My Beautiful Rose

Hello
Today I have my March DT sample for Gecko Galz to share.
I wanted a mix of textures for this card yet for the overall effect to be pretty and to bring thoughts of walking through a garden at the height of Spring, the sun shines, the birds sing their songs and there is the scent of roses in the air.mybeautifulroselynne

SUPPLIES
Gecko Galz In My Easter Bonnet 1
Crafty Individuals Postcard stamp
Canvas printer paper
Corrugated cardboard
Martha Stewart Paint
Golden Gesso
Golden Gel Medium
Versafine Vintage Sepia
Distress Paint Tattered Rose
Paper doilies, 7”x5” cardbase, paperclay roses, metal frame, paper roses, fabric, lace and burlap

I like the effect from printing onto canvas printer paper.11 March 002A cluster of flowers and teeny pieces of lace and fabric.11 March 004

INSTRUCTIONS
In Pic Monkey isolate this In My Easter Bonnet image, remove border and re-size. Print onto canvas printer paper, abrade edges and apply Distress Paint.
Tear corrugated cardboard to size of cardbase. Distress. Paint with Gesso followed by Martha Stewart paint. Adhere to cardbase.
Layer the image onto the cardbase with paper doilies (lightly apply Distress Paint) and embellish with the paper roses, paperclay rose, burlap, lace, torn paper, etc.
Stamp postcard onto found paper. Tear and tuck behind the cluster of flowers.
At top edge staple torn fabric and embellish with a metal frame and paperclay rose.

I have no doubt that the eagle-eyed amongst you spotted something very obvious on the card so I will hold my hands up and declare that I had to photograph the card before the silicone glue had dried. You see it don’t you, the drooping paperclay rose on the metal frame at the top of the card! After photographing I straightened it and it has dried successfully.  That’s what happens when you leave DT samples until the Eleventh Hour LOL.

Thank you for taking the time to visit this post.
Wishes
Lynne

42 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Corrie Herriman
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 19:36:44

    Gorgeous ! I don’t often use Collage sheets but I really like your project so maybe I should give it a go as well !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  2. Sue F
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 20:10:43

    Such a beautiful picture. I really must try my canvas print paper. It’s been in the drawer for ages.

    Reply

  3. Anne R
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 20:14:53

    This is so beautiful Lynn, the image of the lady is stunning. I didn’t notice the rose, I was so mesmerized by everything else! Anne xx

    Reply

  4. Deborah (rustycage11)
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 20:27:36

    You’re in the mood for roses at the moment, aren’t you, Lynne. And nothing wrong with that! This card, droopy rose and all, is beautiful.

    Reply

  5. may
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 20:34:50

    So Beautiful…I adore the wonderful textures & stunning image, Gorgeous roses…Hugs May x x

    Reply

  6. Fliss
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 20:35:18

    Absolutely gorgeous Lynne and such a beautiful image.
    Fliss xx

    Reply

  7. tracy745
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 21:03:18

    Beautiful, love the painted corrugated card, lovely backdrop for pretty image and lovely cluster of flowers, Tracy x

    Reply

  8. barnie
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 21:04:14

    So fantastic, love how you’ve colored the corrugated cardboard.

    Reply

  9. Ella
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 21:25:08

    She is gorgeous! I love the shabby chic look of her and how you used the cardboard-she makes me smile-so do you!

    Reply

  10. Meggymay
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 21:28:14

    Gorgeous image, another stunning project.
    Yvonne x

    Reply

  11. Samantha Read
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 22:01:43

    Well you can’t get more gorgeous than this! Very cleverly done Lynne with all that technical wizzy stuff.
    Wishing you a lovely weekend, big hugs from Poppy and me xxx

    Reply

  12. Julie Lee
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 22:25:30

    Such a pretty, Springtime card, Lynne. I love your roses and I have to admit I didn’t notice the droopy one at all. I love the way you used the corrugated card so effectively. This is pretty and feminine, but full of texture. Julie Ann xxx

    Reply

  13. nefertiti
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 22:30:10

    I love how you used the cardboard Lynne! and lovely image!!! bizz

    Reply

  14. Rita
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 23:30:49

    Beautiful project Lynne. I do love those roses, dripping or not. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  15. Gery
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 23:46:35

    Lynne, you surely succeeded in reaching the effect you wanted to create.
    It is Spring and it’s romantic, soft, sunny, pretty and I can almost hear the birds sing and smell the roses :-))
    What a wonderful creation this is!!! Indeed gives printing on this canvas paper a beautiful soft result (never tried this).
    How I love this kind of work.
    Thanks for telling how you did all this.
    Groetjes Gery

    Reply

  16. The Scrap Yard
    Mar 22, 2014 @ 01:08:44

    So beautiful! The roses are an amazing edition. Reminds me of summer. Soft and feminine.

