I Am Merely In Disguise

Hello Everyone
Apologies for being absent from my Blog and also for being absent from visiting your own Blogs, I do plan on catching-up with you very soon.
For now I want to share a Darkroom Door DT project.  It sees me having opened my art journal to play once more.
This page centres around a quote which was the springboard for my page.
Everyone else my age is an adult, whereas I am merely in disguise.
myblogTexture always appeals to me.  I like to be able to run my fingers over a project and to feel rough against smooth and as you know, I like layers, the notion of something peeking from beneath.
I did journal on this page but as with my first page, shared a few weeks ago, the words are all but obscured with paint.
I will let you decide if I achieved this  but I was aiming for the appearance of disintegrating plaster and old wallpaper that is peeling away from a wall, that appearance and texture has always appealed to me, long before I started to stamp.3 March 004I cannot explain why but butterflies were in my thoughts when I started working on this page.  Seen in this photograph in the form of a new stencil – oh I so love this stencil.  That is huge coming from me as I wouldn’t say I am the biggest fan of stencils – tell me, will all that change, the more I art journal!3 March 018I’ve shared before how I like a mix of textures and will happily marry rustic with delicate.  On this page I wanted to balance the texture on the actual page with something more delicate to convey the butterflies and also the quote which I find to be delicate, fragile, a baring of the soul.  Vintage dressmaking tissue was the perfect colour to compliment the page.  The butterflies are also stamped onto a piece.3 March 013The fragment of fabric was evocative of a floral dress which I could imagine this woman wearing.3 March 015I hope you are all having a good week, a creative week.
Soon I will be sharing some samples using the fabulous new Texture Stamps from Darkroom Door.  I was lucky enough to receive the Floral and French Script to play with.  Darkroom Door have also announced new stamps covering stamp sets, frames and collage stamp – plenty of new products.
Thank you, as always for your visits and comments which mean so much to me.
Wishes
Lynne

32 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie Lee
    Mar 27, 2014 @ 22:03:04

    I absolutely love this, Lynne. I love the tissue and the floral material. The whole idea of this page: the rustic with the delicate and the quote, which is so beautiful and goes so well, make this a truly inspirational journal page! Julie Ann xxx

    Reply

  2. Terry
    Mar 27, 2014 @ 22:05:56

    And a beautiful disguise it is, Lynne! A really stunner and I love the butterfly texture! What a great touch the piece of dress fabric is. Adds to the mystery! Hugs and hope the bugs have all left your computer!

    Reply

  3. lucy Edmondson
    Mar 27, 2014 @ 22:08:22

    This is absolutely beautiful, Lynne, I love the texture you have achieved,

    Lucy x

    Reply

  4. Fliss
    Mar 27, 2014 @ 22:10:02

    This is really beautifully textured Lynne and does indeed look like shabby wallpaper. Gorgeous!
    Hugs, Fliss xx

    Reply

  5. rachel fisher
    Mar 27, 2014 @ 22:16:06

    this is fabulous Lynne – great layering and I adore that quote from Margaret Atwood xx

    Reply

  6. Anne R
    Mar 27, 2014 @ 22:20:08

    I would say that you are well on your way to a new love in your life – stencils! You really have achieved a worn plaster/wallpaper wall look in the background and I love the stamped butterflies. A really gorgeous piece. Anne xx

    Reply

  7. butterfly
    Mar 27, 2014 @ 22:26:01

    Really wonderful, Lynne – I love the look of the peeling plaster walls, and the Specimen stencil is an absolute joy, I agree, and beautifully used here. A great quote (one of my favourite writers, Atwood), and altogether a really evocative page.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  8. astrid51
    Mar 27, 2014 @ 22:32:45

    Stunning page with great textures Lynne, and yes, I definitely think you have achieved the effect you were after! The stencil is fast becoming one of my favourites too, and yes, love that quote as others have said!

