A Stitch In Time (Published – Sew Somerset)

Hello Everyone
This scheduled post is certainly winding the clock back.  It was in the Autumn of last year when Sew Somerset contacted me asking if I would write an article around the tote I had submitted.   You can imagine how thrilled I was!
I cannot thank Sew Somerset enough for the pretty manner they photographed the tote.  I am never sure of the copyright issues surrounding sharing photographs and text from publications so the photograph I am sharing is one I took prior to submitting (regulars to my Blog know that I never request that submissions be returned to me).
For me, it is always the cherry on the cake when published work features a stamp company I design for, in this instance all the stamps in the article featured in the Winter 2014 issue are Oxford Impressions stamps:-
Dressforms & Corsetry
Sewing Notions.
DIGITAL CAMERAThe notion behind the intention for this tote was explained in my actual article.
Many thanks for your visits. I always appreciate the time you take to visit but all the more so when I am unable to visit your own Blog posts.
Wishes
Lynne

31 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rita
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 22:58:57

    Stunning tote Lynne. I love how you have used the Muslin. Funnily enough I’m stitch a larger tote at the moment. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  2. Marilyn J. Rock
    Mar 31, 2014 @ 23:14:00

    Beautiful Lynne and congratulations on the publication! xo

    Reply

  3. The Scrap Yard
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 00:29:30

    I love the texture that the fabric adds. Such a cute and chic bag.
    kate

    Reply

  4. Marjie Kemper
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 02:07:24

    Congratulations, Lynne! I’ll have to look for that publication. I love the stamped text behind the pocket, and the fun pull-tag you incorporated into the bag design.

    Reply

  5. Suzy
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 03:15:14

    Hello Dear Lynne
    Oh such a pretty tote embellished with a dressform and a variety of pins (how could we ever create without them!).
    How exciting to be published and now to explain your steps.
    Congratulations are certainly due to you Lynne for your continuous hard work!
    Sending warm hugs,
    Suzy

    Reply

  6. 3renee
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 03:56:42

    Congrats on being published! Love the tote, the stamped pins look almost real. I like the look of the hand stitching across the top. Well done!

    Reply

  7. may
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 05:28:27

    Congratulations on being published Lynne, I adore your tote bag, the design & image is Beautiful…Love it… Hugs May x x

    Reply

  8. valerie-Jael
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 06:17:27

    Fantastic piece, congrats on being published! Hugs, Valerie

    Reply

  9. astrid51
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 07:55:27

    Great bag Lynne, no wonder it got published!

    Reply

  10. Meggymay
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 08:41:58

    Its an awesome tote bad, and congratulations on being published.
    Yvonne

    Reply

  11. craftytrog
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 10:20:47

    How wonderful your tote is Lynne! Congratulations!
    Alison xxx
    p.s. thanks for my prize, it arrived yesterday! I love the little tag too! I think you’re right…it’s my first win on your blog.

    Reply

  12. Anne R
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 10:28:19

    So thrilled for you that you have been published again in such a wonderful magazine. Well done, your tote is beautiful……. Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  13. Samantha Read
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 12:00:13

    Bravo and Congratulations Lynne 🙂
    Hugs from Poppy and me xx

    Reply

  14. Paper Profusion
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 16:03:01

    Congratulations again Lynne – not surprised at all for this beauty to be published. I hope everything is improving with you. Nicola x

    Reply

  15. Ella
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 16:31:08

    Congrats Lynne! You deserve the lime light and the cherry on top~ ATB

    Reply

  16. Ira
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 17:59:47

    That is indeed such a fine tote bag Lynne! Congrats to you and your creativity! Love the delicate character of what you’ve made. Hope this finds you slightly better, thinking of you…
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  17. Sue
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 18:29:52

    A lovely vintage take on a classic tote bag.

    Reply

  18. gerriejohnnic
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 22:48:26

    So much to catch up on…I visited so much on your blog just now…just love your art! Congrats on all your publishings….I really love the feeling of the “home” hanging, that really touched my heart.

    Reply

  19. trisha too
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 23:36:44

    Congratulations to you, dear Lynne! A very sweet tote, it’s so pretty–what a great gift this would be for a sewing friend!

    🙂

    Reply

  20. Buttons
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 05:39:09

    I’m not surprised Sew Somerset were keen to hear more from you in this way Lynne. Congratulations on your spotlight. Jenny x

    Reply

  21. Dorthe
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 15:31:01

    Big congratulations dear Lynne, -but Stampington and co. are also very lucky to have you !!….not only can they feature your beautiful creations in their magazines, but they can also keep your wonderful art -what a great deal for them, too.
    The tote is so wonderful, , is that a tag in the pocket? so sweet.
    I hope you are ok my friend.
    Hugs and smiles
    Dorthe,x

    Reply

  22. Gery
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 15:34:15

    Whenever you made it, doesn’t matter. Only what you made and how you made it is important and you made a gorgeous tote here. It’s a beautiful piece of work!
    I can imagine that you’re proud of being published in a worldwide magazine, there’s nothing wrong with that!!!!
    I was published here in Holland in a magazine (ArtSpecially) with a small card and I was sooo proud, even when no one else would have noticed it :-))
    Groetjes Gery

    Reply

  23. 1cardcreator
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 16:21:14

    Beautiful tote, congratulations on the publication too! ~Diane

    Reply

  24. Julie Lavalette
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 19:07:17

    A big congratulations to you Lynn. Such beautiful work as always from you.
    Julie x

    Reply

  25. CarolS
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 20:06:38

    This is beautiful! Congrat’s on being published!
    Hugs!

    Reply

  26. Dianne
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 23:45:26

    Hello Miss Designer Extraordinaire, righting article now you go Woman, congratulations, I sure wish I could get that darn magazine, that tote is gorgeous, one can never have enough totes :O) thanks for sharing..

    Reply

  27. michele s
    Apr 03, 2014 @ 03:32:55

    i just totally adore this tote — the simplicity and grace of it, love love. xo

    Reply

  28. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Apr 04, 2014 @ 19:29:12

    Your bag is really lovely Lynne…I bet it looked super in the magazine too ♥
    oxo

    Reply

  29. Sharon
    Apr 06, 2014 @ 04:26:56

    Oh I love this – anything to do with sewing I love!! Congrats on being published with it Lynne – certainly always well deserved!

    Reply

  30. Martina
    Apr 06, 2014 @ 06:39:23

    Congratulations on being published my dear Lynne, I love your stunning bag. So beautifully created!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

