeous textures, here, and design! xo

    Reply

  10. craftytrog
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 10:45:00

    Wonderful to see you dipping your toes into art journaling Lynne! Your page is beautiful, lots of gorgeous textures!
    Alison xxx

    Reply

  11. Samantha Read
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 10:46:44

    Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. You take my breath away with your gorgeous creations Lynne, long may you art journal.
    Wishing you a wonderful day, hugs from Poppy and me xx

    Reply

  12. Deborah (rustycage11)
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 11:36:51

    Now you’ve made the first scary step, you’ll have filled it in no time!

    Reply

  13. Julie Lavalette
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 12:58:41

    Wonderfully feminine design.
    Julie x

    Reply

  14. Sugar Lump Studios
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 13:08:49

    Goodness Lynne this is so serene, soft and beautiful! You always have such lovely projects! I love it…and I LOVE you! Thanks for sharing your art with us! xoxo

    Reply

  15. Shirley
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 13:34:18

    Gorgeous page in soft colours and beautiful textures. Love it ! Have a great day, Shirleyx

    Reply

  16. Wendy
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 14:05:49

    I’m impressed dear Lynne, what a stunning page! And this to be your first one, wow… You succesfully transferred your collage techniques to this page without making it bulky. The colours and textures are so beautiful, and the bark combined with the pink, great idea! I absolutely love everything about this page. On to the next! Can’t wait to see what you will come up with for the remaining pages of that beautfiul book. Big hugs from sunny Netherlands

    Reply

  17. Anne R
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 15:13:21

    I went over to DD to see how you put this together, it is fantastic! Thanks too, for tip on how you stamped that beautiful image. Well done for taking that first step too. Anne xx

    Reply

  18. Dorthe
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 16:56:10

    Oh Lynne, it is a beautiful, soft and dreamy page, to see, and I would love to feel it too. Your first page in Penny`s journal is amazing, in both colours, and the feeling of having entered a lovely adventure ,-which hit me at once I saw it. So much fantastic texture and elements of nature ,which I so love.
    —I`m sorry for your problems using Google Chrome ..and Internet Explorer, and hope you can soon get it solved , it is so unpleasent to have such problems.
    Hugs from Dorthe-x

    Reply

  19. barnie
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 17:09:27

    Wow Lynne that’s a wonderful first dip into art journalling. Cannot wait to see more 🙂
    Will keep my fingers crossed, that you can sort out the problem with google chrome.

    Reply

  20. Corrie Herriman
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 17:37:18

    It is beautiful, Lynne. I knew you didn’t have anything to worry about. I get this feeling about spoiling a journal the first time I make something in it but after that, it is gone…. Hope you will continue to make wonderful pages like this !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  21. Brenda Brown
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 18:18:47

    Love the way you have approached this in your own inimitable style which has worked so well Lynne. I love the colours and textures and the journalling peeking through. Good luck with the computer issues, hope you get them sorted soon xx

    Reply

  22. Suze
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 18:51:24

    Lynne, what a truly beautiful page, you are going to end up with a stunning journal by the end of the year! Xx

    Reply

  23. Ira
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 19:38:18

    Oh those fine textures! Your journal looks absolutely stunning Lynne! Wonderful layers and colours! Ira x
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  24. debbiejeanr
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 22:35:27

    Beautiful Lynne! Love your textures and soft colours! Fabulous! Once you “art journal” there’s no looking back! Very addictive!

    Wishes From A Broad
    Debbie xo

    Reply

  25. hettiecraft
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 22:45:05

    Gosh Lynne this is beautiful. And your first page too. Beautiful. Looking forward to seeing more of this journal.
    Hugs
    xx

    Reply

  26. Julie Lee
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 23:47:03

    Well, you may not have been bitten by the bug yet, but this is a terrific start. I love the colours and the textures. You’ve created a world you feel you could just step into with this lovely, dreamy page! I’ve also been having trouble with Google Chrome. I wondered if anyone else was. I can’t comment on certain blogs where the comments are in a pop-up format. I have gone over to Firefox in order to do this. I’ve always used Facebook to comment on your blogs, Lynne; as WordPress has never recognized me! Technology makes so many wonderful things possible, but it can be frustrating at times! Hope you soon get this sorted out. Much Love Julie Ann xxx

    Reply

  27. Gigi Harlan
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 23:58:04

    WOW! I really love all of the mixed media and texturing on this…gorgeous! I hope your computer problems resolve soon.

    Gigi @ Old World Patina

    Reply

  28. Julia - Vintage with Laces
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 05:29:07

    With all the different materials and techniques, you’ve created such great texture on this page, dear Lynne. This is a wonderful start into your journal adventure.
    When I heard about blog problems lately, they always could be solved by using Firefox. Maybe it’s worth a try. Good luck!
    Hugs,
    Julia

    Reply

  29. tonitat
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 07:50:42

    Wonderful page, so much gorgeous texture and subtle colour, x

    Reply

  30. coco
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 12:47:00

    Really gorgeous and subtle page Lynne, I’m sure you will not stop doing AJ now!!! Hugs Coco xx

    Reply

  31. Paper Profusion
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 18:12:33

    Pretty, soft, dreamy, feminine, romantic, creamy confectionary … all spring to mind. It’s absolutely beautiful Lynne!!