    Reply

  9. paper profusion
    Mar 27, 2014 @ 22:36:18

    Oops, not sure if last comment lost. You’ve certainly achieved the disintegrated look you were after Lynne, in the most beautiful way. Gorgeous and thought provoking. I can identify with that super quote. Nicola x

    Reply

  10. tracy745
    Mar 27, 2014 @ 22:53:02

    Lovely layered piece with great texture and a lovely backdrop. That sentiment is fabulous combined with the vintage image, Tracy x

    Reply

  11. valerie-Jael
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 07:09:25

    Really beautiful work, Lynne. Valerie

    Reply

  12. craftytrog
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 08:37:55

    Such fabulous texture Lynne! You have really captured that aged plaster look beautifully in this gorgeous spread.
    I’d love to know what make that stencil is.
    Alison xxx

    Reply

  13. Samantha Read
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 13:41:51

    Loving the texture and colour together Lynne, stunning page!
    Wishing you a lovely weekend,
    Big hugs from Poppy and me xxx

    Reply

  14. Meggymay
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 15:23:09

    Beautiful textures, its a super page and I love the quote.
    Yvonne

    Reply

  15. Ira
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 16:11:12

    That quote is spot on Lynne! Could be my own words 😉 For age is nothing but a number and it’s so nice to act like children (not once in a while, but most of the time, lol!) Your textured background looks amazing, so pretty! Well done! Ira x
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  16. Dorthe
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 16:13:18

    This is amazing ,I so love it dear Lynne,- that butterfly stencil is beautiful, and you captured a look as if it was many,many years ago this backgriound was made,-fantastic…Also you truly acchieved the feeling of old wallpaper peeled away from the background, and such a lovely idea to add the fabric, of a dress she might have worn !! This is simply stunning- the qoute so apealing to all us with a childish playing mind.
    Warm hugs from me.
    Dorthe

    Reply

  17. barnie
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 17:20:33

    A fabulous page with great texture.

    Reply

  18. Corrie Herriman
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 18:19:52

    You did achieve the old wallpaper, disintegrating plaster look I think. It looks so yummy I want to touch it ! The little bit of ‘dress’ fabric is a wonderful detail. Love it !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  19. coco
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 20:09:04

    Fabulous page Lynne, love the details on the last picture, they are gorgeous. Have a lovely we very creative if possible! Hugs, Coco x .

    Reply

  20. Marilyn J. Rock
    Mar 28, 2014 @ 23:03:12

    Terrific quote and your art is beautiful! I adore all of your details! xo

    Reply

  21. Sharon
    Mar 29, 2014 @ 06:29:58

    Gorgeous – love the texture on the background and the butterflies are just perfect.

    Reply

  22. Valerie Nolan
    Mar 29, 2014 @ 10:25:44

    Fabulous collage page Lynne, I love the peeling paint effect and that scrap of material is beautiful. Looking forward to your next projects I love Darkroom Door:)
    Val x

    Reply

  23. 2amscrapper2
    Mar 29, 2014 @ 16:26:35

    This is stunning, Lynne. I am in love with that quote.

    Reply

  24. 1cardcreator
    Mar 29, 2014 @ 19:59:29

    Awesome page Lynne, I love the quote and I love the way you used the texture on the page too, the layers all seem like they have been married together for ages and ages. ~Diane

    Reply

  25. jo
    Mar 30, 2014 @ 17:57:36

    lov the quote, amazed by the texture and layering

    Reply

  26. michele s
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 01:30:13

    yes, you definitely achieved the peeling plaster/old wall feel with your technique. it is most impressive, a beautiful and meaningful page. xo

    Reply

  27. Dianne
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 20:23:43

    Hello Miss Lynne SQUAWK, this page is superb, love all that texture, I too love the look of peeling paint, and like to touch it, the stencil looks fabulous on the page and the stamping on vintage dressmaking paper is fantastic, with all you bits and bobs, ah SUPERB, thanks for sharing and always inspiring..

    Reply

  28. The Scrap Yard
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 00:25:09

    I so love your texture and the butterflies in your background. So pretty!
    Kate

    Reply

  29. Marjie Kemper
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 02:03:18

    Beautiful, Lynne! And lovely to see the way you built up the base. Glad to see you in your journal again, too!

    Reply

  30. Buttons
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 11:02:17

    As a fellow fan of texture this really appeals to me Lynne. I love the softness of the colours and the slightly dishevelled yet well designed feel. Jenny x

    Reply

  31. trisha too
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 23:34:56

    Oh that photograph is absolutely perfect for the sentiment–what a great expression on her face–and what a lovely piece!

    🙂

    Reply

  32. Moira Gray
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 15:52:04

    I just love everything that is going on. Love the texture and the feel to it.

    Moira xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