    Reply

  17. Brenda Brown
    Mar 22, 2014 @ 04:31:32

    Delightfully pretty and feminine Lynne, I just love the wonderful shabby colours. Xx

    Reply

  18. Ira
    Mar 22, 2014 @ 07:14:56

    Fabulous! Love the painted corrugated cardboard, sweet image and pretty flower arrangement Lynne! Ira x
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  19. Suze
    Mar 22, 2014 @ 07:46:36

    Absolutely gorgeous Lynne. Such a beautiful image and I am so loving the cluster of roses. Have a lovely weekend. Xx

    Reply

  20. Rosie
    Mar 22, 2014 @ 08:54:18

    Oooh, wow, a gorgeous projekt, so romantic and lovely.

    Have a wonderful weekend, Lynne

    Reply

  21. Dot Arnott
    Mar 22, 2014 @ 10:26:22

    Lovely colours Lynne, I can almost smell the roses.

    Dotxxx

    Reply

  22. Marilyn J. Rock
    Mar 22, 2014 @ 11:47:03

    Well; I now have a new favorite here! This is elegant, romantic, gorgeous, stunning and ever so beautiful. Can you tell I like it? xo

    Reply

  23. Dorthe
    Mar 22, 2014 @ 14:04:59

    This is the most beautiful ,romantic” flower-garden” creation ,dear Lynne.
    My heart just sings seing it, The print on canvas paper, is so lovely, and all the roses in the corner makes me almost smell summer -I love your white background .
    Hugs from Dorthe
    Lynne did you recieve my mail from 18/3 .
    xx

    Reply

  24. Shirley
    Mar 22, 2014 @ 14:21:20

    Gorgeous design again, I love the texture and roses 🙂 Happy Weekend, Shirleyx

    Reply

  25. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Mar 22, 2014 @ 14:57:34

    So very lovely dear Lynne…I could not detect anything drooping even after you had me searching :)…you have a keen eye me thinks ♥
    Happy Weekend to you
    oxo

    Reply

  26. Dianne
    Mar 22, 2014 @ 15:10:45

    Hello Miss Lynne I hardly know what to say, a card, nope a gorgeous piece of art work, your a Master with that cardboard, tha image you created is just gorgeous, love the bits of material, your roses are fabulous, they go perfectly with your projects, the essence of this card is singing spring, thanks for all this inspiration, I’m off to my desk all ready, have a wonderful weekend, ((( BIG HUGS)))…

    Reply

  27. Gigi Harlan
    Mar 22, 2014 @ 16:14:01

    You nailed it! Just like a spring walk through a garden. Love the textures!

    Gigi @ Old World Patina

    Reply

  28. nicecrane
    Mar 22, 2014 @ 18:16:07

    Absolutely amazing,,,, love your canvas image,,,,,, OMG

    Reply

  29. Sharon
    Mar 23, 2014 @ 02:05:54

    Beautiful Lynne!

    Reply

  30. Hazel H
    Mar 23, 2014 @ 09:13:57

    This is such a beautiful feminine piece, I love it.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  31. craftytrog
    Mar 23, 2014 @ 12:33:26

    This is absolutely beautiful Lynne! xxx

    Reply

  32. Martina
    Mar 23, 2014 @ 13:30:07

    Again a extraordinary and wonderful creation, dear Lynne! Super idea and beautifully designed.

    Reply

  33. coco
    Mar 24, 2014 @ 09:21:37

    Lovely card Lynne, this is so pretty!!! Hugs, Coco x

    Reply

  34. 1cardcreator
    Mar 24, 2014 @ 17:10:12

    Stunning card, all the pretty things you added to it too, the canvas for printing, the scraps of rosebud fabric, the gorgeous handmade flowers, all to make such a stunning piece! ~Diane

    Reply

  35. rachel fisher
    Mar 24, 2014 @ 19:04:32

    Hi Lynne – this looks wonderful – love that image and the roses really are fabulous xx

    Reply

  36. Moira Gray
    Mar 24, 2014 @ 19:33:50

    Beautiful work, I love how you have put it together.

    Reply

  37. Sugar Lump Studios
    Mar 24, 2014 @ 20:17:06

    Love love love! So pretty and delicate and just awesome! Like U! 🙂

    Reply

  38. gio
    Mar 24, 2014 @ 20:40:41

    no eagle eye here, just me admiring this delicate and so spring-ish card! I can feel the velvet of the roses..love it, Lynne!

    Reply

  39. butterfly
    Mar 24, 2014 @ 21:42:46

    That’s so lovely… delicate shabby chic and wonderful corrugated card! Have showers of roses on my craft table at the moment for a change – but they can’t be revealed until April 1st!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  40. Marjie Kemper
    Mar 29, 2014 @ 14:47:41

    What a beautiful piece, Lynne. I am eyeing all the different textures – love the rough edge on the canvas atop all the soft doily and coated corrugate. Beautiful!

    Reply

  41. Buttons
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 07:39:15

    This is superb Lynne. Getting that contrast of textures has worked perfectly. Jenny x

    Reply

  42. CarolS
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 20:12:22

    Love, love, love this! Absolutely gorgeous! Very Shabbilicious!
    Hugs!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