    So sorry you are having pc probs again – what a bloomin trial! Hope all resolves without needing even more effort from you. Nicola x

    Reply

  32. nefertiti
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 18:38:30

    I love the texture of this gorgeous page! the background is great and the colours too delicate!!!!!! bizz

    Reply

  33. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 18:39:53

    It is no surprise that your art journaling would turn out so beautifully dear Lynne!
    I am excited for you stretching your wings and having a go at those blank pages.
    I clicked on the link for the journal your friend gifted you with but could not see any photos…seems you posted that when I was traveling in the UK last June and I missed out…
    Before you know it you’ll be published in Somerset’s ART JOURNALING magazine!
    oxo
    p.s. thought of you when I watched the Season Two Preview of Selfridge’s … I can hardly wait ♥

    Reply

  34. Christi Conley
    Mar 13, 2014 @ 19:29:08

    You certainly captured the dreamy quality you were aiming for! I LOVE Darkroom Door stamps – waiting on my tax return & then I am going to splurge & get some ~ Blessings!!

    Reply

  35. Terry
    Mar 14, 2014 @ 14:21:58

    That is terrible, Lynne! My computer via IE does not recognize me as the administrator and keeps me as a guest! I have to use Chrome many times just to sign in a pay bills at my bank???? I hope you get this sorter soon! Your journal page is gorgeous and I love all that fabulous texture! Enjoy the weekend! Hugs!

    Reply

  36. Gery
    Mar 14, 2014 @ 18:59:21

    Wow, what a page this is!!!!!! Realy gorgeous! And yes, I recognize all of it not wanting to spoil the beautiful blank inside of a notebook and I’m also having trouble to put my scissors into beautiful papers?? Maybe you know that feeling too??
    But look here, you only made it more beautiful, maybe now it’s not so difficult anymore to fill your book with all kinds off stunning ideas you have. Wishing you good luck to that and I will be enjoying every piece. As they say, that you just have to let go and create. Dreamy this page surely is!
    Groetjes Gery

    Reply

  37. Avril
    Mar 14, 2014 @ 21:34:49

    A fabulous page Lynne, and so very much your own style. Love the romantic look and soft colours
    Avril xx

    Reply

  38. Sharon
    Mar 14, 2014 @ 23:56:35

    love all the texture – looks very effective. Beautiful!

    Reply

  39. The Scrap Yard
    Mar 15, 2014 @ 00:12:49

    This is a stunning mixed media piece! I love your texture mixed in with your classic colors. Lovely!

    Reply

  40. damejeannemarie
    Mar 15, 2014 @ 03:03:30

    Well, I’m not understanding why you feel intimidated by the blank journal…your artwork is gorgeous!!

    Reply

  41. butterfly
    Mar 15, 2014 @ 18:23:41

    Absolutely beautiful, Lynne, and absolutely you – which is pretty much the point of art journalling as far as I can see! Gorgeous layers of colour and texture, and so feminine, vintage and delicate – just lovely. No need to be bitten by bugs – just keep playing!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  42. 2amscrapper2
    Mar 16, 2014 @ 16:31:14

    Stunning, just the way I’d picture a journal page from you. Beautiful, delicate hues of vintage beige and rose. Sorry you’re having blog issues–so annoying when we just want to be happy.

    Reply

  43. 1cardcreator
    Mar 16, 2014 @ 16:45:03

    This is stunning Lynne! ~Diane

    Reply

  44. Shelly Schmidt
    Mar 16, 2014 @ 18:05:58

    For your very first page- it is fabulous! A piece of art- loving the Pink with the brown for the flower, and all of the accents you added! Loving all of the texture as well. Hope you get your computer straightened out- if my hubby is not around to fi my computer problems, well….I do not have a clue!

    Reply

  45. michele s
    Mar 16, 2014 @ 23:05:28

    very sweet. lots of gorgeous texture. xo

    Reply

  46. Dianne
    Mar 16, 2014 @ 23:30:28

    Hello Miss Lynne, I’m soooo excited you doing it, and your page is just perfect, it’s just so soft and beautiful, love the texture, it’s so you, between You and Miss Laura B. she just started journal-ing too I have to get my book out and have a play, thanks for all this inspiration…

    Reply

  47. Shar B
    Mar 16, 2014 @ 23:40:32

    Lovely and soft, Lynne!

    Reply

  48. Cynnie
    Mar 18, 2014 @ 10:17:11

    What a beautiful and inspiring piece. Love the close up shots and all that lovely texture.

    Reply

  49. Marjie Kemper
    Mar 18, 2014 @ 12:55:29

    I’m so glad you gave it a try – this is a stunning page, with your own true style. Love the texture peeking through, too.

    Reply

  50. penny4thoughts
    Mar 24, 2014 @ 15:02:07

    So thrilled to see what you’re doing with the little book! I love the richly textured background – and that you are doing what you enjoy on your AJ page – soft colours and stamping too. Isn’t it fun to just play? :-). Hope you continue to have fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

